We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and a must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barracuda Restaurant - CLOSED

Barracuda Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: **This restaurant have moved locations. It is now known as BARRACUDA @ The Wharf.**
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent and a must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Group of four dined last night at Barrcuuda and were greeted and served by the owner who takes a personal interest in every diner. Pumpkin soup with loster, lobster and salmon tortellini and seared tuna salad to start. Wow. Mains were two types of beautifully fresh sea bass dishes which exceeded anything served up to date in various "top" Koh Samui restaurants. Duck dish was superb so we were informed. No offer to taste says everything. Finished off with chocolate lava to end a superb evening. Best by far and reasonably priced too! Going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZFoodie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    68
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing food made even better with great staff and great owner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

+s
- great food and good size servings
- lovely looking inside
- Great staff

-s
- nothing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank alongcommute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I was very impressed and had high expectations after reading the TA reviews.

We were lucky to arrive early on a sunday night with our overactive toddler so couldn't stay long. As we were the first people we had the undivided attention of the staff so everything was extremely efficient and the staff were very friendly.

Really enjoyed the tuna wasabi and duck dishes we ordered, beautiful fine dining food made to perfection, We like the decor. Wine was reasonably priced for the quality of food it was well priced but still the most expensive meal we had in Koh Samui also the most enjoyed. We shared a starter, had 2 mains and a wine and a beer and came to $30 AUD each

The service and staff were wonderful, left feeling like we were leaving old friends and encouraged Ferdinand to open a restaurant in Sydney so we could go more often :D

Thanks again for a wonderful meal/experience Ferdinand. We were very impressed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank its_the_milky_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yumma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Had dinner here on Wednesday and it was delicious!!! We both enjoyed 3 courses and drinks for £40!!! Def worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Being a regular to Samui I have watched this restaurant grow from a building site into the "must eat at" restaurant it now is.

Ferdie (the boss) is awesome, staff excellent, decor subtly gorgeous and food, well, what to say;

Well priced, well portioned and most importantly - Stunning

Do it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing