We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W Wowed Us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Retreat Koh Samui
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“W Wowed Us!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

One of the best exclusive resorts in Thailand in my opinion. A truly "wow" experience beyond the ordinary: fantastic view of the sea upon entering the lobby; upbeat, contemporary interior design; state-of-the art fitness center; delicious local and international food served at their restaurants especially Namu: the Japanese teppanyaki restaurant which I highly recommend; 270-degree views of the Gulf of Thailand from our "Ocean View Escape" suite atop the hill with our very own private swimming pool and jacuzzi! Also try their Whatever/Whenever Service that provides their guests with anything (and I mean anything) you want provided what you are asking for is legal! For those who want to splurge and be pampered, W is the place...it is expensive but you'll get more than your money's worth!

Room Tip: Book the "Ocean View Escape" on top of the hill where you'll get the best views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean_TBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Hello Jean_TBangkok,

Wonderful to know when we manage to WOW someone like we managed to do on this occasion. I agree that the Ocean View Escapes on the upper levels of our hillside have amazing views, although I am not sure we have them with a jacuzzi? We do however have spacious bathrooms featuring standalone baths with the same incredible views...oh, and a private TV in case you prefer to watch a favourite movie while soaking after a hard day exploring the island.
I am also delighted to see our signature Whatever/Whenever service delivered as promised. We certainly endeavour to do our best to make any request come true!
Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to WOW you again in the future.

Warm wishes
Nick Downing
General Manager
nicholas.downing@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    185
    68
    36
    31
See reviews for
146
549
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in June 2011 to celebrate my husband's birthday. I am a big fan of W and this W retreat = Grand and Trend. We stayed at the jungle suite with a private pool and a big balacony, you can access to the pool from the bathroom. It takes about 20 minutes drive to down town and the hotel offer complimentary transfer to the down town regularly and reserve in advance. Since all rooms were private pool villas, we were the only couple using their infinity pool, it was amazing and the view was stunning. Their services were really good. Although their room rate was expensive, should try once in a life time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Hello Eva K,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with everyone.
I am delighted to hear that you still have such wonderful memories of your husbands birthday while staying with us.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back...it's June again....maybe come this year for another celebration??!!
We would love to welcome you both back again.

Warmest wishes
Nick Downing
General Manager
nicholas.downing@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were a group of 7 (friends) and spent 3 nights here May 2012.
To be honest, when we checked in, we were quite disappointed. There were no staff at the reception because they were busy checking in the other guests. Finally, after 10 minutes, the staff turned up and checked us in quickly. That was the only hiccup for the next 3 days :)
The hotel is located in the quiet location, on the beach, 15 minute drive to Chaweng beach. The hotel has its own private beach with a killer beach bar (A dj is always there!).
We stayed in the Ocean Front Haven. One word to define the red and black rooms. Sexy. Large room with an equally large bathroom. We had our own private pool which was the best thing bout the room. All ameneties including WIFI available.
The private beach was fun but they dont have any water sports except for Kayaks. We asked for Jet Skis and they took 1 1/2 hours to deliver. Water sports were a disappointment.
Breakfast was fantastic. Spa was pretty good. Staff were extremely friendly and service was good even at 4 am when we were partying in our rooms ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Hello maccc,

Thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your fantastic stay with us!

First of all, apologies for the hiccup on arrival. I have to admit that once in a blue moon, our personalised arrival process catches us when we have everyone arrive at the same time. However I am delighted to know that we were able to more than make up for it shortly thereafter.
It sounds like you loved our private pool villas. And of course our In Retreat Dining is available 24/7 to cater to our Insiders... whenever/wherever!
I think I have mentioned here recently that we are looking at upgrading our water sports options in coming months. Until then, we certainly do our best to cater to requests by using some external resources we have access to. However in the meantime, I am happy to hear that you found our Resident DJ, Tuck spinning his tunes down at SIP beach bar during the day!.
I do hope this wont be the last time we welcome you to our fantastic island and rest assured I would love to assist personally in the future should you have such plans.

Warm wishes and thanks again!
Nick Downing
General Manager
nicholas.downing@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Big fan of W hotels, W retreat was stunning.
Restaurant was fab, great selection of food. The service was great.
Definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubs888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Hello bubs888,

Thanks for your brief comments about your stay with us. It certainly seems we are on a "WOW" roll this week!
Always great to welcome fans ("insiders") of W Hotels. And wonderful to know you found us equally stunning as our other Hotels and Retreats.
Rest assured, we will be waiting to welcome you back to WOW you again.

Warm WOW Wishes for now,
Nick Downing
General Manager
nicholas.downing@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Lovely poolvilla, great beach, the sweetest staff and great design in every detail.
My new home away from home.
Nothing left to ask.
Miss this place everyday!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandstadJefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRetreat, General Manager at W Retreat Koh Samui, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Hello RandstadJefe,

Thanks for sharing your brief kind comments about your recent stay with us.
No need to miss us....come back anytime! Hopefully soon!
Rest assured we will be waiting to hear from you.
Thank you again.

Warmest wishes
Nick Downing
General Manager
nicholas.downing@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
11.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
12.4 km away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,353 reviews
6.1 km away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#15 of 187 in Bophut
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
8.3 km away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
1.3 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat Koh Samui

Property: W Retreat Koh Samui
Address: 4/1 Moo 1 Tambol Maenam | Surat Thani, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price range (per night): ₹ 39,166 - ₹ 68,138
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Koh Samui Thailand's most pristine beach whose golden sands give way to the Island's most idyllic sunsets, W Retreat Koh Samui is the quintessential escape, with 74 private retreats - each with its own dive pool. Explore new levels of refreshment at AWAY(R) spa, and enjoy insider access to worlds of culinary WOW at our 2 signature restaurants. Then wink your way across Samui's most scenic playground - WOOBAR(R) - where W lights up the night with peerless mixology, live DJs, and signature W Happenings celebrating our passion for fashion, music and design. Whether for a wedding or a wish, Whatever/Whenever(R) has arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Starwood APAC and Ctrip TA so you can book your W Retreat Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
W Retreat Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing