We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place, A Little Out Of The Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed here with my bf for 4 nights.
We had booked 3 via the internet but decided to go to Samui a day earlier as we managed to catch the last ferry from Thani. The staff were very helpful when we rocked up at 8pm and found us a lovely room for the night. The next day we changed to our pre-booked room, The room was clean and had a lovely bungalow feel. After coming from busy Bangkok it was bliss not having any neighbours right next door. We hired a bike from the hotel for 200 baht a day as we found that the area didnt have much to offer apart from the quiet ! We used this and travelled virtually round the island. The pool was lovely and clean and we were the only ones in there some days. Food was great, must try the chicken satay and prawns. We only moved as after 3 days of quiet was enough for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the bathroom inside unless you like showering with nature & lizards !!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights, and to be honest it was quite reasonably priced in comparison to other nearby hotels, bungalows and resorts. Don’t get me wrong, the staff were fantastic, very helpful and accommodating.

However, we had a couple of issues during our stay. The first being that "free Wi-Fi included" means that you may or may not get an internet connection in your room. More often than not there was no internet, which was quite disappointing. It was explained by staff that this is a "problem on the island"! Secondly, the breakfast was free, but limited (up to a value of x) which again was not stated on the listing! Thirdly, there were lizards everywhere, even beside the sink!! Luckily, this was our last night in the bungalow when one big lizard decided to sleep in our outside bathroom beside the sink! Fourthly, the pool was murky so we avoided that! Lastly, the location of this hotel could not have been worse - a word of advice, do not go into Maenam town!! Filthy, run down and underdeveloped! However, there is motorbike rental on site which is good value and makes it much easier to get around the island!

As I said, not exactly as it says on the tin, but I can’t complain about the staff - very friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciarán M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cschibli, Owner at Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for your stay with us.
I am sorry about the Internet Connection, but it is definitely a problem on Samui with certain providers. We are working on changing the provider but its not that easy like in other countries.

Lizards as you say (actually they are Geckos) are very normal in a tropical Country like Thailand. We are not able to "stop" them to go into your Outdoor Bathroom (because they wont recognize "stop signs") but of course we try our best.

What do you expect from what was a couple years ago a fishing village like Maenam? at the end its still a typical Thai Village, there is nothing like filthy or underdeveloped, It just cant be Dublin.

Our Pool is maintained by an external Company. The Water values are always kept at a neutral basis. Sometimes, especially in a very hot weather or with a lot of rain, it can be that the water temporarly gets a slightly green color (but still is clear). That is because we do not use a lot of chlorine (for your own health).

If you pay for your room (including Breakfast) a special room rate of about THB 800 we certainly can not include a breakfast which costs THB 300 per Person that should be clear as well. But we think with the breakfast option you have at our restaurant, there are more than enough to choose from, which is within the value of your breakfast vouchers. At certain other hotels of your price range you get a toast, jam, butter and a coffee thats it....

Once again thank you for your review and your compliments, which i will pass on the my staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Let's be honest, if you're going to pay £25 for a room where everything else is £40+ you have to expect some flaws. On the plus side - all rooms are single bungalows with oodles of space, fridge, rattan couch, TV, dresser & bathroom. The air-con was arctic and the mattress super comfy (big hurdle in a country where they seem to sleep on ironing boards covered in a towel). The pool was small but nice & the included breakfast diverse in choice and too much for me to get through (though the typical Thai take on the 'full english' - tiny sausages).
On the downside, but not enough to deter me from staying there again for such a cheap price, the service was pretty poor. We had a bit of a run in with the manager because half of the party were leaving at 6:30am & didn't get any breakfast due to none of the staff showing up as promised. It wasn't really the money aspect, it was more that one of our party is diabetic & got herself into a state because she didn't know when she would be eating next given they were off to catch a ferry to the mainland. The bathroom was sufficient & small toiletries provided but it was a little mouldy around the ceiling. The location wasn't great if you expect to walk everywhere but we love hiring scooters (the hotel hires them out too) so not a problem for us - 5mins ride to Fisherman's Village. The hotel has nothing to do with the bars in front of it, as it is set back from the road, but we didn't feel disturbed by any noise.
All in all, a very good budget option and very quiet & private little haven to go back to!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SillyBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

great place for the whole family. Really good atmosphere in amazing surroundings. bungalows were fine. great pool with a good atmosphere and nice bar. The restaurant did great food, especially at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimhorup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

disorganised, rude and Incompetent

Having booked a triple room through expedia, we arrived to an abrupt receptionist and given a room that didn't meet the criteria we'd paid extra for. The third person, which had been paid for in advance, didn't get the complimentary water, any bedding or breakfast. The reception staff were infuriatingly unhelpful when we pointed this out, they wanted us to pay an extra fee for an additional breakfast. The general manager was no where to be found, despite asking to speak with him several times. On previous trip advisor reviews we have noticed a response from the manager, not very helpful after you've checked out!

On top of this, we ordered some chicken spring rolls as a pool side snack which were raw. The kitchen staff and the pool side bar man were very friendly and replaced them but the incident seemed to add to our frustrating experience.

We were moved to the room we had paid for but still no bedding or breakfast for the third person was included.

When we did have breakfast, they finally relented (After numerous, lengthy complaints) they issued us with 3 breakfast vouchers worth 100 baht each, rather than 150 baht, which the initial 2 were allocated. It was NOT a breakfast 'buffet' as described. Our voucher entitled us to 2 bread buns each. 

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff had no understanding of customer service and made a situation much worse than it needed to be through their terrible, hostile attitude. 

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cschibli, Owner at Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
I am very sorry for the bad experience you had with us. I just have come accross your review now and have investigated what has happened.
First i would like to let you know, that i was always on site on your stay-date. I was not informed about your enquiries - once again sorry for that.
I have just found that information on expedia were loaded wrong. I have already got in contact with our market manager at expedia and requested him to change the information immediately.
Bedding for an extra person was in your room as i have checked in our records.

The information about the breakfast buffet on expedia is wrong. As I said already, this will be changed immediately. But i have to insist that the 100 Baht Breakfast Voucher entitles you to more than only 2 Bread Buns. For example a full thai breakfast, or our basic set which includes coffee, juice, crispy, freshly baked rolls, jam and butter. Eggs, Pancakes, Corn Flakes or other options are also possible.
We have already actioned on this and will raise the price a little bit to offer your guests a bigger breakfast option.

For the unhelpful staff problem, i will call in a immedieate meeting tomorrow moring with the staff to discuss that and take further action. That is not our standard.

Once again I am sorry for your bad experience and I will immediately take action to not let something like that happen anymore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Nam hotels
2.2 km away
Amarin Samui Hotel
Amarin Samui Hotel
#21 of 30 in Mae Nam
110 reviews
1.3 km away
Baan Fah Resort Samui
Baan Fah Resort Samui
#24 of 30 in Mae Nam
24 reviews
6.5 km away
Natural Wing Health Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
731 reviews
1.4 km away
The Hammock Samui Beach Resort
1.1 km away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel

Address: 19/9 Moo 1, Mae Nam | SuratThani Samui, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Price Range: ₹ 976 - ₹ 5,206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo Tropical Lounge welcomes you to Samui Island, the splendid tropical islet treasure found in Southern Thailand. We offer world class indigenous Thai-style bungalow accommodation as you explore the magic that the pristine white sandy beaches, overhanging coconut trees and the clear blue waters of the sea, best suited for diving and snorkeling has to offer. The Coconut Island, with its abundance of flourishing corals is a paradise best fit for snorkeling, swimming, and diving exploits. Shopping Spree and Vibrant NightlifeFor your supplies and shopping on your and stay at our cheap bungalows in Koh Samui, there is a wide range of shops, stalls and markets in almost every beach that makes shopping easy, fun and affordable. As the sun sets, casting its rays sharply on the waters of the sea, a relaxing and fun-filled nightlife takes over as bars and discos play their favorite collections of modern musical beats to the exhilaration of the patrons dining and wining. Relaxing lounges open their doors to guests whose main focus for the night is to relax and have a good time, all night long! Affordable Accommodation in Koh SamuiThe Garden Lounge Bungalows are built in classy but characteristic Southern Thai style architectural designs and surrounded by thriving tropical gardens. The environment offers utmost comfort and modern facilities for a comforting and memorable holiday in Samui Island. With professional, competent and hospitable management and staff, your comfort and satisfaction during your stay with us is guaranteed. Our services are customized for each guest and their happiness is our pride and success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropical Garden Lounge
Tropical Garden Lounge Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing