We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just dropped in for lunch!”
Review of Stay @ Matthuga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stay @ Matthuga
Ranked #2 of 2 Talavata B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2017

As we (bunch of friends) were 7 of us travelling through the Jog Falls route from Gokarna, I called in to Stay@Matthuga to inquire if they could host us for lunch. They were happy to oblige.
My friends liked the food and the place, many of them asking about the facilities and rates for staying over. May see some of them visit the place sometime.
The lunch itself was good and delicious, though it is purely a vegetarian spread.

Room Tip: Call well in advance for bookings to stay between July & Sept.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IqbalKhuraishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Stay @ Matthuga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Mr Manjunath ,the care taker went out of his way in being helpful.Highly recommend the place.
Rooms are clean .
Good location
enjoyed the serenity of yhe place
we went for long nature walks as the guide was from the same village and had a good knowledge of the forest.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Madhavi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We travelled as a group of Friends. Initially planned for just a night halt but decided we would extend our stay. The host Mr. Narahari was very kind and accommodating to fulfil our request. The food is completely vegetarian, and out of the world healthy! Of course, they do not mind you if you bring food and liquor from outside. The service was exemplary. Jog Halls is just about 8kms away and NH69 drive to Matthuga is one of the best highways to be on if you are driving there.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cottages, beautiful.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank YesToTravelAnytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We were really hoping for a great stay at Matthuga but we were thoroughly disappointed. It is situated in a great location and the hospitality was really good. We were given a cottage for one night and room in the East bungalow for 3 nights. The cottages were really good and gives us a feel of a traditional cottage but it becomes extremely cold at nights and the blankets provided by them is not sufficient to keep us warm. But the rooms in the East bungalow is just like a basic hotel room and doesn't give us any special feel.
But the main drawback was the NOISE. What I noticed is that mostly large families of 15-20 members book rooms here to spend time together every single day. I can understand that but it becomes a torture for couples and small families who are here to relax since there's so much noise from early in the morning to late night(Not less than a fish market, trust me!).
We hope to get a serene, calm and relaxing stay but end up with so much noise that you just want to run away from this place. We can't even sleep peacefully.We had to cut short our trip by one day because it was beyond what we could endure.
It's a nice place for large families who can book all the rooms at a time and spend time together but absolutely a 'no' if it's for couples or small group of people.
Also it's a very dog unfriendly place. There were many dogs around the homestay who just wander into their premises searching for some food and love, but the people at Matthuga keep chasing them away and do not feed them any food. They look very malnourished. They are very friendly and harmless but are yet chased away like they are causing some nuisance.So definitely minus points for that if your a dog lover.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Shilpa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

One of the best places to stay near Jog falls. Property is very well maintained. It has a kitchen inside with less options.. staff needs to improve they do not take ownership.. Special mention of Mr.Subramanya.. he is too good and very humble person. He has immense knowledge about the surroundings and gave us plenty of tips to explore.. in fact he arranged for our sight seeing as well..

Room Tip: Cottanges are amazing.. while rooms are also decent
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VinayKongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talavata
1.5 km away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
2.5 km away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
19 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
#9 of 47 in Shimoga
1 reviews
0.0 km away
Akash Inn Shimoga
Akash Inn Shimoga
#3 of 47 in Shimoga
52 reviews
28.1 km away
River Tern Lodge
River Tern Lodge
#1 of 141 in Chikkamagalur
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay @ Matthuga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay @ Matthuga

Address: Nh 206 Bh Road, Near Jog Falls, Talavata 577421, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Talavata
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Talavata
Price Range: ₹ 2,314 - ₹ 2,828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular mountain backdrop, lush green areca plantation, untouched wilderness located on a truly mesmerizing landscape – that is Stay @ Matthuga for you. Here, you can let the world drift away as you enjoy the exotic surroundings. Your ambience here is perfumed with the inciting aroma of areca, coffee, pepper, vanilla, cardamom and wild orchids. Stay @ Matthuga is a plantation bungalow, Situated in the middle of 10 acres of Areca Garden on the Bangalore-Honnavar National Highway (NH206), 19 Km from Sagar and 8 Km before Jogfalls. Stay @ Matthuga is nostalgic in its setting, attractive in style and comfort. Stay @ Matthuga is a slice of the green paradise that runs through the western ghats. Breath life afresh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Stay @ Matthuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing