We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big no no for small families and couples!!”
Review of Stay @ Matthuga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stay @ Matthuga
Ranked #2 of 2 Talavata B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A big no no for small families and couples!!”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We were really hoping for a great stay at Matthuga but we were thoroughly disappointed. It is situated in a great location and the hospitality was really good. We were given a cottage for one night and room in the East bungalow for 3 nights. The cottages were really good and gives us a feel of a traditional cottage but it becomes extremely cold at nights and the blankets provided by them is not sufficient to keep us warm. But the rooms in the East bungalow is just like a basic hotel room and doesn't give us any special feel.
But the main drawback was the NOISE. What I noticed is that mostly large families of 15-20 members book rooms here to spend time together every single day. I can understand that but it becomes a torture for couples and small families who are here to relax since there's so much noise from early in the morning to late night(Not less than a fish market, trust me!).
We hope to get a serene, calm and relaxing stay but end up with so much noise that you just want to run away from this place. We can't even sleep peacefully.We had to cut short our trip by one day because it was beyond what we could endure.
It's a nice place for large families who can book all the rooms at a time and spend time together but absolutely a 'no' if it's for couples or small group of people.
Also it's a very dog unfriendly place. There were many dogs around the homestay who just wander into their premises searching for some food and love, but the people at Matthuga keep chasing them away and do not feed them any food. They look very malnourished. They are very friendly and harmless but are yet chased away like they are causing some nuisance.So definitely minus points for that if your a dog lover.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shilpa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    64
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
90
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2016

One of the best places to stay near Jog falls. Property is very well maintained. It has a kitchen inside with less options.. staff needs to improve they do not take ownership.. Special mention of Mr.Subramanya.. he is too good and very humble person. He has immense knowledge about the surroundings and gave us plenty of tips to explore.. in fact he arranged for our sight seeing as well..

Room Tip: Cottanges are amazing.. while rooms are also decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinayKongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

One of my friend suggested me this home stay. Initially we were reluctant for a stay over here, thinking its a home stay, we wont get any privacy. But it was other way round, it was a homely stay.
We opted for a cottage room, amidst of beetle nut farm, lush green cover, gave us feeling as if we were in jungle.

Away from noisy city this stay took us closer to nature.

Simple but tasty south Indian food for breakfast as well as for dinner.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SheshanshuNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Probably one of the best places to stay near Jog Falls - only about 10 km from the Falls. A basic B&B with clean and nice rooms. Nice new bathrooms (except for the lack of shower curtains). Mesh on the windows would have been nice, so that you could open the windows at night without being bothered my mosquitoes. But, this was not a big issue at all. The architecture also looks nice. Service is fairly quick and efficient. There is even a swimming pool, which was a bonus. This place is about 200 meters away from the road, so it is quiet. There are enough places to sit and read a book. You can take a short walk in the plantation on the property. There was some minor construction going on when we visited, but that didn't really interfere with our stay. Food is served - we had dinner & b'fast - in a hall next to the main building. Food is OK not great. Overall, if you need a place to stay near Jog Falls, you can't wrong with Matthuga.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Travelled during a diwali weekend. Stayed overnight at Mattuga. This place is about 15mins away from Jog Falls. Please note that this is not a resort (as mentioned in some reviews)

We had taken a room in the east bungalow. There are cottages as well but expensive. Rooms are spacious, neat. Bathroom fittings are all new and good. There is nothing much to do at this place but you can just laze around.

Food is ok but not that great. For those visiting this place, kindly carry enough snacks or eatables as the restaurant is available only during specific timings and do not expect to be served snacks etc.

Room Tip: If choosing a room then take it on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talavata
1.5 km away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
2.5 km away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
17 reviews
0.9 km away
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
#9 of 47 in Shimoga
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 km away
River Tern Lodge
River Tern Lodge
#1 of 140 in Chikkamagalur
286 reviews
0.0 km away
Eka Resort Hallibyle Village
Eka Resort Hallibyle Village
#14 of 38 in Sakleshpur
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay @ Matthuga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay @ Matthuga

Property: Stay @ Matthuga
Address: Nh 206 Bh Road, Near Jog Falls, Talavata 577421, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Talavata
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Talavata
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,992 - ₹ 4,241
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular mountain backdrop, lush green areca plantation, untouched wilderness located on a truly mesmerizing landscape – that is Stay @ Matthuga for you. Here, you can let the world drift away as you enjoy the exotic surroundings. Your ambience here is perfumed with the inciting aroma of areca, coffee, pepper, vanilla, cardamom and wild orchids. Stay @ Matthuga is a plantation bungalow, Situated in the middle of 10 acres of Areca Garden on the Bangalore-Honnavar National Highway (NH206), 19 Km from Sagar and 8 Km before Jogfalls. Stay @ Matthuga is nostalgic in its setting, attractive in style and comfort. Stay @ Matthuga is a slice of the green paradise that runs through the western ghats. Breath life afresh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Stay @ Matthuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing