We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property, closer to Jog, but coming to amenities, its just 2 star property”
Review of Stay @ Matthuga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stay @ Matthuga
Ranked #2 of 2 Talavata B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed in cottage... which is really spacious for 3 people,Room and toilets were clean. Hot water was available for one person, for rest it was just warm water. coming to beds, its horrible. its too hard, my husband and myself got a very bad back ache. Lunch and Dinner is good.. Breakfast need to be improved. Overall good property close to Jog, but definitely needs a lot of improvement. They have a newly constructed Swimming pool.

Room Tip: Best to choose cottages
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lakshmisai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Stay @ Matthuga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016

The title sums up my judgement of the property, which is trying to scale up to be a resort. At the end it gives the feel of a budget lodge in any 2nd or 3rd tier town.

Lets start with the pros first. The property is located in a gorgeous area on the way to Jog Falls, a few kms from Talaguppa, just off NH 206. The drive leading up to the property is awesome with lush fields and forests, green everywhere with plenty of water bodies as well. It looks even better in the monsoon season, which is when we visited. The property is in a farm that grows arecanut, banana, coffee and other crops. Good to walk around inside the farm and around, but was difficult for us to do so because of continuous rain and slush everywhere.
The food was very simple Karnataka style veg food (veg only), but was consistently tasty and homely. As a person who likes south Indian veg food it was perfect for me, but may not be for others who desire more variety.
The rest was a let down for me.
We were given a room in the West Bungalow, the oldest block in the property. The room we had was small with very little space other than to hold a bed and two chairs. Even to roll out an extra mattress we had to move out the chairs. The room was not particularly clean with cobwebs and dust everywhere. The bathroom however was spacious and relatively cleaner. When we got into the room there were no towels, soap etc and we had to ask for everything. The chairs were the large wood ones with bars at the base, but strangely with no cushions. It gets very uncomfortable sitting on the wooden bars after some time.
Service is an area where the property can do with a lot of improvement. There was absolutely no hello or welcome of any sort when you reached the place after a long drive. The people at the place coldly just asked me for my name and allotted the room. The person who was seemingly the manager was new to the place and initially seemed a bit absent minded. He kept asking me for my name and room number several times in the first day. The other folks helping became friendly during the later part of my stay as I was able to converse with them in the local language and asked them a lot of questions about the area.
Note that there are several stray dogs roaming around within the property, though they were totally harmless. Not everyone might appreciate their presence.
Their website talks about indoor games being available. However carrom was only available in the cottages and East Bungalow, not in the West Bungalow. When we wanted to play chess (thanks to non-stop rains), several pawns were missing.
The website also talks about outdoor sports - cricket and badminton. However there was no open area where we could even consider playing cricket or badminton. Airtel mobile signal was very weak and worked only from some open areas and never in the room. So in the rainy season (and it rains quite a bit in the region) it can get challenging to keep kids entertained.
All food items, even coffee/tea and breakfast are charged extra. However the charges for room and food are quite reasonable.
Overall given the proximity to Jog Falls it is a decent option to just stay for the night. Don't expect much else.

Room Tip: Choose cottage or east bungalow rooms as they are newer.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Praks_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We booked a cottage room in Matthuga in early July for our stay during the 15th August long weekend. We stayed one night in this home stay cum resort. We reached at around 4:30PM and the check-in was smooth. The cottage rooms are pretty big and the bathroom was clean. The room boy brought towels and soap for us. Besides a king size bed, there was a single bed available as well inside the room. Ample pillows, bed sheets and blankets were provided. A family of four can stay comfortably in this room. We found the pillows too hard and high. The wardrobe is too small but enough for hanging a folded pant or saree. Hot water was supplied at specific times in the evening and morning. We had dinner and breakfast here. It is a no frills self service meal. The food was very simple and tasted satisfactory. The dosa served during breakfast was very good. Given the cost of the meals, I would say it was decent. There are not many options around, so, almost everybody had their meals here. The place is around 8km from Jog falls and took us 15 mins to reach. The staff were courteous and helpful. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bijitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

- Best place to stay if you are visiting Jog Falls.
- A good place to sit back and relax.
- Cottages are good, well maintained, huge and with a nice balcony.
- A good neat swimming pool available. (had not used it though) - as the stay was only for a night.
- Food was just about average. Unlimited - but pure vegetarian. But the spread and the quality could have been better.
- Though the cottage is big - has a double bed (two single beds attached to make it one) and another bed near the door - the mattress of the third bed is very very bad and is rock hard. Pillows are equally bad.

Room Tip: Stay in the Cottages. Don't expect any lavish spread. No good restaurants nearby.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vishwarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

The cottages are clean and the food is nice. The new cottages are extremely spacious and good enough to accommodate 8 - 10 people each. Mr.Subramanian, the care taker, and other staff have been extremely warm and cordial. Would recommend this highly for people looking for a budget friendly stay at Jog falls.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank msarathchandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talavata
1.5 km away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
2.5 km away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
19 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
#9 of 47 in Shimoga
1 reviews
0.0 km away
Akash Inn Shimoga
Akash Inn Shimoga
#3 of 47 in Shimoga
52 reviews
28.1 km away
River Tern Lodge
River Tern Lodge
#1 of 141 in Chikkamagalur
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay @ Matthuga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay @ Matthuga

Address: Nh 206 Bh Road, Near Jog Falls, Talavata 577421, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Talavata
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Talavata
Price Range: ₹ 2,314 - ₹ 2,828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular mountain backdrop, lush green areca plantation, untouched wilderness located on a truly mesmerizing landscape – that is Stay @ Matthuga for you. Here, you can let the world drift away as you enjoy the exotic surroundings. Your ambience here is perfumed with the inciting aroma of areca, coffee, pepper, vanilla, cardamom and wild orchids. Stay @ Matthuga is a plantation bungalow, Situated in the middle of 10 acres of Areca Garden on the Bangalore-Honnavar National Highway (NH206), 19 Km from Sagar and 8 Km before Jogfalls. Stay @ Matthuga is nostalgic in its setting, attractive in style and comfort. Stay @ Matthuga is a slice of the green paradise that runs through the western ghats. Breath life afresh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Stay @ Matthuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing