We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sarah B

Elegant and top quality. Most relaxing holiday we have had!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 May 2024
We stayed 8 nights at Six Senses Samui for our honeymoon. What can I say, we will be back! This is by the far the nicest and most relaxing holiday we have had. The hotel goes above and beyond to accomodate every need. Starting with the staff, they were delightful from the minute we met them and they remembered our orders (coffee etc). The staff were very trust worthy, friendly and kind. We did a cooking class with “Mae”, a truly authentic fun experience and well priced given that you get to eat 3 courses of food. They give the recipes too.

The resort room was fantastic. We were in a one bedroom pool ocean view villa. It exceeded our expectations. Beautiful view, anytime buggy and room service, multiple per day turn down the room service (cleaning in the morning and remake beds, get the villa ready to sleep by lowering mosquito nets and turning on mood candles at night). The bed was comfortable enough but was a joined 2 king singles - perhaps for a 5 star resort this could be upgraded to a pillow top to make it extra comfortable.
The outdoor showers were a hit and very romantic. The pool was very clean, tranquil and private.

The spa massages were worth every bit of the money and very good value for the quality. The massage rooms are individual ocean view rooms - royalty!

We ate at “dinner on the hill” multiple times with a mix of the Thai buffet and A La carte and we just kept going back for more! The food was top notch quality and tasty. The wine options were great. The room service menu was fantastic and well priced considering the quality. I would highly recommend the soft shell crab lichee salad, Tom yung goong curry, Crab yellow curry, and massaman curry.

The finishing touches of cool towels and complimentary drinks throughout our stay made it memorable and made us feel special.

The breakfast buffet was generous and of high quality. Ranging from homemade fresh pastries (the nicest we have ever had), homegrown broad fruit range, noodle soup bar, Thai and European Brekky options, with daily specials, the restaurant just oozed elegance and style. I would highly recommend the Pad Grapow off the A La carte breakfast menu and the various pastries.

The daily complimentary ice cream from 3-5pm was a lovely touch and exactly what was needed on the warm days enjoying the holiday life.
The gym was good. Perhaps the only thing could be the daily yoga classes had more time slots for the early birds (7.30am) as we found 8.30am a little late for us. Each to their own though.

You can also hire motorbikes through the hotel for a good price and trusted company. The “drift on the beach” bar was great to chill and had happy hour most days. Cocktails were very creative and enjoyable.

A special mention to our GEM “Aum”, restaurant staff “Dada” and friendly hard working manager “T” for making our experience at Six Senses Samui extra special. We will be back.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Johannes Steyn, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review
Responded 13 May 2024
Dear SarahbJ3379TE

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Aum, Dada, and T will appreciate the recognition and it will inspire them even more.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise soon.

Kind regards
Johannes Steyn
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₹13,301
  • Expedia.com
    ₹20,762
  • Priceline
    ₹11,963
  • StayForLong
    ₹21,252
4.7 km from Six Senses Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹10,660
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,168
  • Agoda.com
    ₹9,618
  • Vio.com
    ₹9,764
5.7 km from Six Senses Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹19,794
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹19,819
  • Vio.com
    ₹17,985
  • Hotels.com
    ₹19,819
5.9 km from Six Senses Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹23,618
  • Expedia.com
    ₹25,987
  • Vio.com
    ₹20,715
  • Hotels.com
    ₹23,252
5.9 km from Six Senses Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹28,706
  • Expedia.com
    ₹31,896
  • Vio.com
    ₹22,091
  • Hotels.com
    ₹28,352
6.5 km from Six Senses Samui
Free parking
Beachfront
₹25,134
  • Sheraton.com
    ₹25,159
  • Expedia.com
    ₹25,167
  • Hotels.com
    ₹25,167
9.6 km from Six Senses Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹15,980
  • Expedia.com
    ₹17,672
  • Vio.com
    ₹14,352
  • Hotels.com
    ₹17,672
6.1 km from Six Senses Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹48,168
  • Official Site
    ₹55,074
  • Agoda.com
    ₹46,798
  • Expedia.com
    ₹55,559
8.0 km from Six Senses Samui
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    ₹35,345
  • Algotels
3.0 km from Six Senses Samui
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₹21,218
  • Agoda.com
    ₹16,995
  • Hotels.com
    ₹22,817
5.6 km from Six Senses Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bophut
Reviews (1,178)
Filter reviews
1,178 results
Traveller rating
845
187
71
46
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
845
187
71
46
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining on the rocks hideaway villa infinity pool guest experience manager outdoor shower pool villa suite main pool the general manager insect repellent ocean front spa treatments golf buggy other resorts shuttle bus turn down service beach bar luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,178 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2024 via mobile

We are very lucky to have stayed at lots of lovely places around the world. Honestly this one has been excellent - Four Seasons standard, but maybe better. The location is stunning, the villas incredible, fantastic food, but it is actually the people that make the difference - the staff team was so kind, attentive and excellent. In terms of could do better, the beach area Drift could be better used in the evening as an alternative eating area - it is equally excellent and stunning.

Room tip: Enjoy breakfast before the 930 rush
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mantana Paedach, Other at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Dear Khun Jason P,



Thank you indeed for the high feedback regarding your recent experience at Six Senses Samui.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Your kind words and compliments motivate us to continue delivering the best hospitality services to every guest. I will certainly pass your comments on to the team; it is through their hard work and efforts that our guests feel so at home and can truly enjoy a relaxing holiday with us.

Regarding the idea for Drift at the Beach's dinner option, I will certainly share it with the team.

Once again thank you for choosing Six Senses and we truly look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay with us!



Warmest regards,


Mantana Paedach (Moon)
Administrative Assistant Manager
+66 77 245 678
mantana.paedach@sixsenses.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2024

We completely fell in love with the Six Senses Samui resort. The private villas with pools were spectacular for watching the sunrise, while in the afternoons, we enjoyed watching the sunset from the main infinity pool. Another highlight was the Guest Experience Maker who was always ready to help or advise us.

Room tip: Watch sunset from the main infinity pool
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 325koenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mantana Paedach, Other at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Dear Khun 325Koenk,



Thank you very much for sharing your lovely review at Six Senses Samui.

We highly appreciate your positive feedback and are grateful to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and captured the beautiful sunset. Your compliment on Guest Experience Maker, I have relayed your kind words of encouragement to your GEM, and team. I will certainly pass your compliments to them!

Once again, thank you for choosing Six Senses. We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again soon!



Warmest regards,


Mantana Paedach (Moon)
Administrative Assistant Manager
+66 77 245 678
mantana.paedach@sixsenses.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

Beautiful resort with meticulous attention to detail throughout. The integration of natural materials in a beautiful environment enhances the serene vibe.

The food at Six Senses Samui was excellent, featuring a great buffet breakfast and wonderful Thai food. The service was impeccable, with the staff going out of their way to accommodate our wants while being unobtrusive.

Unlike many hotels, there was no open tab for tipping on every bill, which I found very refreshing,

Set on a secluded hill, the resort offered stunning views of the Gulf of Thailand. The combination of lush greenery and the sparkling sea provided a picture-perfect backdrop that was absolutely Instagram-worthy.

However, our stay was somewhat lessened by a few significant issues. The resort's beach is shared with another hotel, which, during our visit, resulted in a less peaceful atmosphere than we had anticipated. The constant noise from jet skis was a significant disturbance, detracting from the tranquility we sought at the resort.

Additionally, the view from the beach was impacted by the encroaching new apartments and villas, detracting from the resort’s secluded feel. This development, visible from the beach, undermined the sensation of being in a remote paradise, which is one of the charms we were looking forward to.

The infinity pool is absolutely stunning, boasting spectacular sea views. It should have been a haven of relaxation. However, the presence of groups of children at times made it less serene. I believe the resort could enhance the experience for all guests by managing this area more effectively, perhaps by setting specific times for children or restricting their access to the beach pool.

These factors combined—the shared beach with its noise disturbances and the visual intrusion of nearby construction—somewhat marred what would otherwise have been an impeccable stay at this luxurious retreat.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ccit33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marieke Dijkhuis, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Dear ccit33_12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback about your recent stay at Six Senses Samui.

We appreciate your positive remarks about our beautiful resort, attention to detail, and the excellent food offerings. Your compliments on the serene ambiance, impeccable service, and the absence of a constant open tipping tab are truly encouraging.

However, we are genuinely sorry to hear about the challenges you faced during your stay. We understand the importance of a tranquil environment and apologize for the disturbances caused by the shared beach with the neighboring hotel. For environmental reasons and to preserve our tranquil beach, we do not allow our guests to take jet skis from our beach, and this has helped that most of the year, there are no jet skis in our secluded bay. However, February being one of the busiest months of the year, we unfortunately cannot control the coming in of jet skis in our bay and being used by guests staying at the neighboring villas and small resort.

As for the development of private villas on the total other side of our beach, we acknowledge your comment. Guests staying at the private villas of this property, hardly come down to our beach, this helps to keep our beach very tranquil most of the year.

Your suggestion regarding the infinity pool and managing the presence of children is well-noted. You may have noticed the sign at the entrance of our infinity pool saying “CHILL IN STILLNESS BY THE POOL, and on the pool menu we explain that in this area we seek for our guests to enjoy a quiet ambiance where both families and guests seeking a more serene atmosphere can coexist harmoniously. We will certainly work on finding ways to ensure this to always happen.

Thank you again for choosing Six Senses Samui and your valuable feedback. We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back in a quieter time of the year, providing you with a fully tranquil guest experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me for assistance you may require.

Kindest regards,

Marieke Dijkhuis
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2024 via mobile

There are not enough words to describe how amazing my experience in SS Samui was and how much i recommend this hotel, a few notes:

1- the staff: they care and are genuine. And as someone who travels all year long, this is something you can tell right away, there is no faking a real heart. And these people genuinely care and want to go above an beyond to take care of the guests. Also, the manager Marieke is wonderful! Super sweet and also deeply cares about the island and its people.

2- the food: amazing!! I am on a strict food intolerance diet and a bit of a pain of a client when it comes to food and the Chef made sure i was always well taken care of and the food was SO good!!! No complaints

3- the rooms: clean, beautiful views and have everything you need.

4- the views are amazing!! Especially the sunset.

5- spa: wow!! The treatment rooms all have amazing ocean view and the massages were all wonderful.

Also, during my stay i had an accident by the rocks on the beach and the hotel staff took me to the hospital every day and stayed with me, as i was travelling alone. Again, i will never have enough words of gratitude :)

Thank you Six Senses Samui!!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marieke Dijkhuis, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024


Dear Maria,

Thank you so much for sharing your “Out of the Ordinary” experience at Six Senses Samui! We were so happy to have you as our guest and I enjoyed meeting you personally!

We are thrilled to read about your positive impressions and appreciate especially your kind words about our team's genuine care and dedication making a lasting impression. We do really care, and it warms our hearts that you felt so well looked after and connected with us.

Chef Kien and team will be delighted to read your raving comments about the food and know that you are grateful for them keeping account with all your food intolerances.

We will also share your positive feedback with the team on the clean well-appointed villas with ocean views and on all the massages, all will feel proud and motivated!

Finally, we are deeply touched by your mention of our team looking after you so well after your unfortunate accident by the rocks on the spa beach. We hope you are doing well and have fully recovered!

Again, thank you for choosing Six Senses Samui, the entire Six Senses Samui Team send their best wishes and regards, and we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!


Marieke Dijkhuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024

An absolutely amazing experience! We can from Los Angeles, 3 months after our wedding (so a delayed honeymoon) and we couldn’t have dreamed of a more amazing location!

Outside of being a beautiful island and country, the six senses villas are truly beyond belief!! Absolutely stunning!! We personally stayed in villa 57, and it is truly beyond amazing (and this is coming from a man whose wife has traveled the globe, and is not easy to please! And my 1st international trip ever)

That in itself would earn six senses a 10/10, however, their staff is beyond amazing! They are so attentive, kind, and go the extra mile! Their personal touch is truly unbelievable, they know you upon arrival and everyone from the maintenance staff, cleaning team, guest management, and servers are beyond belief and make it feel like we are the only ones here!

I would give six senses a 15/10 if I could! As highly recommended as it can be from a simple man and his hard to please wife!!

NOTE: Our luggage was delayed by china airlines on the way in, their staff (Jo - on this occasion) took care of everything for us so we could enjoy our time here, he called the airlines, coordinated the delivery, and made sure everything was taken care of for us! And that was the 1st night! Again their staff is unrivaled!)

I will be back to update this so each of their staff gets the individual recognition they deserve, but special call outs for: Best (main pool), Jo (guest management), Dean (guest management), and so many more who’s name I will be adding!!

Room tip: Even when they are fully booked it’s like you’re the only ones here, and they have their own water system… perfect for sensitive travelers!!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jared G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marieke Dijkhuis, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Dear Jared,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your “Out of the Ordinary” experience at Six Senses Samui!

We are thrilled to read about your truly amazing stay and honored that you chose us for your delayed honeymoon.

It warms our hearts to know that you found our location, especially Villa 57, to be beyond belief. Your words are particularly meaningful, considering your wife's extensive travels and discerning taste.

Your glowing praise for our hosts is deeply appreciated and we are especially grateful for your recognition of Jo, Guest Experience Supervisor, who went above and beyond to assist you with your delayed luggage on the first night as well as your mention of Best, our Beach Attendant, and Dean, your GEM (Guest Experience Maker). I will share your kind comments with them and our entire team, who all will be excited to know their efforts made your stay even more special.

Once again, thank you for choosing Six Senses Samui for your honeymoon.

We are genuinely touched by your kind words and cannot wait to welcome you back for another unforgettable experience!

Warm regards,

Marieke Dijkhuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews