We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel let down by financial greed !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Peebles, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel let down by financial greed !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

My wife and I , having spent an amazing few nights in Anantara, Riverside! Bangkok, looked forward to our stay at their property in Boh Phut. We were out in Thailand to celebrate our daughter's wedding, which was taking part at a venue elsewhere on the island.
To be fair, the location, staff, rooms, food etc were all excellent, and for the first couple of days of our stay, we were delighted at our choice of hotel, as were other guests in our party.
However, it soon became evident that there was going to be a lavish wedding at the resort on the Saturday, which started with pre-wedding activities from the Tuesday.
Our time poolside was disrupted by the sound of a mechanical digger, which was levelling out the beach for a pre-wedding event. The beautiful beach was therefore out of use for guests.
The first event, a beach party, took place on the Wednesday night, with loud disco music reverberating round the resort. We had been informed earlier in the day that this party would continue until 2am. No advance apologies from any staff.
Our daughter's wedding was taking place on the Thursday, and she became extremely distressed that she was unable to sleep due to the thundering base response from the sound system at the party. Complaints were made to reception, who said that they would get the volume turned down. However, this did not materially happen, and at 11.45pm I spoke to the duty manager, expressing my disgust at this flagrant disregard for the interests of their guests, apart obviously, from the guests at the beach party.
It was only after repeated pleas, that she left reception and said she would make sure the volume was turned down. I also told her that a 2am finish was totally unacceptable.
In fairness, the music did stop just after midnight.
However, we then discovered that half the pool area was to be closed for the Thursday and Friday during the day, to accommodate yet another series of events related to this wedding. This resulted in all the rest of the resort's guests being crammed in to a small poolside area where there were a very limited number of sunbeds available. We were then subjected to the noise and commotion of the wedding guests in the pool, where lifebelts were used as floating aids for the children. The staff purely looked on, and tried to appease their irate guests with free soft drinks and food poolside.
We were leaving the hotel on the Saturday, so did not experience the wedding itself on that day. On checking out, and after much complaining to the check-out staff, we did receive a discount on our bill, but this was not the point.
My main disappointment is with the Anantara group, who, in this instance, have sold out their regular guests, in pursuit of the "big buck", as I am sure that these wedding facilities and events were extremely lucrative to the resort.
But the success, or otherwise, of any 4/5 star resort, is the experience that their normal guests enjoy, and in this case, we became of secondary importance.
In conclusion, we were delighted with the quality and facilities at the resort, but until this commercial ethos changes, future guests better check that there are no weddings planned throughout their stay, or they run the risk, in many cases, of travelling half way around the world to be met with a top class resort, with a 2 star experience.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank alamo1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your stay with us.
We made a huge mistake accepting bookings beside the wedding group, we have learnt our lesson.

I do understand your disappointment and I do agree that because of the wedding group, some of the facilities were blocked, but on the other hand, we did try our best to accommodate everybody.
When the machine was leveling the sand on the beach in front of the resort, the sunbeds were moved further down the beach to make sure the guests could still enjoy it. We also set-up some extra sunbeds by the pool in the villa area, which was further from the party.
I understand it is not enough.

Please do let me know should you decide to give us another chance, and I will personally ensure that you have the most memorable and relaxing stay with us.

Best regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    450
    160
    51
    24
See reviews for
515
1,088
49
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Awesome property !! >>> Centrally located ...grand rooms.. beautiful view .. very good food (spclly italian). .Breathtaking view from the pool overlooking the bophut beach .. walking distance to the fishermans village .. a lane full of hawkers,restaurants n Thailand made craft itmes...(a must go ).. The hotel has quite a romantic ambience for couples... wouldnt stay anywer else if i visit again :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkitaGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for your review, covering the most important things to know about the resort.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next stay with us!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was our fourth trip to the Anantara, I we will be going back again next year.
There was nothing we could fault, The food, Service, staff were all excellent.
They all made sure that we had everything we needed. This year I did the cookery lesson - again this was excellent - after I had done all the hard work my husband joined me for lunch and was quite surprised that I had done so good. If anyone is thinking of going just book it and go you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaSun771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback and loyalty to the resort! Your good words have been shared with the team!
The cooking class is such a unique experience, starting with the visit to the local market and finishing by a lunch. Next year, we will make sure that you rest and your husband cook for you!!

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon

Warm Regards
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of July 2012. The hotel itself is lovely - great setting on the beach and large spacious rooms. The staff are very friendly and the facilities at the hotel are good. However, there was a wedding on the Saturday (our last day) and we were interrupted by this from the Tuesday. One day the beach was closed as they were digging it up with a JCB to flatten it out, and on Wednesday night there was a BBQ on the beach with a DJ playing very loud music (scheduled to go on until 2am). We were attending a wedding the next day (away from the hotel) and it was impossible to get to sleep over the noise. After complaning 3 times, it was eventually turned down at midnight. On the Thursday & Friday half the pool area was closed (it's not huge in the first place and can be a struggle to get a lounger at the best of times) for a party for the wedding group. On Friday the management offered us free food & soft drinks by the pool, and we also got dinner in the restaurant as well as some charges taken off the room but this was very reactive and only happened after we had complained a lot to the manager (which I don't particularly enjoy doing!) We booked this hotel as we were there with a big group for a wedding, and wanted a nice, quiet chilled week, which unfortunately we didn't get. It felt that the needs of the wedding party (who had obviously paid a lot of money to be there) were put first, at the expense of the remainder of the paying guests and that the hotel had sold themselves out for a price. Yes, they gave us some compensation but we had friends who didn't complain and therefore got nothing. If we had known the beach would be closed 2 days, that there would be very loud music two nights, and that half the pool area would be closed 2 days we simply would've booked somewhere else.
Other little things in the rooms let this hotel down - our air con would overheat and switch off in the middle of the night, the shower had a tendency to soak the bathroom floor, there was no tea & coffee in the room next to the kettle....little things that you wouldn't expect to come across in a top end hotel.
Beautiful hotel, gorgeous setting but unfortunately they let themselves down by putting a few guests before everyone else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Catriona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear valued guests,

Thank you taking the time to post your feedback, and nice words towards the team.
Yes, the property is beautiful, and we would like to apology for the inconveniences encountered during your stay with the wedding group.
As mentioned previously, this was a terrible mistake, and we will make sure that the situation does not happen in the future!

Feel free to contact me personally should you decide to give us another chance, and I will make sure that you have the most enjoyable and relaxing stay with us.

Warm regards
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

While the hotel and gardens in itself are stunning, it lacks the small details to make it the five stars it claims, not replacing all the towels, replacing toiletries, cleaning windows, not refilling mini bar, £50 for Wi-Fi for the week, air-con would overheat, cut out and leak (reported it first day but was never fixed) are just some of the wee things that they missed on.

The main disappointment was the pool area, which is overcrowded and suffers from a severe lack of sunbeds, this was not helped by the fact that half the pool area and whole poolside restaurant was closed off to accommodate wedding parties, which over ran the area, had a DJ playing overly loud music, guests dropping glasses in the pool, kids using the life belts as flotation devices while the management stood nearby and watched.

The beach was also closed off for 3 days, one day to remodel the beach - which involved the pool area being disturbed by a JCB for 7 hours, another day to setup for an party that night and a 3rd for the wedding itself.

The mentioned night beach party also had a 2am finish, during which the music rivalled a stadium concert. Despite being a significant distance from the beach we were unable to sleep with the noise, we were met at reception by 7 other couples that were complaining about the noise. The first reaction by the receptionist was to laugh and say it was a wedding and there was nothing they could do. A more senior member of management met us and explained the situation and did succeed in getting the music turned down - occasionally it did creep back up.

The following day the management did try and appease us by offering us free food and soft drinks by the half of the pool area open to us.

As stated it was just so disappointing, we were made to feel like we were not as important than the wedding party guests, the hotel gave us no prior warning that there were to be restrictions on the facilities available, the management were only reactive once we started complaining and the freebies offered came only after lengthy negotiation and were not given up easily.

For the money you spend you can get so much more at other resorts.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and share your experience at our resort.
As mentioned in the previous review, we did a mistake by accepting other bookings beside the wedding group, and we have learnt our lesson.

All our guests are important for us, and please accept our sincere apologies if you have felt left down.
We did our best to accommodate everybody, setting up extra sun beds by the other pool in the villa area, the beach…but of course we do understand your frustration not to be able to fully use our facilities.

Please do let me know should you decide to come & visit us again, and I will make sure that you have the most enjoyable and relaxing stay with us,

Best regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
5.6 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
5.9 km away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.1 km away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
5.9 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
12.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bophut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,808 - ₹ 25,350
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing