We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“nothing to complain,” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of K beach

K beach
Ranked #159 of 436 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Nice french and thai restaurant specialized in fish and seafood with tables on the beach, sea view, roof terasse. We also cook fresh French meat, good Thai food, pastas, good pizzas and south of France specialities.Joli restaurant fancais et thai specialise dans le poisson et les fruits de mers au BBQ, avec des tables directement sur la plage, une terrasse avec vue sur mer, toit terasse au 1er etage. Nous avons egalement de la bonne viande charolaise fraiche, de la bonne cuisine thai, des pates, desbonnes pizzas mais aussi des specialites provencales.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nothing to complain,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My experience at Le Cabanon was overall good.
I had the lamb which was well prepared, my friends had duck and were satisfied as well.
I like the atmosphere, good location and they have a nice view over the beach!
The way they present there menu I find original, the menu is a LP Cover and the drink menu is the LP.
Never seen that before, nice touch!

I think we were served by the owner, and nothing to complaint good service!
Not super expensive but off course there are cheaper places to eat out there!
I was satisfied with the dinner I had and the service I got at Le Cabanon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Dirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecabanonsamui, manager at K beach, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you so mush for your review, we hope to see you next time you will come on the island !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    102
    41
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Must be better places out there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I followed TA reviews on this and while we did enjoy Spirit house a lot, we are disappointed with food in Le Cabanon.
Fish Tom Yum was excellent however the seafood linguini was dry and tasteless..the calmari salad was very basic and rather boring.. I really consider this place average and it wasn't cheap either..
Eat at the market on fridays I bet food there is better or just as good and tiny fraction of the bill in Le Cabanon.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MCJULIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecabanonsamui, manager at K beach, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for your comment but sorry to say you that the other restaurant you mentioned is very different from our restaurant ! it's in Chaweng, not a very quite place, don't have the seaview and also is a high thai gastronomic restaurant ! nothig to compare with us...
Concerning the food in the street, sometimes it's very good, but nobody knows the hygienic cooking conditions and storage (cold chain? ) This is the reason why we made an all openned kitchen, so customers can see in which conditions the food they will eat is cooked...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Right on the beech in Fishermans village, Le Cabanon is friendly and relaxed. If you stick to Thai and beer, it's also very reasonable. Pizza, also very good. Had the steak, and although cooked beautifully with salad and hand made chips, lacked flavour, so was disappointing. We have returned though and will again, I'm sure.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debs_Loves_Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecabanonsamui, manager at K beach, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

if you like the taste of thai food, it might be a very good choice for you but me and my wife didn't like it at all.
We've tried coconut seafood curry and tom yum seafood and couldn't finish unfortunately.
i dont wanna say it's a poor restaurant, it's just not for us who doesnt like Thai soups (everything is a version of soup).

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gencoserin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecabanonsamui, manager at K beach, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
thanks for yor comments, sorry to hear that you didn't liked our thai fod, but we have also european food o the menu and for your information, not all the thai dishes are soups, only tom yum and spicy fish soup... Next time, you should try our european food which is very good..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
175 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

During our recent stay at Koh Samui, my wife, 14 month old son & myself had the opportunity to have 2 meals at Le Cabanon, located in Fisherman's Village.

The 1st meal was a late lunch, we were the only people there. We had the fish soup, with bread, excellent. It is the kind of dish where you either love it or hate it, thumbs up from us. We also had the steam fish (thai style), that was alright. The lurking cat got some of the unwanted portions. Finally, the eggplant pizza, again alright. To the owner, thanks for the rambutans!

The 2nd meal was our last dinner before heading home. We had the cooked snapper fillet in aluminium foil, spiced with cumin(?). That was excellent, fresh and full of flavor. The grilled squid was good too, accompanied with hot and sweet sauce. Finally, the grilled tiger prawns, that was alright.

Overall, good food, we will remember the snapper fillet & the fish soup!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyBingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecabanonsamui, manager at K beach, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we hope you will come back again on the island and come back to eat here, the fish soup and red snaper will always be on the menu !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed K beach also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to K beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing