We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel with excellent service and relaxing surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in April. We arrived very early as our flight connection was the first of the day. We were welcomed by the staff and made to feel at home immediately. They made extra effort to get our room ready and we checked in smoothly and were offered refreshments and a cool towel to wipe our brows. The hotel staff were extremely helpful in explaining the hotel from the start and always with a smile on their face.

We booked the Love Room and as our bags were taken up to the room the staff gave us full instructions and told us where everything was. The room had a TV/Computer with free internet and music player/ipod dock. The room itself was large and very cosy. Our room led out to a balcony with a hot tub and a large (sun) bed to lie on. The view was amazing as we were up in the hills (which means its a bit of a trek to the beach).

Lots of shuttle services and moped hire was available as the location of the hotel was fairly remote and up in the hills.

For the beach we went to mae nam beach which was very quiet and relaxing with great views, calm water and views of Koh Phanghan.

We never ate in the restaurant in the evenings but the breakfast buffet was excellent. Lovely iced coffees and amazing views. For evening meals we went to Fishermans village (shuttle service goes there) and we ate at the Happy Elephant which I would also recommend as a great place, especially for seafood.

The pool is great and has the same view as the restaurant area....stunning.....I would say that there wasn't always enough seating at the pool because the sunbeds are so big. Otherwise no complaints.

The fitness room is good and one of the better ones i have seen in a hotel. Again the view from here is amazing.

Overall a pleasurable although short stay I would not hesitate to come back. For the price I thought it was very reasonable. The compromise with the view is that you are a little away from everything but from my point of view this is what i wanted. Staff were very nice and the hotel has the personable feel as its not a huge resort, although some of its facilites resemble what you would find in a bigger resort (cinema, fitness room etc).

Room Tip: Love room is great and worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,383 - 1,387 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

This hotel is a great, relaxing hotel... It has an amazing pool and kids play area's if you have kids... Spa is good but much more expensive than local.. Room was a bit above average. Clean white sheets and amazing view... Good clean bathroom.. They also had an amazing movie theater with good movies.. That you can also see in your room if that suits you better. We had the theaster to our selves because no1 else wanted to see a movie @ the same time so I guess the same thing could happen to you... The restrant food was ok not to great.. But the breakfast buffet was good... Drinks and meals are a lot more expensive as usual in hotels. They have good shuttles services includinged in the rate that can take you to chaweng and or beach or fishermans village.. The only problem I had with these shuttle services is the times... The earliest shuttle is 11 so you have to start you day late or pay for a taxi!!!!! I would go to this hotel again.. The beach is not great but swim able rubbish floating everywhere.. Thx

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Julzi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for five nights and immediately fell in love with this place. The character is so unique and endearing - from the 'do not disturb statue' in the room (instead of a sign) to the passport you receive on arrival describing the resort services in a 'cheeky' (their word) but genuine way. We started every morning with an incredible breakfast buffet with fruit, beautifully prepared eggs and pancakes, and an impressive spread of pastries, cereal, yogurt, and salads. It was then an easy task to slide over to the pool for a swim or hop on the shuttle to town. The staff was friendly and genuinely seemed to enjoy working there. They did everything they could do to make us feel welcome and appreciated from arrival to our sad but inevitable departure for the airport.

Upon my realization that I had left my suit in the room after checking out, I contacted the staff by email from the airport. Robert, the owner of Mantra, contacted me shortly after to tell me that my suit would be on its way the following day. That's going above and beyond. Thank you for providing such a great time during our stay in Koh Samui!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The hotel is about a 20-30 minute drive from the ferry pier which cost us about 600 BHT. The hotel has beautiful views and check in was quite easy. After check in, they drove us up to our room (after showing us the pool and restaurant) in their golf cart. The hills there are quite steep but not un-walkable. After a few days, we actually liked the walk since we won't doing much else. The pool area is tight and its hard to get into the pool because of the way the chairs are set up. There does seem to be enough chairs (contrary to other reviews) though they are not super comfortable and people do get up quite early to save them. The food in the restaurant was actually pretty good and the service is great. Everyone is really friendly and polite. Though we chose it because of the rooms and the views, we did miss being close to the beach a bit. The shuttles were often enough though so if you do want to go to the beach, it's not that big of a deal. We also did a few spa treatments at the hotel which were a good value and very nice. All in all, a good experience.

Room Tip: The Cozy rooms are the largest but do not have a outdoor space. If you don't want to compete wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is not your typical run of the mill 5 star resort and thats what makes it so good. From the first moment you arrive you feel like the staff and management are really happy to have you as a guest and not in a robotic fixed smile sort of way. We were on honeymoon and stayed in a love jacuzzi oasis room. The rooms are gorgeous and really unique and different with lovely touches from the coffee maker to the integrated television where you could access the internet as well as the numerous movies in the movie library..
Breakfast was amazing, plenty of staff, lots of options and a special mention must be made to the homemade museli, OMG you have to try this, would love the recipe!
As mentioned in other reviews it is built on a steep hill and walking from your room up to restaurant or pool is a slight challenge but all it takes is a phonecall to reception and a golf buggy will whisk you up if required. Infinnity Swimming pool has fantastic views of samui.
It is obvious that the owner Robert is very hands on and genuinely strives to make sure your experience is positive, he also actively seeks constructive criticism from guests, giving out his e-mail address and asking you to contact him which I think will ensure that Mantra will grow and grow as a resort.
My only criticism would be the prices in the minibar, snacks in your room, while I appreciate that there would be some mark up on their original price, some of the prices charged are hugely inflated for example the bottle of sparkling wine in our minibar was listed as 1290 baht however the exact same bottle cost 395 baht in a supermarket in chaweng. If the drinks were more realistically priced we would have drunk more of them thereby generating money for Mantra, instead we used to stock up on water, beers and wine on our trips to Bophut and Chaweng and drink those instead.
Like I said this is my only criticism, everything else and in particular the staff ensured that we had a fab time at Mantra and would love to return someday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buffy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.4 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,559 reviews
9.6 km away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
7.5 km away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#3 of 185 in Bophut
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
1,316 reviews
7.3 km away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
10.7 km away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: ₹ 6,318 - ₹ 19,540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing