We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good Mexican food in Thailans”

Gringos Cantina Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 697 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Gringos is an open air restaurant with ceiling fans throughout the restaurant. We also have an outdoor area with portable fans if required. We serve traditional Tex - Mex dishes, but we also have a couple of Mex - Thai and Mex - Indian fusion dishes. There is a good sized Vegetarian Tex - Mex selection or you can go the other way and order Burgers, Steaks, chops and some fish meals of the BBQ, the Pork ribs are very popular. For those that want Thai food we have joined with the Thai Garden Restaurant for great traditional Thai dishes and they also specialize in a selection of Issan Food dishes. Want something simple we do salads, pizzas, pasta, we can also make you up a plate of Chicken & Chips. Top it off with a Deep Fried Ice Cream or Homemade Apple Pie Come in between 2 PM & 7 PM and choose one of our 14 flavours of Frozen Margaritas and we will make you up a Litre for only 350 Baht Kids Menu Available This is our 20th year in Chaweng
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Visited here twice!
First time amazing, second not so much... BUT surprisingly amazing and authentic Mexican food in Thailand.
The first time we had Nachos (10/10), sizzling fajitas (10/10). Both dishes were SO GOOD!
Second time we had soft burritos and chilli con carne which were a bit of a miss.
The owner is really nice, he was in the restaurant both times and checked we were happy with our meals and thanked us for coming :D
Even though round 2 was a miss, would still highly recommend going here for dinner !!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Skells93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

A nice break from the typical Thai food and McDonald type chains, we liked the food here very much. Nachos Supreme very tasty, should have taken the large. the pork ribs were a bit dry. tacos were good. Good atmosphere. Would be nice to have some live music. Recommended. Staff and owner very friendly.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Saar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk H, Owner at Gringos Cantina Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Glad you enjoyed your meals at Gringos, and thanks for the heads up on the ribs will check that right away, really appreciate you taking the time to write us a good review.
Thanks and hope you have the chance to come back next time you are in Chaweng.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Visited this restaurant twice for dinner and lunch and the chicken burritos were extremely good, as were the nachos. Great vibe and nice cocktails. Staff very friendly. Good location next to the main road.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NiamhMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We ate at Gringo’s two nights in a row and were blown away by the food. Such a welcome break from burger, pizzas and Thai food. Highly recommend the nachos, burritos and fajitas!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank 939euanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

My son & I had dinner here tonight (Saturday) Oh my goodness it was so delicious. We started with nachos & buffalo wings. Probably didnt need anything else but then we went on with a 1/2 rack of ribs that come with 2 sides & I had the enchilada/taco combo... topped off with 2 blue margarita's - still getting over the brain freeze .
Do yourself a favor & visit this place for a meal dont be put off its down a small ally past hagen daz. Service was excellent too

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank MissFee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk H, Owner at Gringos Cantina Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Glad you enjoyed your meals at Gringos and thank you very much for taking the time to write us a great review, we really do appreciate it and hope you have a chance to come back in the near future or next time you are on Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gringos Cantina Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gringos Cantina Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing