We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit the spot.”

Gringos Cantina Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 508 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 24
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Gringos is an open air restaurant with ceiling fans throughout the restaurant. We also have an outdoor area with portable fans if required. We serve traditional Tex - Mex dishes, but we also have a couple of Mex - Thai and Mex - Indian fusion dishes. There is a good sized Vegetarian Tex - Mex selection or you can go the other way and order Burgers, Steaks, chops and some fish meals of the BBQ, the Pork ribs are very popular. For those that want Thai food we have joined with the Thai Garden Restaurant for great traditional Thai dishes and they also specialize in a selection of Issan Food dishes. Want something simple we do salads, pizzas, pasta, we can also make you up a plate of Chicken & Chips. Top it off with a Deep Fried Ice Cream or Homemade Apple Pie Come in between 2 PM & 7 PM and choose one of our 14 flavours of Frozen Margaritas and we will make you up a Litre for only 350 Baht Kids Menu Available This is our 20th year in Chaweng
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Have been traveling SEA for a few months now, craving some Mexican. This is a nice little place, on the pricy side for thailand but compared to home a steal. Really yummy, and I am a vegetarian. Had chimichangas and enchiladas. The owner checked in us, made suggestions and even brought us extra spices just to be nice:) come here!

Thank Lucie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk H, Owner at Gringos Cantina Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Glad you enjoyed yourselves and thank you very much for taking the time to give us a great review, it's most appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Back again having been to Samui numerous times over past 20years. Mused with staff and shared photos of when our kids were first there compared to now.
A great reliable restaurant - wide choice of foods whether Mexican, Thai or international. Has always been our first restaurant because of the above and this time was no different. Great for families / groups or couples, good value and God’s atmosphere - pop along and I’m sure you’ll be pleased.

Thank MAHGRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve been in Thailand for a few weeks so we thought we would try Gringos out for a little break from Thai food and it was absolutely delicious! Fresh hand made tortillas, delicious enchiladas, lots of vegetarian options. Would definitely come here again.

Thank brea808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We decided last night to visit Gringos as an impromptu decision craving jalapeno poppers. Regrettably they served jalapeno peppers sliced only, but we ended up having mostly burritos all around the table after a shared nachos starter. The servings were generous and the food scrumptious. Prices were very competitive and with Mexican music playing we had a lot of fun. If you do crave Mexican food whilst on the island, there is no reason not to give them a visit.

Thank stephanspamer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk H, Owner at Gringos Cantina Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

I know the feeling, we used to have Jalapeno poppers on the menu but our supplier stopped carrying them, anyway thanks for taking the time to give us a great review and I hope you have the chance to get back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The best tostada I have ever had. Service was great, and they had the best margaritas on the island. A must!

Thank leighfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk H, Owner at Gringos Cantina Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

I've passed your comments on to the kitchen and the bartenders, thanks for the good write-up most appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gringos Cantina Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Gringos Cantina Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing