We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the pool area!”
Review of ibis Samui Bophut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
ibis Samui Bophut
Ranked #47 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved the pool area!”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights. This hotel is set the last hotel down the road to the Fishermans Village, there is no hussle and bustle right outside the hotel and a short walk/taxi is needed to get to somewhere a bit livelier, so bear that in mind!. I enjoyed the pool and its lovely sea view, however the sun beds are probably the most uncomfortable I have ever sat/lay in!. The pool/beach bar is in a lovely spot to sit and relax, the food is very slow to come out though, so give yourself plenty of time! You do get free wifi around the pool/beach bar though so I didnt mind so much!. In the hotel you have to pay for wifi and the internet, my boyfriend brought a couple of days wifi but that was before we knew about the pool/beach bar. I would suggest waiting to see if you really need to purchase any from the hotel. The walk to Fishermans Village is about 10/15 mins leisurely stroll, we would stroll down and get a taxi back (depending on the time!) Fishermans village is lovely, nice restaurants and beach front bars. We actually spent New Years Eve in the Billabong pub and watched Fireworks on the beach. I would recommend to stay here, but not sure If I could stay here too long, mainly because of the sunbeds to be honest!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay at ibis Samui Bophut.
We are sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay and will convey your comment to the hotel management for improvement.
We hope to welcome you back again at ibis Samui Bophut for your valueble holiday!

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    687
    246
    73
    36
See reviews for
339
592
127
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

With Ibis you know what you get, clean, but compact rooms, good services. We stayed only for 4 nights.The hotel was on the beach with a very nice swimming pool area. Beach was picturesque and clean. Close to the airport, but you can not hear or see airplanes. It was nearby busy main road, which was did difficult to cross, however the rooms were on the other site than the street, so you could not hear the noise in your room. The only criticism is that WiFi was not for free. Breakfast was wide-ranging and fresh, price 250 Bht. Allover, enjoyable stay after long flight from Europe.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tereza16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comment.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Samui Bophut.
For the internet access, we would like to recommend you to try our complimentary Wi-Fi internet service at the lobby and pool area.
We are looking forward to welcoming you to any of ibis hotels throughout Thailand. ( Bangkok, Pattaya, Hua Hin and Phuket)

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

ibis hotel bophut ko samui i love you how unpretentious you are With some reservations about swapping our hotel in lamaI BECCAUSE OF THE 350 STEPS TO THE BEACH AND ALSO BEING a bit of an hotel snob hy mind was changed completely what a woderfully run hotel housing very friendly guests a very hssle free time with great people ok the rooms may be on the small side but that did not bother me THE social aspect was great and the location gentle and hassle free3 if we had known we would have stayed longer we did an island tour and ate at many wonderful restuarants the jasmine being our favourite owned by an irishman who had an italian chef fishermans village was magnificent with a big market every friday chaweng was a stonesthrw away

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room and you can see all the islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thank you for your feedback and review to our hotel. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us.

As your comment on our facilities, service and location, please note that all ibis hotels aim at providing great services, great location at best value. We will forward your compliment to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communication Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

First of all I have to say that the staff at this Ibis are wonderful and went out of their way to be helpful and make our stay an excellent experience.

The hotel itself is a good example of an Ibis with fairly small but complete rooms (cupboard with rail to hang clothes; safe; bar fridge with two bottles of complimentary drinking water every day; LCD TV with several dozen global channels; etc. The room was clean and housekeeping was excellent, they did not disturb when we had the "do not disturb" sign on the door and the room was kept spotless.

Reviewing an Ibis is a bit of a comparison exercise as there are so many of them worldwide and I have stayed at Ibis hotels on four continents so far. This one compares well in most respects, but there are a few shortcomings in my opinion which are the following:

- Poor in-room sound proofing. Door insulation of the room doors is almost non-existent. Anything that goes on outside is heard almost as if there were no door. This is due to the corridors being tiled rather than carpeted, and the doors lacking sound proofing of any kind. I am against usage of carpet in the tropics so not complaining about the lack of carpeting, but the doors should have been of a noise-insulating type. This being Samui and a party island, inebriated guests come home at all hours of the morning and we had a number of them talk loudly in the corridors several times each night well after midnight. Guys flip-flop and girls high-heel through the corridors and this also makes noise at 3 or 4am. We found that by turning on the air-con the noise could be mostly replaced by the "white noise" of the rushing air and we could sleep OK unless the noise was right in front of our door, but if for any reason you don't want to run the air-con during the night you better bring good earplugs. Noise from next-door neighbours by the way is not as audible - the walls appear to be fairly thick.
- Remote location. The hotel is situated along a busy main road (but built in such a way that road noise will not reach the rooms). However there is pretty much nothing to do in the area. There's a 7-Eleven type store nearby and that's about it. So unless you like to limit your activities to roasting or reading on the hotel's own (smallish but adequate) beach, you need to either rent a motorbike, take a taxi (300 baht to Chaweng, the town where all the action is), or take the hotel shuttle to Chaweng (at 6pm and 7pm, with a 10pm return; 50 baht per person; 10pm is when the action starts in Chaweng by the way).
- Paid internet. Accor has a worldwide policy of charging as much as they can for Internet access and whilst this hotel has free wifi at the bar, in-room internet is charged for at for Thailand high rates (most hotels in Thailand offer free wifi in my experience). I never like surcharges and charging for internet separately is like charging for power and water usage separately and still a big negative for me. Accor should know better by now.
- No lift. Not an issue for us as we were not travelling with heavy luggage and have no trouble climbing stairs, but can be a problem for some people (presumably there are ground-floor rooms available).

To get to the hotel from the airport there's the option of taking a taxi for 500 baht, a shuttle for 120 baht per person, or apparently the hotel also offers its own airport transfer service for 400 baht (someone else wrote about that, I did not check). The hotel will call a taxi or shuttle for the return trip to the airport upon request.

Overall a good hotel with excellent staff, but the shortcomings stated means that I will probably not return to this hotel, particularly given the wide choice of good accommodations available in Samui.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We have just returned from a two week stay at this very surprising Hotel. It may be three star but it has everything you could want. The staff are wonderful very attentive and just lovely.
The rooms are small but everything you need is there, and they are kept spotless.
We wanted a quiet holiday and this is a perfect location, a short walk takes you to Fishermans Village where you have everything, wonderful resturaunts and Bars and local stalls selling everything.The weather was a bit disappointing compared to our last visit over the same period very windy and overcast. I would recomend this Hotel if you were to visit Ko Samui. Bophut is a great location.I would definately return to this hotel because we were made so welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea View as it is on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorna070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
We appreciate that you enjoyed your holiday as well as had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for your compliment on our hotel, location and staff. We will surely convey your message to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back here at ibis Samui Bophut soon! :)

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communication Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.4 km away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.9 km away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
6.7 km away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
8.0 km away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#23 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.7 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#17 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Samui Bophut? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Samui Bophut

Property: ibis Samui Bophut
Address: 197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#34 Family Hotel in Bophut
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#55 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,261 - ₹ 5,168
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Samui Bophut 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, bold and trendy, with an idyllic beachfront location and views, ibis Bophut Samui has it all.250 modern rooms, each with WiFi. 24 hour reception. Food and drink, day and night.Ten minutes from the airport and five from the pier, the hotel is packed with things to do.Sunbath on the beach, sip a cocktail at the pool bar, spoil yourself with a massage or explore the authentic fishing village nearby on a bike...The first international three star hotel in Bophut Beach, ibis Bophut Samui, is a refreshing island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Samui Bophut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bophut Samui Hotel Bophut
Ibis Samui Bophut Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing