We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here for the name and that's it”
Review of Hard Rock Cafe

Hard Rock Cafe
Ranked #186 of 700 Restaurants in Bophut
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 50
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Pro
-Huge american style food
-Nice presentation
-Good lounge to hang out

Con
-I think this one kinda lost in the mix, i didn't know they play pop music at some point too?
-Over price for what it is, would pay that for the name but not for the food itself
-Staffs are not really taking care of you as much even for an empty lounge and when there was just couple of tables
-Pretty disappointed comparing to another Hard Rock i've been so far

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Saliesha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matty c, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

HI Saliesha2013,

Thank you for your visit and review of Hard Rock Cafe Koh Samui.

Our music is from an automated system, But request can be made during your visit, As Hard Rock is about all music not just Rock.
Sorry you found us a bit expensive, Being located on an island increases our costs. How ever we should still be serving great food, I will share your comments with the Kitchen Manager to ensure we are following recipes.
Sorry that the staff were not attentive I will share your comments as you mentioned the cafe was not busy to this should have not happened.

Matt
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2018

Food was decent, but very expensive. This was our most expensive meal on the islands, but far from the best one. Service was decent and food was decent as well. Our kids ate it with-out a fight, but quite pricey. Better value to be had elsewhere.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travellinbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matty c, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

HI Bryan,

Thank you for your visit and review of Hard Rock Cafe Koh Samui.

Sorry you found our prices high, We are an American franchise serving American portions, Hence our prices are higher than other restaurants, Also being located on the island increases our costs.

Hoep to see you back again

Matt
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

This experience was disappointing and should have realised when arriving and was empty. Given it's a major international chain of restaurants we assumed the quality of food would be worth the expensive menu ... not to be. We dined with 2 families with young children.
It's a simple menu (which can be good some times) and in the end opted the nacho's and seasonal vegetables. Nacho's had the tiniest amounts of salsa, guacamole, cheese and sour cream and had to ask for more twice!! It was simply a plate of corn chips. The seasonal vegetables was a medium size head of broccoli.
Others ordered other dishes and the only dish that looked good was the ribs.
Such a great expansive venue not being utilised to it's potential .. big improvements needed.
Note: service was good.
Drinks: too expensive.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rachellilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matty c, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

HI Rachellilee,

Thank you for your visit and review of Hard Rock Cafe Koh Samui,

Sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Hard Rock Cafe, I will follow up on your comments to the chef, in regards to the Nachos, We follow international recipes thus the nachos should be the same everywhere, Our daily veg should have been 3 choices but on your day of visit we had only received Broccoli, I have insured this does not happen again.

This month is our lowest season here in Koh Samui, Which is why the restaurant was not as busy as normal.
Thank you for the comments on the service i will share these with the team

Matt
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

The food, drink and staff quality are second to none, and as expected from Hard Rock cafe. But this one has some issues:

1. Massively over priced for Koh Samui. Lots of places are offering the same food and drink in interesting surroundings for half of the price

2. Lacks the rock memorabilia that you come to expect... very limited amount at this one

3. They advertise live music from 8pm every night. There was no live music. A great looking empty stage though ...

Unless you have to go in, give this one a swerve

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Neildyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matty c, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi Neildyke,

Thank you for your visit and review of Hard Rock Cafe Koh Samui.

Thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to staff and food, I will share these with the team.

Sorry that you found us over priced, We are slightly higher than other restaurants in the area, This is du to serving premium products and using mostly imported Items. We also serve American size portions which are larger than other restaurants.

Sorry you also found our memo lacking , we have a collection of varied artists, around our walls. These are usually changed every 5 years.

Currently we do not have any live music, We have removed all online advertising in regards to this. We are planning to have monthly live music events in the near future, Please like our facebook page to stay updated.

Matt
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here & after visiting many Hard Rocks, we were impressed at the outdoor setting but it seemed as if something was missing compared to other established locations. Maybe it was the lack of a band on the huge stage, or the fact that we couldn't see the music videos for the HRC channel.

Food was great and the worldwide menu was available. I think the main reason tge place was a bit quiet was the price. Come on guys, this is Ko Samui & one of the most expensive HRC's I have been to (out of over 25). Drop your prices, get people in & the place will be rocking!

The service staff were fantastic here, full of fun, energy & enthusiasm. Definately the best point of the evening.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank bobbird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matty c, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Hi Bob,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review and thank you for your visit to Hard Rock Cafe Koh Samui.

Sorry that we currently do not have any live music, I am currently working on upgrading the outside area and adding a screen while we do no have a live music program.

In regards to the prices sorry you found us a bit high, due to being an island location our prices are slightly higher than on the main land. However we have taken note on your comments and are in the process of adjusting our menu and pricing,

Thanks for the comments on the staff, i will share your comment with them.

Enjoy the rest of your holiday

Matt
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hard Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing