We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An oasis of serenity and charm”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John S
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An oasis of serenity and charm”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

From the first moment we walked drove up the pathway and were met by the owner, we could feel that we made an excellent choice. The villa is set amidst mature fruit gardens and palm trees and one can enjoy fruits in season. There is also total privacy. The view from the terraces and pool area, as well as from all the windows of the house are stunning, especially the sunsets. It is like having a different tapestry every evening.
The owner has certainly made sure that the finishes and furnishings of the villa are of the highest standard. There is everything you need to enjoy a comfortable stay. Also delightful to cook meals and enjoy these outdoors on the terrace - with fresh ingredients from the markets in the surrounding villages it is impossible not to be tempted to use the fully stocked kitchen and BBQ shed! We always looked forward to returning to the comfort and serenity of the villa after a day out. When our holiday was over, we found it difficult to leave and want to return as soon as possible. Tebaida do Massapez exceeded our expectations and it was so enjoyable to be inside this oasis of serenity and charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that the villa surpassed the expectations we had from the photos.
Liked least: Everything was good.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Dear Mr John Saliba, Thank you for such a wonderful review!. Thank you for expressing your satisfaction with the Villa high standards and all it's surrounding amenities and friendly neighbours. We are very happy that you were able to relax instantly on arrival as we strive to offer all our guests a stress free holiday. Madeira has an amazingly captivating scenery with fantastic exploring opportunities. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry S
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great villa”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely quite location, Fantastic Ocean views with amazing sunsets and moonscapes.

Great pool and pool area, nice gardens and plenty of eating places in nearby villages, supermarket within easy reach by car but you must be a confident driver.

Villa is very spacious and well equipped and great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: The open garage into the house, some poor wiring, cracked or damaged tiles around the pool and a hard mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mjrobert
1 review
“Awesome place, a great escape.”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We (myself and 2 friends) stayed here just after New Year after having Funchal as a base. We chose Thebaida do Massapez from its great reviews, photos and the view that it apparently had. It has all of those, plus, Emanuel was a great host!

We absolutely loved the setting of the house within the sloping garden and the pool, which we did try despite being absolutely freezing!

If you visit in the winter then you will be glad to know that a massive supply of logs can be found in the out-building. We have fond memories of sitting in the lounge with the fire burning and attempting to get the grill going outside. The house itself is great and well-appointed, beds comfortable and all bathrooms looked like they were newly installed.

This house was a good choice. I hope you enjoy it too, whether you are a family or a small group friends looking for a quieter getaway! Thanks Emanuel!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for a great review, it is always a pleasure for us at the end of each stay to know that our guests have received the level of enjoyment, satisfaction and care that we always endeavour to deliver. I am so delighted that you have all enjoyed your stay at Villa "Thebaida do Massapez" and that you have fallen in love with Madeira.
We do always strive to offer all our guests a wonderful and relaxing holiday, I am very happy that it has made a big impact on your holiday as we get an enormous pleasure knowing that guests leave Madeira with great memories and looking forward to returning to the Villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo m
1 review
“Fantastic location, lovely house, garden and pool, rural and peaceful”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Emanuel was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The house is located in a very quiet, peaceful and rural location. The neighbours are far away and the nearest shop is a few kilometres drive away. Very lovely gardens with views over the ocean which are great, the outdoor cooking hut was an amazing feature, and the pool and large terrace were lovely. The house is clean and tidy and there are ensuite bathrooms which is a bonus. We had a lovely relaxing week here, all you can hear are the birds and the occasional goat. The roads to the house are very steep and we would recommend hiring a car with a large engine, our little car struggled a lot with the roads.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you for expressing your satisfaction with the Villa high standards and all it's surrounding amenities, the birds, the goats and sometimes the frogs and the crickets. We are very happy that you were able to relax instantly. We strive to offer all our guests a stress free holiday and with lots of fun. Madeira has an amazingly captivating scenery with fantastic exploring opportunities. About the car. I always recomend a diesel car. Is the best. We look forward to welcome you back in the future. I wish you all the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish S
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Setting”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

T & T Squires 27th Feb-6th Mar.
Our week here was memorable for several reasons, firstly because it was our first time in madiera and then to have found "thebaida do massapez " to spend the week in was a bonus, the house has everything you need for a holiday, both in household facilities and scenery, the view of the ocean from the terrace is stunning and the sunsets breathtaking. the owner is very welcoming and the fruit garden we found fascinating, so many unusual fruits to try.
A very nice well kept house in a good location.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
Dear Mr and Mrs Squires
Thank you very much for such a nice review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed Madeira and your stay at Villa "Thebaida do Massapez", I am glad you were very satisfied with our services and that we helped you enjoy and making it a memorable holiday on such a special occasion. I hope to see you here back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing