We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The highlight of our time in Australia!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edge Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The highlight of our time in Australia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had the amazing good fortune to stay at Galvin's for 5 nights during our recent 3 week trip to Australia. Our time in this delightful, magical B&B was, without a doubt the best part of our trip. Beautifully appointed, wonderful beds, quiet, peaceful, spectacular pool, perfect breakfasts and AMAZING hosts! While there is much to see in Cairns, we chose to spend 2 of our days lounging by the pool, reading, napping - and soaking up the experience. We have stayed in many B&Bs... this one rose quickly to the top of our list! We will return there whenever we can!

Room Tip: Both rooms are perfect! Take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabingirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
We enjoyed so much having you stay and getting to know that three of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
GURGAON, INDIA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stay at Galvin edge was the best part of our Trip to Australia. We stayed at Cairns for a week.The place is very beautiful and extremely well managed. The hosts, Jesse and Julie, went out of their way to make us comfortable.

The house is located in a very peaceful and enchanting place.

Room Tip: The entire ground floor with two rooms are yours, with a library in the living room, a television, r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwood, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
238 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in mid-Nov, 2011, and it was just great. Our party of 3 was so comfortable in the 2 bedroom w/kitchen and living room. Felt like we were in the most exotic place. Step outside to the patio and in front of us was the pool with lush plantings all around. So relaxing after a day of touring. And they light it at night too. Jesse & Julie were wonderful & helpful. They made excursion arrangements and even drove us to them. Added plusses: washer & dryer (so useful!) and outside shower (so fun). Oh and let's not forget Lucy, their most wonderful dog. Felt just like being at home. We'd stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC82010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had 3 nights at Galvin's at the end of a 3 week holiday covering the Queensland coast and can only endorse what others have said before. This is a beautiful apartment in a lovely house in a peaceful, leafy suburb of Cairns. Good local facilities, close to the airport and an easy drive into town or the north Cairns beaches. The garden is very relaxing with a stunning pool, tropical plants and trees, and plenty of birdlife. The breakfast fruit platter was almost too good to be true. There are enough books to fill a library - we never had time to turn the TV on ! Julie is a perfect host, friendly and helpful yet allowing guests to have their own privacy. If we come back to Cairns we will not need to look elsewhere for top quality accommodation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The apartment has two doubles - choose when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roebuck47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay . You certainly made the most of your time here and the perfect weather! Hope the rest of your travels go smoothly and that there are still a few leaves on the trees when you arrive home. Julie and Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed here for three nights, in September 2011, and found it a very relaxing, convenient place to stay. Since my flight from the States did not arrive until 11:20 PM, and I then had to pick up my luggage and also my rental car, I was worried about arriving for the first time after midnight. That was no problem; Julie, the very capable and friendly lady of the house, arranged for me to enter without waking the family. The guest accommodations are on the lower floor; there are two bedrooms, a living area, kitchen and bathroom. There is a separate entrance for the lower level which is very convenient.

The bed was very comfortable, the shower fast and powerful, and the breakfast, with fresh fruits, cereals, bread, tea and coffee, and juice was quite nourishing and satisfying. The rear garden is most attractive, with lush tropical vegetation and a large pool. I enjoyed meeting and talking with both Julie and her husband, Jessie.

Cairns has become one of my favorite destinations in the world; I have been there on four occasions and have been fortunate to find two excellent B&Bs - both across the street from each other!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edge Hill
2.4 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.1 km away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
3.6 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
3.9 km away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.8 km away
Kookas Bed & Breakfast
Kookas Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Edge Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 61 Walsh St, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,886 - ₹ 6,840
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cairns’ oldest & finest Queenslanders, located in quiet, leafy Edge Hill, five minutes drive from downtown and the airport. Relax in your own private two-bedroom apartment (we only take one booking at a time so there’s no need to share). Enjoy our magnificent swimming pool and gardens. Three minutes walk and you’re in the village of Edge Hill with restaurants, local shops, the Botanic Gardens, rain forest walks, and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing