We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasantly surprised”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunset 31

View of the balcony from the master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the balcony from the master bedroom
East view from the balcony Crystal clean waters  in our pool...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
View of the balcony from the master bedroom
East view from the balcony
Crystal clean waters  in our pool...
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom View
Sunset in Crete (View from the balcony)
The Pool (20 metres long)
The kitchen
Sunset31 as seen from the pool.
Communal Pool with Loungers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy A
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The apartment is very well decorated and furnished. The finishing touches are wonderful. Lots of hooks in the bathroom and on the back of doors. Lots of space for clothes, great quality bedding, very comfortable beds. The apartment comes with aircon, however, on a cooler night it is always nice to sleep with the windows open and we were delighted to find there were fly screens on all the doors and windows. The patio is shaded with bamboo which allows just enough sunlight through to get a tan without getting fried. Don't usually do washing on holiday, however, after an accident with a pair of trousers, it was lovely to have a washing machine which is also a drier had we needed it. We are having a wonderful stay and cannot recommend this apartment highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality and space and location
Liked least: Handrails on the steps up to the apartment would have been useful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for noticing and appreciating the details! We are doing our best and when it is acknowledged it gives as great joy and will to continue. We are very happy that you enjoyed the place, hope to consider visiting Greece again some time in the future.
Warm regards, A and V.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunqueen7...
Watford, Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely relaxing holiday. The accommodation was great and we loved the village of Panormos. Everyone was very friendly and welcomed us back on our second visit like old friends

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
We are happy to hear you had a nice time! Thank you for your kind review! Warm regards, A nad V.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie O
1 review
“The perfect, relaxing Greek holiday.”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Myself & two friends planned a holiday to Crete for the last few years. We decided on this apartment Sunset 31 and it was everything we had hoped for. The apartment was comfortable, clean and well maintained. We loved sitting out on the balcony watching the sunset before we headed to Panormos to the many beautiful Taverna's. The locals were all friendly and helpful. A trip to Rethymno & Chania is a must and when we return we plan to travel more. The pool was well maintained and very quite. As we arrived late we were very glad of the tea, coffee & wine that Mary had left for us! A really fantastic holiday and hope to be back.
Caitriona, Cathy & Brid - Galway, Ireland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in Panormo and in Sunset31. We will keep doing our best to keep our guests happy. Looking forward to seing you again in lovely Crete! Enjoy your rest of the summer. Warm regards, Vagelis and Agapi.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaiderIVV
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect little gem..... don't tell anyone”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Hi everyone,

I thought I should put pen to paper over our most recent holiday to Crete in September 2014. I almost didn't as this is a genuine beautiful & tranquil location which perhaps should be hidden from the masses ! That said there are plenty of disappointing venues out there BUT this isn't one of them so I decided to share this amazing location with you.

Like most people we hunted high & low to try and find the perfect spot having been let by the big tour operators previously. So first of all thank you TripAdvisor as without you we might well have missed this little gem !

The description and the pictures on TripAdvisor looked lovely and as a result we went ahead and booked it for 10 nights. The whole process of booking was simple and took only moments to complete.

The owners a Greek couple are lovely and contact you well in advance of going to ensure that you know where you are going & provide you with contact details for their local representative 'Mary' who guides you through the rest which is simple & straightforward.

Upon our arrival in Greece as requested I phoned Mary who informed me that the apartment was ready for our arrival & as a bonus she had purchased a bottle of wine, a box of 12 eggs, some fresh bread & butter so we wouldn't go lacking. A very courteous, friendly and welcoming start to our holiday so 'thank you Mary' from us as we never expected that.

We arrived at the apartment and in a nutshell our breath was blown away. It's located on the western edge of Panormos but in reality less than 10 minutes from the town centre. It is situated on a small but modern estate directly overlooking the sea. On one side the only neighbours you have are sheep so if noise is your worry this is perfect for you as there is none ! On the other side there are just a few other apartments which during stay were either empty or so quiet you wouldn't even know they were there.

So is the apartment as good as it looks on the photos ? The actual answer is 'no' because in reality it is even better ! The photos don't do it justice. The kitchen is brand new and fully equipped with a huge fridge/freezer, microwave, oven & more utensils/pots & pans than you could ever need. The lounge is amazing with a huge tv, dvd, surround sound, playstation 2 & Nintendo Wee as well as a large and comfy sofa. Both bedrooms are a good size with more storage space than you could shake a stick & on a separate note the beds are really very comfortable ! There are plenty of extra beach towels, bathroom towels and anything else you can think included as standard.

The entire apartment has aircon which when it is well over 30 degrees a day is a really nice touch & unlike package holidays it's included without extra charge. That in itself in addition to every other lovely feature sold it to us.

The best bit and I am sure the owners would agree is the balcony overlooking the sea. There are actually 3 balconies but the one off the lounge is what it's all about. It measures about 12' by 8' so is very spacious. The view can only be described as panoramic with an unbroken 180 degree of the Mediterranean which is breath taking. I took a few photos myself & whilst no expert on these things I think you'll get the general idea.

The pool is located very close to the apartment. It is 1.70m deep at the deep end so not too deep for children. Whilst we were there on average 2 other couples at best were pool side so it did feel as if we had the whole place to ourselves. No noise, very quiet & ideal for those who just want to enjoy they sun and relax. The entire pool area gets sun from about 0800 to 1800hrs everyday so utilise the umbrellas provided as it does get very hot !

All in all an amazing place to stay !

So if you have got this far the questions I should answer are would I go again ? and what would I change....... The answers to which are:

Would I go again ? ......... YES without a doubt
What would I change ?....NOTHING

If you want to know more about the local area read my other reviews of the attractions etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony view off the lounge
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Thank you for putting a smile on our face and for sharing our enthusiasm for our little gem! This was an incredible review and it makes us really happy to hear that our guests enjoy their stay so much!
Warm regards,
A and V
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice L
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Sunset 31 is gorgeous. Comfortable well kitted out, clean, spacious ....wish it was mine. All we can hear are sheep, cicadas and the sea. We have explored a bit, visiting areas to the East as I used to work there and to Chamia. I have been shocked at how things have changed, but Panormos is unspoilt, friendly, quiet and beautiful. We would love to come again. Thanks to Mary as well who does a great job.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for this review! We also hope to have you back again soon...
Take care!
Agapi and Vagelis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing