We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommend - perfect location and very well...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pen Y Morfa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St. Mawgan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma B
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommend - perfect location and very well equipped”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this lovely house for our weeks break with our 2 children (6 & 2) and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The house was so well equipped with everything you needed and toys / books for the children too, they were both spoilt for choice. The children's bedroom window overlooked a field of sheep, lambs and cows which they absolutely adored looking out over. We were greeted with a scrummy bottle of red which after almost 5 hrs in the car was very welcomed. The house is modern, clean and warm. It was in a perfect location for stunningly beautiful beaches and heaps of sightseeing adventures. A visit to the local village pub is highly recommended, the food was very impressive and a good choice for children too. I would also recommend a local beach called Booby's Bay, which is signposted Constantine, make sure you check out the low tide times before you go, as it is full of rock pools when the tide is out and we managed to fill our bucket with all different types of living creatures, the children loved it. Padstow was a fabulous stop, we took a speed boat ride which was reasonably priced and also did some crab fishing which was rather exciting. There are a fantastic selection of leaflets next to the DVDs under the telly, which will give you a good idea of where to visit. One evening we brought a yummy Indian takeaway from Newquay and brought it back to the house, we left a menu there for any future curry lovers staying at the house, they do deliver for a small charge, be warned the portion sizes are rather large. We have all had a fabulous holiday in Cornwall and will definitely be back and will stay here again too as it was perfect for what we needed and perfect location. Please don't let the fact it's near the airport put you off as we didn't hear one plane and you don't notice it's even there.

The Bennetts :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thanks so much for your review and for taking the time to leave suggestions for future guests. We'll certainly try out Boobys bay when we're next down!

Phil & Frankie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pen Y Morfa has everything you could wish for with Phil and Frankie covering everything to make our stay idylic”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The holiday home is perfectly situated as a good base for exploring Cornwall. Although I feel a car is essential, there is a good bus service if you don't want to travel too far afield. Phil and Frankie have most things covered but are only a phone call or e-mail away and respond promptly to any queries raised. There are 2 pubs within walking distance, but beware, the walk back up the hill if you decide to frequent The Falcon! Both pubs seemed popular for food, although we didn't eat in either! Both are friendly and have a real local feeling - both are great in their own unique way. We took my parents to stay for a week and were all impressed with the attention to detail that had been catered for. We all agree that we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend it to anyone who was thinking of staying here

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughtfulness of attention to detail
Liked least: The walk back up the hill from the pub within the village after a couple of beers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenlj77
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent 5 days in the house last week and have to say it was perfect for us.

The house has virtually everything you can think of needing, including a folder with information on things to do in Cornwall. It's clear to see that Phil and Frankie have gone to plenty of effort to make this an ideal holiday home, especially for those with children.

It was a great few days away and we'd definitely rent the house out again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxy27
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay and great for all ages”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just got back from 4 nights stay at Pen-y-morfa. We had a fantastic time. The house is very clean, comfortable and everything has been thought of. Phil was very helpful and replied very quickly. I would recommend this place to anyone as it fits for a couple as well as a family with small children and pets. St Mawgan is a great place to stay as it is close to beaches, Newquay town and other days out but is also slightly out of the tourist chaos that comes with summer months in Cornwall. This property far exceeded our expectations. Thank you very much.
p.s. Don't forget to treat yourself to a cream tea at the St Mawgan Tea rooms just a few minutes walk from the house!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Really glad you enjoyed your stay, and discovered the village cream teas! Thanks for leaving a review and we hope to welcome you back again some time soon.

Phil & Frankie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew h
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Owner was very thoughtful and furnished the place exceptionally well which made it a home away from home. Attention to detail was spot on and anyone staying here would be well pleased with what they've chosen.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thanks so much for the review and compliments on the house. We're really glad you enjoyed it and hope to welcome you again sometime.

Thanks,

Phil & Frankie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing