We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay and very friendly owners”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lobbs cottage

2 storey 'upside down' house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2 storey 'upside down' house
Lobbs Cottage rear view Gabled ceiling Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
2 storey 'upside down' house
Lobbs Cottage rear view
Gabled ceiling Lounge
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Double bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Double bedroom
Mawgan Porth  Bay 5 minutes drive
Mawgan Porth Beach
Padstow 15 minutes drive
View from lane
The lane outside Lobbs
St Mawgan church
St Mawgan tea room
St Mawgan Village store
St Mawgan tea room
Lobbs rear view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St. Mawgan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J0Fln
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay and very friendly owners”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was a second time we have stayed at Lobbs cottage following an amazing weekend we have had in January. This time we came back with our toddler as the cottage was perfect to cater for children. There is absolutely everything you may need during the stay, and Cameron and Julie were always at hand to help with directions or anything else we may needed. We will definitely be coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review so soon after your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves the first time to want to re visit and even more pleased you intend to come again.
We look forward to seeing you soon
Cameron and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian m
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this last minute as a break away with the children during half term
The cottage is perfectly located and is beautifully decorated from top to bottom.
The wifi also worked which is a major factor with teenagers!
We couldn't fault anything and the hosts were on hand if we did need anything.
I would thoroughly recommend if you want a break away in peace and quiet, but near to beaches and all other activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay...you certainly made the most of your time here.
We would love to have you back in the future
Cameron and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie2354
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another blissful week at Lobbs Cottage”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We returned to Lobbs cottage in October, having spent a wonderful week there for my 60th birthday last year. This time it was to celebrate our son's birthday and again we had a lovely time. Lobbs Cottage in the lovely village of St Mawgan is a very peaceful place to stay and we particularly enjoyed being in Cornwall during the Autumn time - our first ever!
The cottage is beautifully furnished and has a cosy feel, whatever the weather. Perhaps being a little bit picky, a couple of refinements of equipment/utensils in the kitchen would make preparation of food a bit easier when staying in to cook, but having said that, the kitchen is smart, spacious and comfortable.
Lobbs is well situated for getting to places such as Port Isaac and Boscastle on the north coast, as well as places such as Falmouth and St Ives further south. Equally not far away is the Eden Project near to St Austell, however we didn't manage to get there this time.
Just on your doorstep though is a wonderful walk you can do through woods to the bay of Mawgan Porth - fabulous in the sunshine if you're lucky and we were. The glorious Mawgan Porth beach at the end is a welcome treat too. Pop into the Off the Beach cafe for a coffee - it doesn't look much from the outside but they do a good cappuccino and their carrot cake is divine!
Lobbs is also in a great location for visiting Jamie's Fifteen at Watergate Bay and Rick's Seafood Restaurant at Padstow, both of which we experienced this year, to push the boat out, as it were! We did also visit the Offshore restaurant at Cubert, near Newquay, which was recommended by a friend and it was well worth the visit. Lovely food in a great location, especially if you were to visit in the summer when the days are longer because this place has fab views...
All in all we had another wonderful week and we do hope to visit Lobbs Cottage again, as it really does feel like home from home with an abundance of beautiful places to visit from your doorstep. Roll on next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is lovely and has a nice feel to it in a lovely location.
Liked least: The lack of kitchen utensils for easy preparation of food.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Hi Susie thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It was lovely to have you back and look forward to meeting you again.
Kind regards
Cameron and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAMIE L
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful! Can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely beautiful little home! Cameron and Julie were really nice! The house was beautiful, we couldn't help ourselves we had to stick on the log fire. We only stayed for a couple of days, just a small get away from home. The cottage is beautiful and very comfortable, it had everything we needed and more (Including Wifi!). The location was brilliant, just a 15 minute drive to Newquay. Couldn't ask for any more. Had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back some time in the near future. Thank you Cameron and Julie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: That we had to leave..
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
Hi Jamie thank you for taking the time to review Lobbs Cottage. You were a lovely group and do hope you visit again in the not so distant future.
Kind regards
Cameron and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well equipped cottage within easy reach of good beaches”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage was beautifully furnished and well equipped. Although the weather was really good, we couldn't resist lighting the fabulous log burner - our excuse was the September evenings were a bit chilly! Local amenities are only a short (but steep!) walk away. This cottage is a great base to explore both the Newquay and Padstow areas. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you for leaving your review so quickly. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and made use of the log burner. Hope to see you again.
Regards
Cameron and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing