We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar food good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southwell
ashby de la zouch
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Bar food good”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

three of us called in without a reservation and ordered bar food from this quiet bar area. the service was ok and the food arrived promptly. we all had steaks and they were cooked very well with onion rings and a 'stack' of chunky chips. No complaints apart from the fact that it took well over five minutes for them to bring English mustard after reminding them to bring it.
The mustard was poor and not upto the standard of the rest of the meal

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    147
    55
    35
    16
See reviews for
68
183
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stopped at the Saracens Hotel overnight whilst attending a wedding at Norwood Park. The hotel in general is very good,with a central location,nice menu for food and pleasent,helpful staff. But...and this a big but....the room we stopped in (No 15) was terrible!! Even though we booked the room 6 months in advance we were given in my honest opinion the worst room I have ever stopped in.
The 'ensuite' bathroom is across a corridor from the bedroom,the corridor is for the hotel fire escape. Such a weird set up. I wasn't sure if we had to keep the corridor door locked or not. The bedroom was ok...if you dont mind the hum of the extractor/air con fan all day.The radiators couldnt be turned down as the knobs on the rads had been removed,
The cleaniness of the bathroom was something of an issue,toothpaste all in the wash basin and some kind of 'hair' in the bath...to give the hotel credit,once the two issues above were reported,they were both sorted out.
The paintwork in the 'ensuite' bathroom is very poor and the was a broken window pane in the bedroom.
Would I stay here again?? Not sure,I usally dont go back to a hotel that Ive had a bad experiance in.
I must confess that the breakfast is very,very good. And the staff very polite and helpful....just that room which is bad!!

Room Tip: NOT room 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bicester, oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here for a trip to Southwell races, and could not have picked a better Hotel. It's very oldy worldy with an incredible collection of clocks! They have a large car park, accessible by following the one-way system left past the Hotel, after approx 100yds is a small lane on the left which takes you to the rear of the Hotel. Our room was plenty big enough with an excellent bathroom. Only minor gripes that the room was very hot and the window wouldnt open, also the tv is in the wrong place! The floors are a bit creaky but only to be expected in a building of this age. We only ate breakfast but the quality and choice of food was superb. The waiting staff provided exceptional friendly and helpful service. Likewise the reception staff were brilliant. On returning to our room we found there was no signal to the tv. The young lady on reception tried re-tuning it, then when that didn't work, brought two (!) replacement tvs to try. Neither of them worked, so she kindly offered us another room, either for the whole night or for just a few hours if we just wanted to watch a couple of tv shows. As it happens, I noticed that the TV aerial had come out of the wall socket! So there was no need to move, just plugged it in and the tv worked. But throughout all this, the lady from reception was the model of professionalism in dealing with us and seeking a solution. The Hotel is ideally situated in the centre of the small town, but NOT within walking distance of the racecourse! This can be reached by booking a cab with 'Broadsword Executive Cars' (their number can be obtained from reception). The car that picked us up was an immaculate black Merc with no taxi markings! The driver was chatty and friendly and, incredibly, when he dropped us off at the course, refused payment, insisting we just pay him when he collected us after racing! I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Southwell. *****

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed for 3 days over the Valentines Day period and paid £50 per night including breakfast.
This Hotel is an absolute delight situated in the centre of Southwell. The room was comfortable albeit the creaky floorboards take some getting used to. The staff were all very courteous and helpful. We ate on two evenings at the set price menu and found the food to be well presented and of a very high standard plus top class service from the Head Waiter, Peter. Lounge area very comfortable and quaint. A must hotel for any antique clock enthusiast!! Well situated for Nottingham, Lincoln and Newark and we would definately stay at this hotel again if in area. As an afterthought I do find some of the comments about this hotel somewhat baffling!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stumpy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We booked for afternoon tea, which was really nice.

The lounge area is very pleasant, the staff were attentive and helpful.

The food itself was well presented, with a good selection to suit everyone's needs.

We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwell
10.0 km away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
340 reviews
9.3 km away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
190 reviews
10.5 km away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
10.2 km away
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
#1 of 1 in North Muskham
142 reviews
0.3 km away
The Reindeer Inn
The Reindeer Inn
#3 of 8 in Southwell
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracens Head Hotel

Property: Saracens Head Hotel
Address: Market Place | Southwell, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Southwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southwell
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,479 - ₹ 9,604
Hotel Class:3 star — Saracens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing