We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lots of fun and things to see

Watch birds, crocodiles and even fish on the surface. Have a mud bath and relax on the boat. We... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
jpbeus
,
Heppenheim, Germany
via mobile
Birding, fishing and exploring Nature

We just spent a terrific 24-hours with Diego Nuñez and his daughter, Andrea exploring the rich... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
LucindaY_13
,
Santa Fe, New Mexico
via mobile
Read all 452 reviews
  
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
353
66
16
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
66
16
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mud bath boat tour diego nunez birds and animals wood storks flamingo tour maya restaurant wonderful morning nature preserve bird watching three hours great guide pink flamingos great birds small boat salt flats bird tour
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We bookend the deluxed tour to the flamingo's, which gives you more time to watch the flamingo's. There are plenty, but it is nice to watch them for some time. Our guide gave us a lot of information and was respectful of nature.
Nice combination with the mud bath and the salt lakes. Salt lakes are not pink all the time though, so if you got your mind set on that, better to check with the guides before you book.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We arranged a tour with Diego for 6:30 a.m. We waited 45 minutes, no show. Then a guy showed up and said his alarm didn't go off. He started readying a boat. Neither the boat nor the guide looked very professional. We decided it was too late to start the trip given the extremely hot weather.

Later in an email Diego said his wife had an emergency and he sent a business partner for our tour instead.

We were able to easily arrange tours with another professional guide on the Malecon. His boat was fine and had life jackets. He charged us less than half the price Diego offers on his website. The guide spoke English and Spanish. We did both a sunset tour and a sunrise tour. Very nice, lots of birds and crocodiles. We enjoyed Rio Lagartos!

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank ellefsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Diego Nunez is a top notch fly fisherman, even if I am not. We got to play out a few tarpon, then head into the mangroves when the wind was too strong for fly fishing. We had a 20lb tarpon literally jump into our boat.
The food at the restaurant was amazing to finish the day off. We will definitely be using Diego and his services again in the future, and we highly recommend him.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

A lake where salt is produced, seashore. Water turns pink and it's a great day out although a long drive from Cancun. Great to explore nearby villages and take a tour to see flamingos.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank mariot29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

My husband, sister and I drove up from Puerto Morelos to the town of Rio Lagartos. Be vigilant driving through Tizimin-everyone gets lost due to poor signage and one-way streets. Stayed one night at Ria Maya hotel that is owned by Diego Nuñez who runs Rio Lagartos Adventures. The three of us took the four hour boat tour out onto the lagoon to go birding. The shorebirds are abundant, and we saw spoonbills, flamingos, herons, egrets, and even a few crocodiles. Diego's family runs a very efficient operation. His three new hotel rooms are clean and comfortable
and ver affordable. We also did a land bird tour early our second day. The birds on land are not as plentiful as in the mangrove, but we did see oriole's, cardinals, hummingbirds, hawks and nightingales. Be patient if you try to book by email. Diego is a busy guy and does not reply quickly. But my patience was rewarded with a great birding trip.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Suemccarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews