We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning house with amazing hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property
Right at the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Right at the beach
Beach access straight from home. Swimming pool.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Right at the beach
Beach access straight from home.
Swimming pool.
Dinner set.
Cozy home
Wooden kitchen. Easy, complete, modern. Both see and mountain views. All is brand new.
Hard drive with more than 2000 movies, songs and videos.
Reading corner
The master room is upstairs over Avana Harbour views. it is heaven.
Master room.
Panoramic views from the master room.
The master room wardrobe and toilet clear wall on the staircase side.
Garden room set up with king bed, over the papaya, lemon, orange, fig trees and herbs garden.
Garden room.
Main bathroom.
Double aquarium featured shower.
Main entrance.
Extraordinary dinning table.
Toilet at the master room
Ocean on the left side of Avana Harbour, lagune at the right side, the house is in the middle.
Vaka means boat in Maori. This is ours.
Picture taken from the island in front of the house.
You will see Captain Moko coming back from fishing. Then you now fresh tuna waits for you.
Drone view of the site
Home at the right side, beach at the left side of the pool.
Swimming pool.
The swimming pool area is between the house and the beach.
Double hammock
Semicircled private beach area.
Coral table at our beach.
We are the best holiday rental in Rarotonga!! This is the Air New Zeland Trophy.
Views from home.
Sunset.
Sunrise from home.
Milky way gets iluminated like this just some seconds before sun rises!
Like to fishing a GT?
Our organic bananas, in Kaireva Beach House' garden.
Pineapple growing in pot.
Kaireva Beach House entrance
Location of Kaireva Beach House
Rarotonga.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Muri, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kimberley...
1 review
“Stunning house with amazing hosts.”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Amazing house - spectacular design and amenities. The timber is simply gorgeous.
Great location too!
The hosts were amazing - with beautiful organic produce surrounding the property that they were so willing to educate us about.
They were also so helpful - and were there for us with whatever we needed.
Can't fault in anyway!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2018
Thank you very much Kimberly for this superb review and the other wonderful reviews you were so generous to live in our page and the site of the booker you used. Having you and your family at home was a delicious experience. You all are so gorgeous people!! We are very thank full!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soniarN13...
Taranaki Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Slice of paradise”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a fantastic stay here. Great communication prior to arriving in Rarotonga. Clear instructionals on how to get there from the airport.
The hosts Robert and Susanne are absolutely lovely and go above and beyond to ensure your stay is pleasurable. Eg Robert (Snr) dropped us to the markets, sourced fish, supplied us with fresh fruit and vegetables, and provided a lot of local knowledge when asked. Robert (Jnr) is an absolute draw card and I am sure my children will talk about the coconut scraping and fish feeding for a long time.
The house is stunning and well equipped to cater for all. The children thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful and safe location and spent most of the days in the pool and the lagoon. The host provided a traditional waka that the kids also took out paddling.

We loved our stay in this slice of paradise and really hope to visit them again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2018
Thank you Sonia, so much, for this gorgeous review. If one word worth to describe you as guests that would be happiness. Happiness of having you, a delightful pleasure all of you. Your children are so polite but full of life! Your respect for us and for the house, the way you left everything, the cleaning... Your stay is 5 stars! and we are hugely grateful for that also. Robert Jr is missing your children, pls come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DmitriS12...
1 review
“Fantastic option for a quiet family getaway holiday”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

With our expectations already high, basing on the photos and reviews, it was hard to expect that they would be exceeded. Although they definitely were. Susanna and Robert have a fantastic house, beautifully designed and amazingly clean. Susanna and Robert are great hosts - thoughtful and caring, yet very respectful to guests' privacy. The house has everything one may need and more, including beautiful views over the lagoon. The beach itself is a bit rocky (especially if you are travelling with young kids), but there is a very nice sandy beach a couple of hundred meters down the coast, plus the house has a sea-water pool.

It's worth noting that although the house doesn't have air conditioning, heat wasn't a problem at all (we were visiting in May) as it is very well ventilated.
Also please note that as Cook Islands' only way to connect to the Internet is via a satellite link, internet there is very expensive and you should not expect free wifi to be available anywhere around the island.

To conclude the above, Susanna's house is a fantastic option for a quiet family getaway holiday, and we would never be looking at other options should we come back to Cook Islands in the future.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2018
How to say how much we do appreciate your review, dear Dmitry! It is an exhaustive analysis of the accommodation for what we are extremely grateful. Thank you for being an excellent guest!! And for taking time writing this review in Trip Advisor when you booked from a different booker. You are priceless.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kyleg1495
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lack of privacy/house not as expected”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I was so excited to travel from the States to the Cook Islands and enjoy a peaceful vacation with family in a luxury private home. I thought I would be lounging at our private pool, looking at 360 degrees of beautiful scenery from the balconies, and walking steps out to be on a lovely beach/ocean. Driving up to the house and parking the car, I see a very junky side lot, (huge metal container used for storage but not aesthetically appealing at all, along with other unsightly items) and a completely open bottom floor of the owners' home. While it is stated that the owners live on the ground floor of the home, what was not made clear was that their level is completely open, allowing them to view/hear anything we were doing at all times. As there are no screens or AC, we had to keep all windows and doors open at all times (even at night) to get air flow. I felt that we had no privacy and that we were being watched (and heard) at all times. As well, I felt like I was intruding on them! I would try to enjoy the pool, yet I'd be watching the owner sitting on her computer or sitting and smoking just near the pool. Is smoking eco-friendly? I was also disappointed upon arrival seeing that the beach, although steps away, was completely rocky, on shore and in the water, making it impossible for children (and adults) to swim. This house is located on a lagoon. Lovely in its own right, but not good for lounging/swimming. It was great place to spot eels off the dock though! We left the house every day to go to one of the nearby pristine, white sand, non-rocky beaches and have privacy. The house has no AC, no screens, no mosquito netting over the beds (yet the owner has mosquito netting over their beds!). There are only two fans-one for each bedroom. However, there are no ceiling fans or other fans for the main rooms (where our son slept) and we had to leave the glass doors wide open to give him air flow, which worried me quite a bit during my stay. There is no Wifi (the owners had it-why not offer it for guests for a fee? People do work while on vacation and this is a basic amenity these days.) There are lots of movies available, but most are in Spanish! The towels were a hot commodity. It was hot, humid and we were at a beach every day. We finally got fresh towels mid-week (because I asked.) Again, I find this to be a very basic amenity when staying at a "luxury" home. Charge for other laundry if you must, but towels should be refreshed or there should be plenty available in the house. The pictures you see of the house are lovely, but it's important to provide the full picture.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
You need to read the description listed before booking. From there you can't rate things that are not offered, like the aircon or the ceiling fans; the house in the wonderful environment of Avana Harbour that you never dare to discover or swim (everybody does) as per your posh attitude or free Wi-Fi that doesn't exist in the Cook Islands. We were very disappointed with you and your group not respecting the rules of the house: NO DRUNK BEHAVIOUR. We regreted not to fired you out when we saw all the damages you made. That is why we charged you the Damage Deposit You would be always disturbed by anyone around you because you and your group can't hide your 24h. drinking and see the real life without paranoia, or treat our apartment with respect (you left a mess, broken things, marks on the floor and dried glue all over the dinning table).
Fortunately, the rest of reviews are written by "normal" people with "normal" nice behavior. (May can I have your gratitude for watching your 3 year old child left alone (with a life jacket on just in case he could fall down into the swimming pool) while you all were drinking upstairs).
And
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric G
1 review
“Lowered Expectations”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I agree about the lack of privacy from the other reviews, found owners smoking cigarettes a few feet away and there most all times quite stifling (sorry); property is really wedged in, too sloppy, and it’s nowhere near the beach. Please check out the satellite view from Google Earth before booking. Also see pic of your actual morning coffee view; junk all around...rusty ship container..etc. (unfortunately worse view on the other side of house). For a top rate to book it, you should provide you guests nice towels, a yard that is picked up, the internet, A/C, and a washing machine that’s not $15/load right? Think low end motel. Since Kaireva was deceptive, all factored in, the accommodations are one ⭐️ (out of five ⭐️), quite below average and should be rented at a far reduced rate. We discovered the best service and beauty for the $ on the island are the spots on (real) Muri Beach. Good luck. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
Thank you for advising that if we did charge you the Damage Deposit, you would write a bad review, but I don't accept your blackmail, even if it is all your family who is making all this bad reviews (you are the third person in his group reviewing that bad way). Your damages on the floor were over the amount in reserve.
There is people like you in this beautiful world that lies just to harm, but fortunately there are 2 years of previous good reviews to find out which the true is. One prove about your lies: your brother states in previous review that we smoke at the beach; you say we smoke a few feet away but the house it's nowhere near the beach. So we smoke at the beach a few feet away. Consequently, the beach is a few feet away, certainly. And yes, we smoke hidden at one corner of the property at the beach because we don't want to disturb our guests.
This country goes with satellite Wi-Fi. There is no free Internet anywhere, if you want to be well informed. Guests everywhere buy vouchers, we don't charge for it, we only offer a hot spot in the property, as everybody else in Rarotonga.
Do you know why Air New Zealand, the Cook Islands Industry and the judges from New Zealand gave us the Award to the best Holiday Rental? Because of good reasons: unique house made of natural treated nobel timber, beautiful complete house, wonderful location in a unic environment, edible organic gardens, etc. etc. These are great values to talk about.
And for your information, accommodation with similar level of quality in Muri Beach are 1,600 nzd per night, only 1,000 dollars more per night than Kaireva Beach House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing