We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
432
20
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
20
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews belinda and andrew private pool our honeymoon platinum villa cook islands cinema room welcome basket beachside villa amazing villa every morning total privacy day bed muri beach deck overlooking the lagoon minute drive blue lagoon lounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I celebrated a big anniversary in the Cook Islands and visited Aitutaki on the front end of the trip. After leaving that slice of paradise, we didn't think Rarotonga would measure up, but our stay at Rumours Luxury Villas really set the tone for our visit to this island!

We were picked up at the airport and transported to the doorstep of our villa. Upon entering what we thought would be the room, we were blown away when we entered what was our own private area that included lounge chairs, a small pool with waterfall and a jacuzzi--this was before we even reached the front door of the room!

The villa was breathtaking...simply breathtaking. Two bedrooms with canopy beds, two bathrooms, a large living/dining room and a full kitchen! With our mouths gaped open, we walked around in disbelief. There was even a "moat" inside with water running through it and beautiful plants...something we had never seen before. There was a large basket of complimentary snacks and activity brochures on the dining table. Outside in the back of the villa was a large deck with table and chairs and chaise loungers...all overlooking the lagoon. There were also kayaks for our use.

Shortly after we arrived, Andrew came by to welcome us and give us the lay of the land and made it clear that we were to call if there was anything we needed. He even made dinner reservations at a lovely restaurant and arranged for roundtrip transportation. We didn't meet Belinda on this trip, but Andrew was great and really made us feel right at home. No request was too big or small and we really appreciated the hospitality.

We also visited the spa which is a short walk down the road, but worth it once you arrive. The treatment was very good and the staff was extremely nice.

I really hope to return to Rarotonga for another visit, and when we do, we won't even consider staying anywhere else. This was the best accommodations we have ever had in all of our many years of travel and it will be tough to top it!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rajj976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We visited Rumours, Rarotonga for our honeymoon and it was amazing and a very memorable experience for us. The place was beyond our expectations. People/staff were very friendly. Andrew (the owner) was very helpful. He took the painful aspects of the trip away. His recommendations were very good. It was all worth it. He entertained even the silliest queries that we had. The little attention to details and an extra mile they went, made our experience very special and memorable. We would definitely like to visit Rumours, Rarotonga again in future. If you are looking for a leisurely trip, Rumours is undoubtedly the best on the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beachfront romantic villas.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurer790408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We had a wonderful trip to Rarotonga for our 25th anniversary. The villa was beautiful, the service and attention to detail was outstanding. We will definitely stay here again when we go to the Cook Islands. Thank you for a wonderful time, Jerrid and Shannon Tompkins

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shannontompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Towards the end of the Sydney winter my partner Brenda and are always looking for an escape and we generally finish up on a Pacific island We had heard a lot about The Cook Islands and in particular Rumours Resort Both excelled our expectations
Rumours only has five villas that sit directly sit directly on the beach and two at their spa about 500 meters away also with direct beach access The best part for us was that the accommodation was so spacious and you could easily spend the whole day lazing around There are plenty of good eating spots about twenty minutes away and at low tide can be reached via a beautiful walk up the beach. The management and staff could not be more helpful and respond immediately to any request At first we thought the idea that breakfast was delivered to your room and you had to cook your own bacon and eggs was strange Not so ! In fact the villa amenities are so good breakfast at home was a great way to start the day Absolutely perfect for a couples looking for the great escape !

Room Tip: we had villa 4 which actually has two double bedrooms so would be perfect for two couple sharing
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We met up with friends in the Cook Islands and booked the two bedroom/two bathroom beachfront apartment. It was amazing and couldn't fault the place at all. The hosts Belinda and Andrew were attentive and very helpful when it came to excellent restaurant choices.

When we head back to the Cook Islands, Rumours is the only place we want to stay at again.

Room Tip: Book the Premium apartment if going with friends
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johnno1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews