We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but will soon need to be renovated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but will soon need to be renovated.”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We spent 4 days here. We had a Garden view cottage but were pleasantly upgraded to the sea view cottage. The rooms are large with huge bathrooms which looked a bit old. The room had a large LCD TV with a DVD player and a well-stocked mini-bar. The beds were comfortable. There are 3 restaurants - a coffee shop, an Italian restaurant and a sea-food restaurant in addition to SFX-the bar which had an awesome view of the sea. During our stay, since we were on an all meals inclusive package, we had the option of having meals at the restaurants at the neighbouring Taj property - Vivanta Taj Holday Village. Banyan Tree, the Thai restaurant at the Taj Holiday Village is a great restaurant. Jiva - the Spa shared by the two Taj hotels is a well maintained, slightly pricey spa. We had gone for massages to "Snip Salon and Spa", a Spa situated 2 kilometers from the Taj and honestly, while the massages at Jiva was a nice experience but not as good as the other spa and certainly not value for money.

Pros:
- Great Location
- Spacious Rooms
- Top Restaurants

Cons:
- Cottages are far from the Lobby, can be an issue during rains
- 28 Year old rooms, direly in need of renovation, especially bathrooms
- Small swimming pool thats visible from the lobby - no privacy at all.
- Overpriced Spa.
- Frequent power-cuts (although none last more than a couple of minutes)

Room Tip: Sea View Cottages offer a great view. Look for all-meals-included packages in off-season. Not worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkshayGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,330
    651
    149
    73
    43
See reviews for
868
787
33
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Our stay here was on our first trip to Goa. We were expecting a bit more beach front property (you get the wrong idea when seeing the photos), but it is on a higher ground than the beach. Since we went during the off season, the beach was closed. That was very disappointing.

The rooms were nice. we had the superior sea facing room, though we felt that the walls of the rooms were a bit thin, but then its Goa. They have a good swimming pool. the buffet breakfast was good. we never had dinner from the restaurant while there. Lunch didn't come up to the standards of a 5-star buffet. We had mailed our concern to the GM and he had taken it into consideration.

Can't write much about the hotel property as we didn't explore the property at all as it was our first time and we were busy sightseeing. The travel desk people were really helpful with regards to the taxis and with directions. You can visit the adjoining property of Taj, the holiday village and utilize the facilities there.

We are planning our next trip to Goa and our stay this time will be at Taj Holiday Village. So after visiting there, I can maybe write a comparison.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glitterscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Went for weekend getaway from Bangalore and what a getaway it is!! Right from the airport the courtesy of the staff is shown. We were provided a free pick up which was very well coordinated. We stayed in the superior sea-view room and the view was excellent. We got a great view of the beach and the fort. The breeze throughout the night and the sound of the ocean through the night was just amazing!!

The hotel staff were extremely courteous especially Meenakshi at the front desk. They paid extra attention to everything and made sure our stay was impeccable. We did not even leave the resort; The monsoon really does add to the beauty of this resort!

I don't know why some people were complaining about the food at the resort but we were spoiled for choice. The Il camino (Italian Restaurant) has a buffet dinner that is mind blowing and Morisco (Sea-food restaurant) has plenty of options for sea food lovers!! The SFX bar has to be one of the best bars. The view is to die for!

Over all for couples who are looking to spend a couple of days in Goa and just want to stay in and relax the whole; There is no place like the fort aguada.

Room Tip: Choose the sea-view rooms without a sitout! They are on the second floor and provide a better view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theasudude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We have just completed our stay at the Taj Fort Aguada and our minds are still brimming with the pleasant experiences we had at the hotel. We stayed at a Superior Sea Facing Room and the view from our room was breathtaking. I was a bit hesistant about the food initially, having read some of the reviews below, but we were in for a very pleasant surprise. We thoroughly enjoyed our (very long) buffet breakfasts, lunches and dinners. We also made full use of the swimming pool facilities at the Fort and the Holiday Village. Our only regret was not having been able to spend time at the beach due to the rough sea.

if you're in two minds as to whether you should choose the Fort Aguada or the Holiday village to stay, I'd say go for Fort Aguada if you like mountains (since the hotel is spread across climbs) and the Holiday Village if you like the plains. The swimming pool and the activity centre for the kids is better at the Holiday village (though the loo for changing clothes at the Holiday village sucks!)

The service at Fort Aguada was also commendable. The staff was extremely warm and welcoming. I'd like to especially thank Meenakshi at the reception, and Annie and Sanjay at the Latitude restaurant for taking such good care of us. (Sanjay even got sandwiches and salami slices packed for our daughter for our return journey.) Then, performers called to welcome guests belted out Twinkle Twinkle little star and Baa Baa black sheep for my daughter.

Surprisingly, even the families who were staying at the Fort had smiles to share and a tone of warm familiarity in their voices. Our experience was truly memorable. Sad, the trip ended too soon :(

Room Tip: Sea view Room with a sit out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyankaN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We chose Taj because of its excellent location,from the airport we were taken by a coach to the hotel ,it takes about one hour ten minutes to reach there.We stayed for three nights in a superior sea view room, the view was breathtaking.Throughtout our stay was very comfortable,only the buffets were very limited, there was hardly any seafood on the menu.

Room Tip: We had booked a sea view room,the view was excellent,but it's advisable to take a sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shagufta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
0.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
32.9 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,961 reviews
4.7 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
2,186 reviews
5.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
2.6 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa
Address: Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,808 - ₹ 40,844
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa is at its best. Romantic. Charming. Vibrant. It has history woven in its walls. It's where royalty, heads of government and the biggest celebrities are known to frequent. For the luxury Goa experience, which no other place has been able to recreate. Not much has changed. In the renewed rooms, cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the island bar, and the Jiva spa where you'll go Ah! In our continuous endeavor to offer our guests the best product, service and value through the years, the Swimming pool at Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa will be closed between 10th to 25th September 2017 (both days inclusive) for periodic maintenance activity. During this period the pool facilities at our sister property Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa will be available for use to our guests. Please be assured that the hotel has taken all necessary measures, to minimize the inconvenience caused to our guests. Any inconvenience caused is deeply regretted. All other facilities, and services remain fully operational during this period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, Agoda and DerbySoftTaj so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Hotel
Fort Aguada Beach Sinquerim
Fort Aguada Beach Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Fort Aguada, Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing