We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most Unusual Hotel Experience in the World.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Anxious to stay at a real "cave" hotel and surprised at our mixed accomodations from one of the most sumptuous honeymoon suites to a small cozy man cave. Food and wine exceptional and a night of music brought out the "belly dancing" within us. Friendly reception and an interesting history. Highly recomended.

Room Tip: If given the opportunity to choose a room number #6 and #22-they're close to the entrance.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylviafrommermracky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (956)
There are newer reviews for Gamirasu Cave Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 463 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed with my wife and two teenagers at Gamirasu in March 2012. The stay was wonderful and I really can't say enough about the accommodating staff and hotel. First of all, I had many questions before leaving New York and all of them were answered promptly and clearly. The hotel also arranged a free transfer from the airport in Kayseri which went off flawlessly even though we were over an hour late to arrive. At Gamirasu, we had a lovely suite with two rooms, two bathrooms and a sitting area, which were very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was extremely attentive, greeted us warmly with free drinks and took care of all of our needs. The hotel's restaurant was also very nice. Our breakfasts there were copious and delicious, and our two dinners were also very nice. We left early in the morning on our last day and even though we departed before breakfast was served, the staff opened up the kitchen early and brought a full breakfast to our suite. We all appreciated this effort and itnwas reflective of the level of service we experienced during our three day stay. I recommend Gamirasu highly!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dwaltch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Hi there, This was my first business trip to Turkey and in the region of Keyseri and I stayed two nights in Gamirasu cave Hotel and it was fantastic experience. From the hotel owner Mr. Ibrahim to the General Manager Ms. Hamida and all other staff excellent very caring professional service. There is no words to describe for their wonderfulness and I will recommond to each and everyone to stay atleast 3nights or more. I will be back to this hotel again. Thank you so much Hamida and her staff.

Room Tip: Room No. 6 and you will love it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The best quality of this charming cave hotel is decidedly the excellent service by its staff, led by Hamide, their general manager. She is the best hands-on professional there is: warm, big smiles, cheerful, helpful, caring, and tireless. Under her guidance, the staff is generally outstanding as well, despite the language barrier (English is somewhat understood) and a couple of issues of miscommunication.

The other positives of this hotel include free wifi (in your room), as well as two laptops in the reception area for guests to use. Their breakfast buffet is fairly extensive and typical for the region, with cheeses, veggies, olives, halvas (3 kinds - plain, chocolate, pistachios), breads and pastries, and a couple of hot items. Eggs cooked-to-order are available without additional charge. Tea/coffee set-up and bottled water are also available in your room without charge.

Upon arrival, guests are typically charmed by the remote setting, as well as the unique cave rooms that take one out of ordinary life (for the typical western and/or urban tourists, at least). However, reality quickly sets in after a day or so. This is a boutique hotel with limited facilities: no gym, health club, and limited common space. There is a nice outdoor terrace, but it was mostly empty during my 3-night stay due to the cold and windy weather. They have a pool, but it was closed. (I had emailed previously and was assured by Hamide's assistance that it'd be open and heated during my stay in April, but that wasn't the case after all.)

The rooms look gorgeous on their website (the photos make the colors jump out and render everything more brilliant and fairy tale-like). I was upgraded from a standard to a deluxe room, which was nice but not that comfortable. The novelty of staying in a cave room quickly wore off: the 2 armchairs were lumpy and uncomfortable; the desk was tiny, and the desk chair wasn't the right height, the round bed (it's a special 'cave room') was supposed to be for romance but just not comfortable or practical. The jacuzzi tub in the room (outside of the bathroom with a double shower) was nice, though.

The daily tours typically end by 5pm, and with nothing else to do and no public facilities, the room becomes our refuge, but it was just not conducive to read, view streaming video on our laptop and relax due to the lack of furniture, as well as the lack of comfortable furniture, in the room. It was hard to lounge and relax in the room.

If you pay for, or better yet, are lucky enough to get upgraded to, one of their suites, you may have a better experience than we did. But at their listed prices (our deluxe room is listed at 185 euros per night during high season - though we stayed under a packaged rate including domestic flights, hotels and tours - and the suites are way over 200 euros, the top 3 suites are listed at 550 and 1200 euros!), I really wonder about the value for money.

Apparently cave houses command a big premium - for sale as well as rental - in the region, and so cave hotels accordingly must be able to charge hefty premium prices over conventional hotels. If I were to return, I'd rather stay at a luxury modern/conventional hotel, in order to have a more comfortable stay and better value for money. After all, I saw and explored caves for 3 full days in the region, and I didn't necessarily need to retreat to a cave room in the evening. Maybe for one night.

By the way, the hotel is in the middle of nowhere but provides a free car/van service to the nearby town, Urgup, about 15-20 minute drive, any time you'd like, both ways. That is a much appreciated and necessary service. The town is good for shopping and dining.

On a final note, I had an unfortunate parting experience with this hotel. On my last morning, we ordered a vegetarian omelette, only to find out that it contained small pieces of meat. It was cut to resembled small red peppers, so I had taken a bite before realizing the problem. After having been a vegetarian for over 3 decades, this of course was rather revolting physically and emotionally to me. I had advised the hotel of my diet before my arrival, and had no problems the first 2 mornings, so I did not expect any problem on my last morning. This was surely due to a miscommunication between the waiter and the chef. But it should not have happened. At a boutique hotel that supposedly provides personalized service to its guests, the staff should all be aware of each guest's needs and requests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank sfvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahimbastutan, General Manager at Gamirasu Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your trip advisor feedback. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed our hospitality in our hotel and the charm of our staff. I am really sorry to hear that you would have preferred to stay in a Luxury/modern conventional hotel in a city rather than our boutique cave hotel in a traditional village atmosphere. I understand that you are used to regular hotel service similar to Hilton type and you can imagine it is hard for us to please any guest with such an expectancy in our Cave hotel. Gamirasu was selected as one of the two Luxury hotels from Turkey in the Middle East by Forbes. We accept that every one of us has a different sense of Luxury and comfort.

We do not have a gym or fitness center but usually our guests enjoy the hiking and walks in the valleys and village just around the hotel.

Our rooms have all the modern conveniences with Onyx, Marble floors in the bathrooms, jacuzzi and fire place. The interior of the rooms are preserved to respect the historical value of the hotel (as it is part of a Byzantine monastic retreat with a one thousand year old church) and the decoration is Ottoman/Turkish traditional style. If you had requested the change of seats, sofa or chairs, we would immediately do that to match your comfort.

PS: I apologize for the pool, the beginning of April this year was unexpectedly cold with rain and storm, now the pool is full and as it is advertised, our swimming pool is the only heated outdoor swimming pool in our area so far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Awesome place to be. The caves are so beautifully done that you will be all smiles. Hotel staff is extremely helping. Rooms are really comfortable and clean. When the lights lit up at night, you are like, WOW !!! .. If in cappadocia, then Gamirasu comes as a definite choice. A very unique experience and a very relaxing place. Since, cappadocia is away from the city hustle-bustle, this place turns out to be extremely peaceful and a stay here is quite refreshing :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Charul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
10.5 km away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
9.9 km away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#10 of 66 in Urgup
354 reviews
11.2 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 30 in Uchisar
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
11.4 km away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
11.1 km away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range: ₹ 9,053 - ₹ 34,588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave
Gamirasu Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Ayvali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing