We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor services & Facilities” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ganga Kutir Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ganga Kutir Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor services & Facilities”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

This place except for its good location has nothing good to offer . A long list of pain points to include :

- No facilities within the resort ..for everything you need to go out to their main Hotel which is 1 Km away
- Extremely poor attitude of executives and manager , strange that they are in hospitality business
- Not Worth the value for money spent
- They dont even have a reception Area to welcome and greet the guests

People who are seriously looking for a good vacation better avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ravik1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    32
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
43
23
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

The Resort is great for weekend trips for Kolkatans. It's a 3-4 hours drive from Kolkata. The Resort is top class in terms of cleanliness, service and food. It has great activities like swimming games and gymwhich is very important as there is nothing else to do in Raichak.

The spa is a bit overpiced.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catchsharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata-India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

This resort works only because there is a serious dearth of weekend locations in and around kolkata.
The Bar was closed for renovation ( Not informed, when booked, neither was informed during check-in, go figure if you can). None of the facilities are within the premises apart from the library and the pool. You need to go to the older property of theirs the Ffort Raichak (same management), a good kilometer or more away. Even the spa is also not within this premises. This again is very conveniently not revealed till you ask for. Yes they offer to give you a complimentary ride if you want. Rooms sizes are decent, but nothing much can be written about these either. The only redeeming factor is the service which salvages a rather poor product. No complains on cleanliness either. The price charged is exorbitant for the overall package, and definitely not worth the visit. For the Ffort you can get the package at a third of the price you pay for the ganga kutir.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VVRamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

The best weekend getaway.That is what the trip to ganga Kutir was for me.
I took a drink and lounged in the balcony of my room overlooking ganges and enjoyed myself thoroughly.
The water looked so charming with a steamer moving by sounding its roaring noise not disturbing me at all.
The food was too good and tasty specially the prawn curry.
The landscaping is coming up well and lots of spaces are there for long walks to Ffort which is a rich star hotel.
All in all a very good business and leisure meeting point for tranquil loving people like me.

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank FannyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

Ganga Kutir stands out as the best resort around Kolkata due to the sheer experience that one would get there. The resort is located on the banks of the river ganges and all 14 rooms have a view of the water. The Sri Lankan architecture and decors add a majestic feel to the excellent location of the resort. The rooms are luxurious and the staff is also extremely courteous. We'd been there for celebrating our wedding anniversary and the romanticism of the resort made it an ideal getaway for us. The best part was the fact that reaching there from Kolkata took us only an hour so we got a lot of time in hand when we reached Raichak
Best Experience: The best part was the resort itself. Its beautiful, especially at sunset, just get your drink from the bar to the balcony or even the tables laid outside, by the pool, and sink in the beauty of the river. The moment just freezes and stays in your memories forever. It was spell binding. The swimming pool looks splendid. Though I couldn't try any of the Spa services due to shortage of time, I'd like to definately recommend the place.
But there's one thing I missed, I would have liked to have a bath tub in the our bathroom (after charging 14 grand per night, thats the least they can provide).
Also, when we'd visited, the resort had just opened so the restaurant wasn't in its full form. The cuisine was very limited and the grub wasn't something that you would remember the place for. I think they should do something about it (or probably they might have already). Nevertheless, the place is worth a visit, only with your partner.

  • Liked — The resort is excellent. The place has been done tastefully and the staff is extremely good!
  • Disliked — Dint find it value for money coz I missed the bath tub in the bathrooms. That should be a given in any luxury resort charging you so much!!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Priyanka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raichak
0.1 km away
The Ffort Raichak
The Ffort Raichak
#1 of 2 in Raichak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
7.5 km away
Hotel Girish
Hotel Girish
#1 of 1 in Diamond Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
36.0 km away
Country Roads
Country Roads
#1 of 6 in Howrah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Hotel East Coast
Hotel East Coast
#1 of 4 in Haldia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
33.0 km away
East Palace Hotel
East Palace Hotel
#170 of 216 in Kolkata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
33.8 km away
Hotel Camac Plaza
Hotel Camac Plaza
#75 of 216 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganga Kutir Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganga Kutir Resort & Spa

Property: Ganga Kutir Resort & Spa
Address: Post Bag-1, Sarisa, Raichak 743368, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Raichak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Raichak
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,236 - ₹ 14,537
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ganga Kutir Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Ganga Kutir Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganga Kutir Resort & Spa Raichak, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing