We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$24
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Booking.com
$25
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$20
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/22
Agoda.com$21
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
210
44
7
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
210
44
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room new friends home away from home biryani property manager solo trip home cooked food an amazing experience board games take care amazing food away from the hustle and bustle beautiful location home made felt like home would love to visit again scenic beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2021

Amazing place to stay with beautiful view. We stayed in 4 beds bunker room. Clean Rooms and washroom. Food quality was mind blowing. Loved the zostel. It is safe for girls/women. You will love it, if you like interacting with others.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Homelesswandrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Deep Banka, Owner at Zostel Mukteshwar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2022

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We’re glad that we lived up to your expectations, and hope that we’ll host you again soon at yet another Zostel. Our on-ground team sends you a virtual cookie for your kindness. Cheers, team Zostel \z/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2021

Mukhteswar Zostel is firmly in the realm of the best hostels.. The atmosphere here is probably my favorite part. It's a perfect medium between cozy and a party hostel.
For the nights, when I was there, people were just sitting, chilling, and singing in the common area.It's nearly impossible to not make friends with those sitting around you..
I was on a workation and used to work either from my room or common area. There're no hindrances.. be it electricity or internet connectivity. During the day I used to work and wait for the evening to see and have fun with the new friends I made there. I was willing to extend my stay but due to prior commitments I couldn't. I'm sure it'll be hard for you too to check out without have multiple extensions.
A special thanks to Shivangi, the manager, who's super particular about the rules as well as your comfort. She's sn amazing being and I might visit the place again anytime soon just to meet such gem of a person.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank singhalshruti1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Deep Banka, Owner at Zostel Mukteshwar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2022

We’re so glad that you enjoyed staying and exploring with Zostel! It is travellers like you who add to the social spirit of Zostel, and we’re thankful that you took the time to leave an honest review about your experience. Hoping to see you again soon. Cheers, team Zostel! \z/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2021

Stayed at Zostel Mukteshwar for 4 nights. This property is away from the hustle and bustle of the main town. It offers picturesque views, has good private balcony to relax (with private rooms) and provides home cooked meals. Overall a peaceful stay and the property manager & staff take care of all your requriements (food preferences, taxi, group activities, etc.). Also, the wifi internet connectivity and mobile network wasn't an issue at all, so it can be a good option for workation.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank manmeet93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Deep Banka, Owner at Zostel Mukteshwar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2022

Hurray! We’re thrilled to know that you had a good time staying with us at Zostel Mukteshwar. Thanks for taking the time to put in a good word about us here. We’d love to host you again across our destinations in India and Nepal. Plan soon & keep Zosteling! \z/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

My visit to the place was amazing.
The place offers you amazing view and great hospitality.
If you are backpacker who loves to meet new people then this is the place to be.
Even if you're planning for a workation this place won't disappoint you.
Special thanks to the Manager Shivangi for giving us all a very homely environment.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank PrakharTaneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Deep Banka, Owner at Zostel Mukteshwar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2022

Cheers to the great times, dear Zosteler. We hope you enjoyed meeting new people and exploring offbeat places through our hostel and fellow travellers. Here’s to many more adventures together. Much love, team Zostel \z/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2021 via mobile

Zostel Mukteshwar is a homely hostel with breathtaking views of the Mukteshwar valley (best during snowfall but amazing all year).

The people who manage the property are wonderful and helpful, the highlight was the common-room/cabin with many games to play after buffet lunch & dinner (not a lot of variety but it tastes like home cooked food).

There’s a restaurant and a grocery shop literally at the doorstep and everyone in the town seems to know the Zostel.

You can take a cab (or trek) to the nearby waterfalls, chauli ki jaali, cafes etc. and the Zostel folks will arrange a cab for you if needed.

There’s no alcohol nearby, so you might want to stock up beforehand. Also there’s decent WiFi and excellent Airtel 4G coverage so you can easily wfh here.

The only cons are :
1. The bathrooms might be a little dirty for the more picky traveller, especially in the sharing dorms (thankfully we weren’t)
2. Mukteshwar is a silent location with not a lot of activities to do, you can go for short treks every day but to reach some prominent place, you have to take an expensive taxi.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank perezyeptho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Deep Banka, Owner at Zostel Mukteshwar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2022

Hurray! We’re thrilled to know that you had a good time staying with us at Zostel Mukteshwar. Thanks for taking the time to put in a good word about us here. We’d love to host you again across our destinations in India and Nepal. Plan soon & keep Zosteling! \z/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews