We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
17
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barfi cooked food chauli ki jali visit this place gang abode cooks host forest property himalayas nature view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2022 via mobile

Shivaya was an intensely liberating experience for a city dweller like me , and my relatives who made me extend the stay by a night because they were so happily secluded from all things touristy. Saurabh the owner is hands on, very friendly and his place is essentially a tastefully refurbished village home where his parents grew up. The rooms - ground flood suites - were top notch, it was very cold for this time of the year but the electric blankets kept us warm. I am sure there are plans to enclose the dining area soon because it does tend to get very chilly at night - but eating in that space was great. The staff at Shivaya, led by Deepak , are wonderful, warm and prompt. But the loveliest are Max and Barfi, the two resident dogs. Max is very naughty, Barfi has more gravitas (he he) and they make a very cute in house combo. The last 200 metres to the homestay is a kaccha jungle road, I easily (and carefully) drove my car all the way and parked in their adequate space . The views from the homestay are lovely - in ideal weather the entire Himalayan Range in front is visibile. The property is below the KMVN rest house for those confused about directions - just drive to the end of the road, one you see a sulabh toilet complex in front turn left on the jungle track - there are direction boards there. Please do come and visit this place - it is an extremely fullfilling experience...

Room tip: Of the 4 rooms, two ground floor suites work best for families and senior citizens. The mountain suite needs a climb of 8 - 10 stairs while the basic room is a level below
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alok P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 September 2021

One of the most beautiful properties in the abode of nature we ever stayed at. 'Shivaya' is now a feeling to us rather than just being a name for a homestay. Have witnessed wonderful snowfall, rain and sunshine here!
A beautiful place with a welcoming host who becomes a good friend in no time, hardworking and polite staff, good food with amazing view and to top it all, three playful furry friends to cheer you up.
Love - Barfi, Max, Simba ❤
Thank you Saurabh Bhai & Shivaya Yall made my 10th Special

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Piyushshrinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 July 2021

Six of us stayed for over 4 days hoping we could extend it indefinitely! The location is at a cliff which guarantees beautiful views and serenity, weather is beautifully unpredictable and the stay was beyond comfortable. Deepak and Pankaj are skilled cooks of amicable nature. Though the suites don't have enough ventilation, we'd mostly sit outdoors. Saurabh, the host, is friendly and has interesting stories to tell.
The best part? Ladoo and Barfi, the fluffy and friendly canines. And I hear more are going to join the gang!
Definitely worth a stay!

Tip: carry newspapers to wrap used clothes you'd want to reuse as there's dampness inside the rooms. Not a dealbreaker though.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 88saumyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 July 2021

This place is as beautiful and pure as its name ..just few words can’t describe its beauty.. my personal experience said just go n visit d place once for the life time experience… everything is so perfect specially Host… and yes food is so awasome i miss dat allo paratha

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 8821prachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

We (family of 3) stayed in Shivaya for a week in the month of May. The home stay was so comfortable that we did not want to leave.
The best part about the property is it’s location - turn around the corner from KMVN Corbett bungalow and 2 mins walk down a quaint trail takes you to this vintage property surrounded by the forest. It is right next to a school, a temple, a health centre - yet so isolated, serene and peaceful.

We enjoyed simple yet delicious fresh cooked food in the open dining area along with the awesome unobstructed views of mighty Himalayan ranges. The best sunrise and sunset points in Mukteshwar were hardly a 5 minutes walk from this place.

Rooms are small and cosy but do provide all the comfort. Full marks for Clean good quality bed linen and well equipped bathrooms with running hot water.

The hosts are a young couple - very friendly and being natives can help you with recommendations for hikes and nearby drives. They are ready to play along, go for nature walks or give you your own space as per the guests.

In all, highly recommended. Good value for money.
You may want to carry some supplies of chips, snacks or fizzy drinks as the place true to its theme is completely ecofriendly and organic.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jyoti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews