We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reached looking for fresh trout”

Restaurant at The Birdcage
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Mukteshwar
Price range: $8 - $13
Description: We would love to see you here for lunch or dinner and request you make a reservation before visiting us. You will find our contact details listed on the address bar above. We brought you finger licking, delicious treats past few years, and now we're set to up our game with a revamped menu, Beers & Wines, upgraded interiors and great music. Our well thought out à la carte menu comprises of hearty Continental and select Indian delights. We prepare everything fresh with lots of love to satiate your palate. Look forward to meeting you soon!
Restaurant details
Description: We would love to see you here for lunch or dinner and request you make a reservation before visiting us. You will find our contact details listed on the address bar above. We brought you finger licking, delicious treats past few years, and now we're set to up our game with a revamped menu, Beers & Wines, upgraded interiors and great music. Our well thought out à la carte menu comprises of hearty Continental and select Indian delights. We prepare everything fresh with lots of love to satiate your palate. Look forward to meeting you soon!
Reviewed 13 December 2021

Restaurant interior, ambiance and surroundings were great.

Staff were polite and prompt.

Food was good. Salads were normal. Dishes with Parmesan had no taste or smell of parmesan. Trout fillet was actually from either a frozen packet or was in frozen condition for long.

It could be that during lean season they were minimising overheads.

Date of visit: December 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 9,97,11,54,394
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NishantSingh, Owner at Restaurant at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Dear Guest,
Thanks for visiting us for lunch last week!

Cutting corners is not in our DNA.

Trout doest grow in the local rivers around us. We source it from higher Himalayas in Uttarakhand and Himachal. We get our supply every week or ten days depending on overall business. Once we get out catch, we fillet it and deep freeze it.

We do not serve the whole fish as vast majority of our guests do not like to deal with its bones, head & tail.

It is possible that we overbaked the Parmesan cheese causing it to loose its aroma. Wish you had brought it to our attention while here and we would have promptly made ameds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2021 via mobile

We went for lunch. The parking is adequate, on entry they validate your Covid Status, only if all is well you are allowed entry.
The garden restaurant area was very very well kept and had an excellent feel.
The food was excellent, the quality and help size were to our satisfaction.
Would surely visit again and recommend to friends. A must visit place while you are in Mukteshwar.

Thank Sunil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NishantSingh, Owner at Restaurant at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

Thank you Sunil.
It was pleasure having you over for a meal.
We sure hope to meet you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2021

The Birdcage is a great change from the local food that is the mainstay in this area (or in most mountains). They serve global cuisines, have a wide range of choices, and the food is consistently good. The service is amiable and efficient. The pricing is expensive in absolute terms, but given the offerings in the location it is made available in, we found it value for money.

Highly recommend a visit when in the area.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank SBahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NishantSingh, Owner at Restaurant at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

Thank you!
It was pleasure having you over for a meal.
We sure hope to meet you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

Amazing place , excellent food ( both Indian and continental)
One of the mist is Apple strudel with custard .
And perfect cottages aesthetically done .

They follow all corona protocols and very hygienic place to give you the assurance that you are safe !!!

If in Mukhteshwar not to miss.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank roysujata18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NishantSingh, Owner at Restaurant at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

Thank you Sujata.
It was pleasure having you again and glad you enjoyed your lunch.
We sure hope to meet you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021

Fantastic place. Great food. Great host. In my view, one of the best cafes in Mukteshwar. The place has the cutest dog (Joey). Frankly, a bit surprised to see this place not being voted the best in Mukteshwar.

You need to call before you head there since they don’t allow any walk-ins.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shantanu88g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
NishantSingh, Owner at Restaurant at The Birdcage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

Thank Shantanu!
It was pleasure having you over for a meal.
We sure hope to meet you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at The Birdcage also viewed

Mukteshwar, Nainital District
Mukteshwar, Nainital District
 
Bhimtal, Nainital District
Mukteshwar, Nainital District
 

Been to Restaurant at The Birdcage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing