We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent team at "The Terraces, Kanatal"”
Review of The Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Terraces
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Garhwal
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent team at "The Terraces, Kanatal"”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The resort is in a beautiful location. The team is wonderful. They demonstrate courtesy with dignity. Sid was as concerned about our daughters comfort as we were, and it was genuine. Sher Singh was as concerned about good meal for our daughter as we were, the concern was genuine. Veer, Varun, Ram, Yaate were all very much focused on giving us a wonderful vacation, and their professionalism was very genuine. The facilities, including the restaurant and gym were first class. The team arranged wonderful sightseeing for us, including the forest trip, and it was memorable. The resort is maintained in an excellent manner, very clean, very well-kept. The entire experience was very soothing, calming and relaxing. The trees (apple, cedar etc) added to a relaxed environment. The view of the snow-capped peaks were amazing. I do not remember names of the entire staff, I should have. This review is meant to be a thanks to the entire team, and not only to the people I named above. This was my best vacation ever. It is very easy to trust this team, because of their dignified behavior.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anujit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    31
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
31
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

What a great vacation! THANKS TO YETI, SID, VARUN, BIR, VINOD, SHER SINGHJI AND EVERYONE OUT THERE. Shall be back for sure! A great place and a fab team. Way to go guys! Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank san1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Our last minute planning turned out to be an experience of a life time.Stayed in The terraces for 3 nights and four days. loved every moment of it. Some details about the resort.
1. It's around 350 km from delhi. Takes around 9-10 hours to reach(not 6-7 hours even if you dont get any traffic). so start early guys if you are going from delhi or gurgaon. Best way is to take an overnight train or shatabdi in the morning reach dehradoon and take ataxi from there.
2.the resort is in a perfect location makes it an ideal place for honeymooners and even for large groups with kids.
3. If you love long walks natural beauty all around ...informal singing session, lovely food and lots of relaxation then this is the place for you. people who love adventure activities would also enjoy as the resort organizes it for their guests.
4.Rooms are excellent with hot water 24 hours. lots of peace and absolutely no noise even in the afternoon or in the evening.
The people running the resort are very friendly and try their best to make your stay comfortable. you will only see happy faces around. it's worth every penny you spend staying over their.
Kanatal is a perfect getaway from delhi ncr . It's still unexplored and you wont see many people around . That makes it a perfect destination for people who wants to run away from the city crowd. You have to be there to believe this place. None of the reviews justify the beauti of this place. And if you plane to go to kanatal then The terraces is the place to stay or half of the charm is gone. so gear up for the next long weekend(coming in August).

Room Tip: room no 304 and 303 has an amazing view..............you cant take your eyes off of the glass door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ektasingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I went to the terraces with my wife for my anniversary based upon tripadvisor reviews. Even though my expectations were high, I still found myself very impressed. The service was fantastic, and the rooms were meticulously kept. I don't like to spend money but even though the price is high, I left the terraces thinking I got a great deal.

The hotel location is what really puts it over the top. One side of the mountain (the side Kanatal resort and spa is on) looks south, away from the mountains. The terraces is on the north face of the mountain with beautiful snow capped mountains as your view out of your hotel room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnabholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I along with my family stayed at The Terraces for 3 nights and would sincerely like to express my gratitude for the amazing hospitality we experienced there. I have travelled widely and have been to some of the best resorts in the country – and I can safely rate Terraces best amongst the best.
The guest’s interaction with a resort begins with its infrastructure – the accommodations and the guest facilities – and at Terraces one can actually feel the painstaking and meticulous planning that has gone behind in creating a world class facility. The rooms, the restaurant, the bar, the spa, the landscape, the arrival lounge and all other facilities are so tastefully done. The minute details have been taken care of and everything seems to be hand-picked. One just can’t stop appreciating the effort that has gone in.
And, in my opinion, the biggest differentiator comes with the people and the service. I must compliment the wonderful team at Terraces. Mr.Yeti, Mr.Deep, Sidharth, Ram, Viren, the chef, the service boys, the housekeepers, the guard, the driver – all are gems. The warmth and hospitality extended by each one of them makes you feel so very special and so very wanted. The service levels at the property were beyond imagination. At the restaurant tell a guy to deliver water in the room and start walking towards your room, and before you could reach there you will find a boy standing with a bottle of water. Truly amazing and this happened thrice during our stay.
Food and Beverages – simply superb –Indian, Chinese, Continental, Gharwali – try any cuisine and its simply superb. And to top it all - the bakery.
Words simply cannot justify and describe the exhilarating experience we had at this beautiful property, the memories of which shall remain with us always. The only negative– once you are at Terraces you don’t feel like coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sangeeta_sachdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garhwal
36.4 km away
Neemrana's - Glasshouse on the Ganges
32.1 km away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
41.1 km away
Atali
Atali
#1 of 2 in Singthali Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 km away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
39.4 km away
Raga on the Ganges - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Raga on the Ganges - An Amritara...
#2 of 2 in Singthali Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.2 km away
Club Mahindra Kanatal
Club Mahindra Kanatal
#1 of 3 in New Tehri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terraces? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terraces

Property: The Terraces
Address: Kanatal, Chamba Mussorrie Highway | Tehri Garhwal, Garhwal 249145, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Garhwal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Garhwal
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,986 - ₹ 18,814
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With pleasure, we invite you to our little hamlet at Kanatal, known as The Terraces. The Property is perched at an altitude of 8500 ft, offering a spectacular view of the snow clad Garhwal Himalayas as from each one of the 20 well-appointed rooms and a luxury suite. It is a place surrounded by forests, chirping birds, unambiguous blues, friendly folks and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Yatra, ClearTrip, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Terraces Hotel Garhwal
Terraces Hotel Uttarakhand
The Terraces Garhwal, Uttarakhand, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing