We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the WILDerness” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Binsar Forest Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Binsar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Binsar Forest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
NOIDA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In the WILDerness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you are the one whose idea of vacation is peaceful and idyllic stay, then Binsar is the place and Binsar Retreat the accommodation. Set in dense forests on a hill, it requires a drive in 4 X 4 vehicle ( which the Hotel provides) for about 600 metres and then another few hundred yards of walking.

We were earlier sceptical about the fact that this hotel doesnt have Electricity, but later realised that it was better that way as the charm and romance of Binsar was this one ness with nature and its elements. Though we stayed in a room, tent is certainly the better option. Candle light dinners for and walks to the View Point were breath taking.
The view that one gets from the terrace is awesome and you would want to come back again and again. The Hotel staff is efficient and courteous. Food is simple but good. Certainly a place to visit to soothen your nerves and rejuvinate.

Room Tip: Stay in the tent .. far better than staying in the rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nitin_kulsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
69
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurangabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Binsar Hotel at Binsar in uttarakhand India can be probably described in these 3 words. To begin with I was little skeptical about the prospect of spending holidays at such a remote place with family. The journey to Binsar itself is an ordeal. Flight upto Delhi, overnight journey to Kathgodam by Ranikhet express and then about 3 hours journey by road by hired taxi. We reached near the entry gate of Binsar Sanctury to be informed that there was forest fire and taxi cannot go upto the retreat. But the Binsar Retreat management when contacted on telephone sent their vehicle with additional gears fixed for the steep slopes. It was near 70 degrees upword slope on the way to the retreat and the last 300 m had to be covered on feet. But the services they provide at such a remote place are worth a praise. They have cozy rooms, good food. Solar lights and sufficient hot water heated on gas stoves provided on one bucket per person basis. The staff is really multifunctional. The same person can be your guide to the forest roads, explaining the history of the area, giving you details about the birds, animals, butterflies and trees in the area. After you are back to the hotel, just do not get surprised if the same person is seen working in the kitchen. They have a small library and leisure room. It is a place where you can go close to the nature, meditate and get peace of mind. If you are looking for typical holiday homes with ample supply of hard drinks, fast food, non-veg goodies, movies, casino etc. then this is not a place for you.

Room Tip: There are only 3-4 rooms and others are tents. I would recommend to choose a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gandhinagar, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

If you wish to live away from all the hustles of city life, spend some time close to nature in peace and tranquility, this is the place to go. We stayed in a tent and it was a different yet an unforgettable experience to live without electricity.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRM4311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Everything in Binsar takes your breath away. Have been wanting to go to Binsar for forever.
Finally, last week we went there and stayed at the Binsar Retreat. There was a bit of trepidation because often resorts are not what their photos promise. But this was different. We stayed in a lovely tent overlooking the forest, the weather improved by the day and was perfect the day before we left. The walks through the forest are magnificent - lush vegetation with great Oak trees - and so many different birds that made me wish I'd brought my binoculars along.

The greatest joy of Binsar was the peace and quiet. For once we were surrounded by solitude.

But things often go wrong in such places if where you are staying at is not up to the mark. Luckily that was not to be and we were delighted by the personalised attention given to us by the Manager, Shri Mahendra Rana and his very very hospitable staff. The food, vegetarian, is simple but tasty.

Go equipped with your basic needs - the resort will take care of the rest.

And, best of all, very, very reasonably priced. The three of us, me, my wife and twelve year old son, paid less than a total of 100 US $ per day - for stay and all meals included ! We'll go back one day - next time in September / October.

Thanks to everyone at BR for making our holiday such a treat !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PankajButalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Binsar retreat is excellent place to stay and spend time with your among naturual beauty and cool winds..i would love to visit this place every year once feel tired of of my hectic schedule..homely food with excellent taste..fast service.very active staff..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyank39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binsar
1.4 km away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 4 in Binsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
12.5 km away
Imperial Heights
Imperial Heights
#3 of 16 in Almora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
21.9 km away
Heritage Resort Kausani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 km away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
13.1 km away
Binsar Eco Resort
Binsar Eco Resort
#4 of 4 in Binsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
5.0 km away
Club Mahindra Binsar Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Binsar Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Binsar Forest Retreat

Property: Binsar Forest Retreat
Address: Binsar Wildlife Sanctuary | P.O. Ayarpani, Dist. Almora, Binsar 263601, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Binsar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Binsar
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,500 - ₹ 12,500
Hotel Class:3 star — Binsar Forest Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Binsar Forest Retreat is situated at an altitude of 7,600 ft on the south west flank of the Binsar Wildlife Sanctuary. It is situated on the land once owned (during the British Raj) by Major Edin and the property is locally known as Edinpur. It is surrounded by the sounds and sights of wilderness with superb views of the higher Himalayas to the north and the valleys and hills to the south and west. Pallavi, Preetam and Aahna, together with close friend and partner Rajesh, have renovated and refurbished the estate in 2014 – 15. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Binsar Retreat Hotel Binsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing