We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
84
21
7
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
21
7
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage property young couple old world charm sir henry british era binsar wildlife sanctuary first floor who loves nature exotic place barking deer unique experience mind blowing mountain top protected forest your taste buds beautiful sunset snow capped mountains
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2017

Starting from the location of this 1885 Manor to the last details, a perfect place to enjoy tranquility . The view of the rising and setting sun is spectacular. Enjoy the snow clad mountains from the balcony over a hot cup of coffee. The surrounding valleys, the miles and miles of pine wood forest and sometimes glimpse of a barking deer completes the nature's bounty. Its a dream destination with the perfect Owners in Mr. Sindhu and Ms. Shikha. Attentive Team and super meals. Must try the Kumaon Dinner served in a traditional antique plate. Try to trek up to the zero point. Add this place on a "must" experience historical places to stay. Avoid driving and take the Shatabdi instead. Beautiful organic and handmade take-aways at the local handicraft stores.Those who love Pets, seek a glimpse of Lucy- a gorgeous Tibetan Mastiff.

Room Tip: In summers , stay in the snow peak facing rooms and in winters the valley facing rooms and enjoy the sun!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dollar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamGrandOak, Owner at Tree Leaf Grand Oak Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on our property and I would like to thank you on behalf of our entire team in Binsar. It is indeed very satisfying to hear that our effort has been appreciated by you.
Thank you once again for your gesture!
Regards,

Sindhu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Rajan greeted us in the traditional way with a tikka and rhododendron juice! Breakfast, lunch and dinner was served in the spacious and quaint dining hall. Great menu, too! Lovely rooms -- perhaps, the heat could be turned up a notch in winters( again a matter of individual preference).
Situated inside the sanctuary, you can hear the sound of silence. Get a view of the snow-clad Himalayan ranges. Go up to Zero-point and get a 360 degree view -- yes!
Great host, Mr Sindhu Gangola!

Room Tip: Choose the valley-facing rooms in winter -- enjoy the sun. The mountain-facing rooms are ideal in summer -- cooler.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrishWarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamGrandOak, Owner at Tree Leaf Grand Oak Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time out and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. It gives me immense satisfaction that all our efforts at Binsar are being noticed and appreciated by travellers like yourselves. We look forward to hosting you again in the future and there is no doubt that you will recommend our place to friends/family and acquaintances alike.

Regards,

Sindhu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

The stay is highly okay. The food and rooms are overpriced as compared to the service they provide. Although the location is good. The property is solar powered so the timming for hot water is limited. Choose this property only for the peace quotient

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mansi_1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamGrandOak, Owner at Tree Leaf Grand Oak Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate that we did not live up to your expectations, as opposed to the maximum number of guests who stay with us. The rooms and food have been priced exactly in accordance to that location you praise, which is beautiful but also very isolated making our running cost quite high. Hope you have a better experience next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

It would have been better to have visited a few weeks earlier ....we stayed 4 nights and the 0nly guests for 3.
It was very cold at night...went to bed at 8.30 to 9 pm
Too cold as no heating from about 8.30 then onwards. Turned off ...very cold 4 hot water bottles ..most welcome.
Also too dark to see to read...rattling around alone in a huge sitting room
A kettle in the bedroom would have been nice .
However..wonderful views....and sunrises.
Only seems one walk from the hotel and no wildlife at all.

Lovely balconies though for the afternoon sun.
Staff very accommodating and food good.

We didn't wash properly for the 4 days as water tepid due to solar panel heating
It is very quiet here and totally isolated...but beautiful
Nice nature walk though saw no animals...but good naturalist,.
Lovely and sunny during the day.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank oldharryrocks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamGrandOak, Owner at Tree Leaf Grand Oak Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Guest,

I appreciate your review of our property! However, in the past two weeks we have had no one who has stayed with us for 4 nights! As you seem to point out our dim lights, the lack of an electric kettle in the room and no heating from 8:30 pm let me remind you that Binsar Wild life Sanctuary does not have any power/ water lines. All our resources are “envoirnment friendly” and the property is completely self dependent for all its power and water needs. Our central heating system always runs till 9:30 p.m. everyday. One cannot visit the Himalayas in the month of December without doing proper research and preparing for the weather. For the wildlife part I am not even going to try and explain, at this altitude what can one see in the winter months? Please try and think, animals here live in their natural habitat and not in an enclosure! Binsar has more than 10 walks, so pointing out that there is just one is truly not fair. Lastly I would like to invite you again to come and experience Binsar and its flora and fauna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

High in the Kumaon hills, in a protected forest, up a bumpy track, lies Grand Oak Manor. Essentially the same as when it was the British Commissioner’s résidence, this historic hotel is a slice of history. A small number of comfortable rooms are capably managed by Shikha and her staff, including the wonderfully professional Rajun. The chef also deserves a special mention, with very fine meals impeccably served throughout the day.

Some guests (like us soft westerners) may baulk slightly at the lack of indoor heating (except in the winter) and slow water heating, but it should be remembered that this is a 100% natural, off-the-grid location. And what a location it is - surrounded by 50sq km of pristine wildlife-full Himalayan forest. And the views.....!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamGrandOak, Owner at Tree Leaf Grand Oak Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our property on Tripadvisor. I'am very grateful on behalf of my entire team that we all could deliver a fine experience throughout your stay. Also thank you for pointing out that we are a 100% energy efficient property based on our limited own resources in the middle of the woods. There is a lot of work that is being put in towards improving our efficiency in these areas.

Regards,

Sindhu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews