We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel U.R(Allahabad)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kanchan Villa(Allahabad)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mandiram(Allahabad)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OYO 3129 DPS Inn(Allahabad)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
38
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh flowersher daughterown gardentwo nightsperfect hostsfamily historyfamily memberscivil linesleoindiacomfortsangamhospitalitycharmed
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018

5 of us have just stayed at Nilu's family home. She and her daughter were the perfect hosts and greeted us with such a warm welcome. All the small touches at Bungalow One were much appreciated - from the information, snacks and drinks in the rooms, to the fresh flowers, books and log fire that was lit for us in the living room. The house is in Civil Lines and is an authentic 'Raj-era' bungalow which was bought by Nilu's in laws soon after Independence. It is filled with period furniture, pictures and books and the garden is beautifully kept with roses and beds of dahlias, an orchard and large vegetable garden. it is a beautiful place and lovingly cared for which is rare as so few of these buildings remain in family hands. The real treat was eating there. Nilu fed us fantastically well making local specialities often from her own garden produce and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations over dinner. She was also enormously helpful with regard to my family history in India which I was researching and in organising for us to see the Margh Mela which was a truly extraordinary experience. So a huge thank you for your wonderful hospitality and going that extra mile for your guests!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anarchy130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-Bungalow-One, Owner at Bungalow One, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

We are really touched by your review and appreciation of our hospitality. It was a pleasure hosting all of you and interacting with you all. We are so happy that you went back to your country with happy and memorable experiences of our incredible India! Thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

When Uma and me planned a long pending holiday to Benaras, Allahabad was included in the itinerary more as a addon - Ya Sangam was there for sure . And then we booked for two nights at Bungalow one and later extended it by one more night( By far the best decision ).Reviews were great and yes we expected the place to be good. But our experience was far far better than what we expected. It was a five star comfort with warmth of a home. The place just had a very very positive vibe.Meeting the hosts, Nilu and Kanika, was like meeting good friends after a long time but picking up the thread where you left it.Its like as if you have known them for years.And this is what made the stay most memorable. There was so much to talk , discuss, exchange of views and not to forget recipes. SO much laughter. And books.We hardly ventured out much( except for the mandatory Sangam) cause it was just great sitting at their house and basking in the warmth of the sun, the hosts and the little dog. Well I could go on and on but when I say that one should go to Allahabad and stay means stay, not on a sightseeing holiday or a layover in your trip,but stay at Nilus place for a few days just for the experience, I suppose I sum up exactly as to how much we loved the place.And both Uma and I definitely plan a visit back with our spouses.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Revathi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-Bungalow-One, Owner at Bungalow One, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

We feel the same way about both you and Uma... like you have summed it up so aptly: 'meeting good friends after a long time but picking up the thread where you left it' We loved hosting both of you and look forward to hosting you with your spouses too! Thanks a lot for your compliments and recommending our home-stay. We are really grateful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We were a group of 8 friends on a trip to North India. While we enjoyed typical tourist attractions in the other towns we visited, the highlight of our trip was our stay at Bungalow one. I have decided to make a once a year trip to Allahabad just to stay in the beautiful bungalow, run by the most amazing people. The bungalow, besides being conveniently located in the heart of the city is breathtakingly beautiful. The rooms are well kept with an impressive library and, what joy... a fireplace! The breakfast was out of this world.
In every other town, we would be ready and raring to go and explore the city at the crack of dawn, but at Bungalow one, neither me nor my friends wanted to step out.
I could go on writing about how much I loved staying here, but I will end by saying that it is a place you must stay at, should you decide to go anywhere near Allahabad.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully done. Choose any
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 1TravelMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-Bungalow-One, Owner at Bungalow One, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

It was indeed great to see all of you enjoy yourselves and feel at home at Bungalow One! Our home reverberated with so much of laughter and merriment while you were here, and we shall always welcome you as well as your friends whenever you decide to visit Allahabad! Thanks a lot for such a warm and positive review, and we apologize for the delay in responding to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I must say that i was fortunate to stay for two nights in this Resort like place.
The ambience of this vast well maintained sprawling bunglow is heightened by the excellent care taken by the mother daughter duo .One is not restricted to one s room as in Hotels but the whole bunglow with his garden and orchards is open to walk around .The added attraction is the three lovely dogs that share your company delightfully .
Mother Nilu and daughter Kanika are very friendly and conversationalist par excellence .
The amount of books that line up in all the rooms is testimony to a very intellectually inclined couple .
If in Allahabad there is only one place to stay .All comforts ,care and affection at Bunglow 1 .
I must thank them profusely including for thoughtfully wrapping some fruits ,biscuits and drinking water on my way out .

Room Tip: All rooms are good enough .
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sundoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-Bungalow-One, Owner at Bungalow One, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

We are really grateful to you for taking the time to review us and compliment us and our hospitality. Thanks a lot for recommending Bungalow One too. We apologize for responding to your review so late. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We went to Allahabad to perform the Asthi-Visarjan ceremony, though it was sad occasion but our stay at Bungalow One with extended family was wonderful.

Neelu and Kanika, the most hospitable, warm, friendly hosts you could ever wish to meet, who went out of there way to make our stay a most memorable one. Kanika i miss your lovely sweet smile! And moreover, Neelu was so helpful in arranging the ceremony.

The staff is great, from the drivers to the cooks, and seem to genuinely enjoy their work hosting guests.. Great breakfast and dinner prepared from their organic vegetable garden and fruit trees. There is no need to eat out in restaurants, the food is excellent and tasty served by friendly young staff, personally supervised by Neelu.

The house is absolutely beautiful, British colonial building has been exquisitely maintained and has all the facilities one would need. Snacks and toiletries were complimentary which is a nice touch. They pay exceptional attention to detail.

I was initially uncomfortable with the three dogs on the property, but the Kanika took good care to keep them away from me. Leo and Samy you are cute and noticed how friendly you both are. Sharoo you are great guard dog. Even I started to like you towards the end and realised how precious and well behaved you 3 are, Sorry didn’t mean to ignore you while I was there.

Honestly, its worth a trip to Allahabad just to stay at Bungalow One and get to know Neelu and Kanika. Also do go to the Sangam, too!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chetna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-Bungalow-One, Owner at Bungalow One, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

We apologize profusely for this oversight on our part, for not responding to your wonderful review of our home-stay. It was a sad occasion that brought you to Allahabad, but we are glad that we could make you all comfortable and feel at home. Our staff and team at Bungalow One send our grateful thanks to you for such a complimentary and warm review of our hospitality! Sadly, Sheru and Sammy have left for their happy hunting grounds since, but Leo sends his bow-wow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews