We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
40
80
60
15
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
80
60
15
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplay gamesadded advantagedinner buffetbeach viewsea facinghigher siderooms are spaciouscourteous staffseafoodambiencechennaishoreecrlawnsunrisestretchspread
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

A very disappointed stay at the resort and we checked out just spending the night
We made a booking and paid by bank transfer because that they have insisted and after reaching the resort they just could not find our booking and name
Luckily that we have saved the person we talked to and he confirmed that the booking is done but got our name wrong
Any way it was already late and we went for dinner as the room was not ready
The food is just too South Indian and just basic with lot of sower in every items
The room was really bad the curtains were dirty and a hard bed with thin blanket

We could not sleep well as too many mosquitoes and to our surprise when we got up the bathroom floor and sink was full of ants big ones

There were no towels in the room so we had to asked for and it took quite 30 minutes before the tap started flowing hot water however the water was salty and it leaves you a sticky feeling after the bath
So we decided to leave the hotel and start looking for another one

The property location is good and it has nice beach

The resort has not been tastefully done and bad maintenance makes it worst

Over all a very disappointing stay and what they claim is not there and the reception only they speak little English otherwise all sign language

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 513ashimr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The room that was given near reception upon arrival was disappointing, did not have any view as against promised sea-view. old split A/C was started by inserting a finger in fan by staff. Upon checking for a room with view, "will do it in the evening." was the response.
We had to pack-unpack luggage for room shifting.

The refurbished room was good by look and feel and steps away from shore. Sea-view restaurant was good but short staffed to serve the guests and shoo away crows picking food from left over. Food was average but definitely not worth eating tummy-full. we loved nearby A2B food more than the resort food.

The best part is awesome view of sunrise as the resort is almost attached to sea.

staff lacks hospitality and courtesy towards guests. repeated calls for help for check-out went unanswered and finally carried my luggage myself. Namesake housekeeping was provided on second day after repeated attempts. booze party hosted by some corporate on Saturday evening ended with ruckus and spoilt the evening.

Room Tip: ask for sea-view if not refurbished rooms
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dharmesh_On_Roaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Well the resort is bit old looking with mainly 3 2 floored buildings.we stayed for 2 days in sea facing deluxe rooms.room was large with decent but not very posh furnishing.the room had a balcony with a slant view of the sea beach from the corner..so that's it about sea view!the building we stayed was in the same building above reception,the swimming pool was right in front.we were told this is the building with best view of sea though there are couple of buildings more closer to beach..Beach was about 100 mts from the reception.Swimming pool had both kid and adult section and was moderately clean,with an attendant placed for observation.thus can be considered even for kids
The resort is moderately spread out with the private beach right in front of dining area.The view from dining area is great.food is good to average,liked the buffet breakfast..we had dinner buffet as part of our package.it was well spread out with one of the days having more items than the other.buffet included mainly South Indian veg and non veg items with crab as the main sea food item.there were some north Indian items too and some Indian styled Chinese items.Some of the items like chicken kebab and curry items were very good.disappointing would be the dessert with ice cream and pudding/gulag jamun,both of which were not well done.service in dining area was quite good.
The resort has a big privacy issue for family crowd as I found that they rent out an open space adjacent to dining area for corporate parties and banquets.in both of our days we had such a party happening with lot of noise and crowd,spliing over to sitting area in outside of restaurant..in fact one of the party had alcohol served and some unruly drunkards disturbing ladies and family crowd.Management should take notice of this and arrange for a clear segregation as else can't be recommended for family guests looking for some peace and privacy.Service wise I found them lacking especially for rooms.it needed multiple calls for getting drinking water once in evening..looks they were stretched out when had to serve corporate parties in parallel to in house guests.
Beach is nice and clean to take bath,but lighting is not that great at night.
The housekeeping done is quite ok but toilets can be cleaner for the price they are charging.Room though big had an oldish look.
Hotel provides cab service for local sightseeing and oustation drops though charges on higher side.It also has a kids playing area with swings and seasaw etc..
Resort is easy to spot on East coast road ,the highway leading to Pondicherry..it is before Mahabalipuram town centre.we took OLA cab from Chennai airport and it took roughly 1 hour 15 mins with very nice drive along the highway.City center attractions are very close by with all major sightseeings can be covered in a half day trip
Overall I would say loved the stay because of its location .

Room Tip: Rooms in 1st floor above reception.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biswajit c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

To see rooms were good..Rooms were not cleaned until we reached there; basic things like towels were also given after couple of hours after check in. The extra cot we asked for was broken..we asked for an change..it was not done. Cot was not repaired through out the stay...2nd day too. Reception says staff will come in 2 minutes, for hours together and never came up.
Food was worst..too oily...no taste and no options for vegetarians. During breakfast..the items which got over was not refilled.. when asked they told it will be done in 2 minutes but they took more than half an hour .
Please improve the quality of good.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank shubhasri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Yeah folks, I am back to Mamalla beach resort, after nearly a year. I would honestly say the resort is just the same, guess this is what we get for the money we pay. This time, fortunately, the AC was working, the room was freezing and they have changed the stupid old cable tv to videocon dth, which is good. Lunch was horrible and expensive, dinner was crap with no taste whatsoever. Breakfast was surprisingly good (please note this is the only resort in the ecr stretch that provides complimentary dinner and breakfast.
But as always a lovely location, close to the beach guess the location is what that keeps this resort going, in short, you get what you pay for in this resort, period.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the first floor, ground floor does not have any view!!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews