We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mahabs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mahabs
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed in the place for a day in deluxe room which was for 2700+taxes. We did not get any lower rooms as they were full but they also looked good.
The location of the hotel is great as it is situated in the heart of the city. All the places to visit are within walking distance. It is front of the bus stand and in middle of the market but still slightly away to be peaceful. Highlights are swimming pool and the peaceful environment.
The food is above average and you only get beer from the restaurant.
The staff is courteous and friendly and would get good advice from the reception about how and which places to visit. They have in-house taxi service also

To sum it up, a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    117
    75
    17
    6
See reviews for
65
110
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very nice hotel perfectly situated for visiting village/beach/temple, the rooms are comfortable but nothing special, but the balcony and swimming pool are the highlights for this hotel. The restaurant serves very nice food, and the restaurant staff are particularly friendly. All the staff are helpful, and our rooms were ready even though we arrived early.

Room Tip: delux rooms were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChBeKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We are staying in this hotel in fascinating MAHABALIPURAM. We checked on 13 Jan very late at night. The room was O.K but the water pressure was zero. I could not take a shower instead I used the bucket. However the next day we received a bigger room and a shower that works. The staff is very helpful and the place is like an Oasis in the center of the village. Close to every thing. I recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: First to second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Israeltourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed here 2nd Jan to the 6th Jan. To be honest I have not stayed at a hotel of this class since I was much younger and roughing it a bit but the Raddison was booked out for this period and I had to look else where. Reading reviews of all the other hotels on Trip Advisor I got very confused. Good reviews/bad reviews, no other hotel seemed to have consistent reviews. I stumbled across Mahabs and thought for $50 a night why not give it a try. The hotel is set back from the main street, so it is away from all the hussle and bussle but only 3 minutes walk from shops if you need water etc. Central to the hotel is a very nice, very clean pool with the hotel building on three sides. There is an abundance of trees and plants which give a very tropical feel.
All rooms apart from the suites on the third floor have a balconcy with two chairs and a small table, the room is a fair size about 15 foot by 20. There is a flat screen TV with lots of cable stations many in english. There is a small refrigerator and a split system airconditioner. The beds have a 6 to 7 inch foam rubber mattress on a wooden base ( not very comfortable). The entire room and bathroom are tiled, the bathroom is large but can get very slippery when wet and there are no rails to grab hold of. Breakfast is included and consists of cereal, eggs, toast about 3 or 4 Indian dishes with tea and coffee, served at a buffet. The hotel can arrange tours and taxis to Chennai, they also have one internet terminal. The taxi fare I paid for a journey to Chennai Airport in an AC car was 1300 rupees. The manager Mr. Manesh and one or two other of the front desk staff spoke very good English. So that is the essentials, now what to expect.
Firstly at this hotel it is a case of "You won't get if you don't ask". When you do ask for anything it is always no trouble or effort, the staff are all friendly and very obliging. It is just that they might not see the need to give you fresh towels or clean your room every day. It is probably a good idea to buy a cake of soap and a toilet roll before you arrive, as these are not considered essentials. Hot water in the bathroom can be a little bit of an issue, as you can have hot or cold water but just not both at once. You will probably need to ask how to turn the hot water on. Even then hot water is only for the shower not the hand basin. For $50 a night this hotel delivers, it is clean, has a great shady pool and you can just kick back on your balcony sipping a nice cold beer. They do not take credit card bookings so you will have to send monies by Western Union, as you will be instructed to do after booking on their site.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50+traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel in Oct. 2011. Among the other hotels I have stayed in during my India trip, this is an average hotel. The hotel reception seemed friendly and helpful, but we had to repeat some requests so that things will get done eventually. We had, in the Email reservation, requested an additional bed, but we had to repeat the request when we arrived, in addition to extra towel and extra blanket. The room had the typical Indian hotel smell, but not too strong. There was no toilette paper in the room, so we had to request that too. The problem was that we asked that everything will be supplied while we were out sightseeing, but when we got back, we saw that nothing happened. Only when we got back and repeated our requests, things started arriving, but one at a time, with the hotel personnel delivering one blanket, and then waiting by the door for a tip. When this repeated itself with the towel, the bed, the toilette paper, it was clear why they waited for us. The other two problems were that they had reconstruction going on, right at the same floor, so the stay was very noisy during the day, from early on. Additionally, there was no hot water when my wife took a shower, so we called the hotel staff, and eventually, after my wife had to wash in cold water, he managed to get the hot water running, by having it going for twenty minutes or so, before the temperature changed. We did not get any prior warning or instructions... Other than that, the hotel pool looked very inviting, the landscape pleasant, and breakfast was very good, including freshly made dosa. I would probably try another hotel, if I am ever in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YigalTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#6 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Ramakrishna
Hotel Ramakrishna
#17 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 km away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#13 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#22 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.7 km away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
9.5 km away
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
#11 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahabs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahabs

Property: Hotel Mahabs
Address: No.68 East Raja Street (Behind SBI-ATM), Mahabalipuram 603 104, India (Formerly Mahabs Inn)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,327 - ₹ 3,297
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mahabs 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, Booking.com and ClearTrip so you can book your Hotel Mahabs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing