We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome location, but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chariot Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chariot Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome location, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Location is awesome, easy walking distance to the town Mahabalipuram with many temples carved out of the rocks. (Start your sightseeing early, as it gets quite hot by noon.) The hotel is right on the beach, as well. However, the hotel overall is a bit underwhelming. Its website is has a much better design than the hotel itself.

By Indian urbanization standards, the grounds are tidy and nice, but there is not much in the room or in the common areas that look aesthetically pleasing in particular. There was some construction at the beach, where they were patching up thatched roofs of the large "umbrellas", so I could not get to use any shade. It'd be nicer if they did this maintenance (or first time construction, I could not tell) during the off season. Breakfast was a bit of a let down as well, very few dishes or fruit bowls looked appealing.

The rooms are clean overall, but the bathroom was too damp, I propped the door open so that room A/C could circulate the air of the bathroom. Don't be surprised to see faded, sort of permanent stains or rust spots on the towels or table cloths. It is not a bad hotel, but I thought it was overpriced for what it is. Radisson a few miles up north is much better, but I am not sure what the price difference would be.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TatilSeverUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    129
    78
    49
    43
See reviews for
111
96
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Our Room/Hut was wonderful! The grounds were beautiful, and they are building some gazebos with granite pathways right on the beach. We didn't use the pool, but it looked spectacular!

The restaurant however was a comedy of errors. Food very mediocre and one entree came out 45 minutes before the other. But the truth is we just laughed about the chaos, and hoped for their sake that they can improve the kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at the Chariot Beach Resort on 24/02/12 for just one night while on a business and leisure visit. The location is at Mahabalipuram- a satellite town around 50 kn from Chennai (Madras) and famous for its clean and long beach, but more famous locally for the stone carvings which are many hundred years old that are concentrated just on the inner road leading to this resort. The most famous being the chariots or rathas carved out of single stone boulders which are adjacent to the resort. I guess the resort derives its name from these stone carved Chariots.

The property is quite big with some of the rooms facing the sea directly. The rooms are quite well designed and equipped. Its looks like these rooms were made up long back but not maintained upto the mark. The aging of the bathroom fittings and the walls is showing up. The room I stayed was very dimly light and in the evenings its made quite a gloomy atmosphere. The rooms have a sit out porch outside and one can sit and look at the sea having a cup of tea/coffee or a nice glass of ones favorite liquor. The food menu is so-so...i.e. nothing great to write about. You get the standard indian, chinese and few continental options and the quality in terms of taste is also just average. The breakfast was tasting good, though it wasnt a big fare like one would expect from a INR 6000-7000/nt property. The swimming pool is average size but clean and maintained.

The staff is courteous and helpful. But the trained and professional staff is not available round the clock. At night the staff looked make-shift because they could hardly speak english and couldnt understand what i was telling them.

Overall I would rate the resort was just average because of the price to stay quality parity. If the price is brought down a few notches its will be better. Or other way round they can do a bit of investment for some renovation and maintain the current prices.!

Room Tip: Choose the ones which face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NRShastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

When my friend booked us here I was a bit concern about some negative reviews of this Resort on Tripadvisor.
We arrived on February 19th, 2012 and were awed by the beauty, serenity and welcoming atmosphere of this resort.
The open air lobby is beautiful and tastefully furnished. While having a drinks and snacks in open air restaurant, staff took care of all registrations, delivered our luggage to our rooms. The rooms in the main building are large, well designed and equipped with all amenities and view of the beautiful grounds, giant swimming pool as well as Bay of Bengal.
Service was perfect and not pushy, food was great, staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about local affairs. We practiced yoga every morning at the poolside and even some guest joined us. I travel to India at least once a year and have seen many resorts and hotels of all budgets, Chariot Beach resort was worth every penny.
I will sure to bring more people here and fully recommend it.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the second floor were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Charming hotel with a huge open reception and lounge area - leads on to a grassed area with seating and the restaurant on one side and the bar/disco on the other - down the garden stairs onto the pool area - ennnnormous pool - beautiful and quiet. Down again onto the beach and the sea and from about June '12 a new spa on the beach - an area of thatched beach huts with massage tables etc. Hope they can get rid of the various plastic items on the beach, mostly bottles that litter all over India. Loved the sand crabs though, scuttling around varying in size from half an inch to 2 inches.
No problems with reception - always very friendly and helpful. Room in the hotel good size nice bathroom - walk in shower - shower a bit odd - water would flunctuate from hot to tepid over a couple of minutes constantly. Mini fridge -good prices and freebie bottled water every day. A/C good but noisy - if you push the flaps up slightly then it does not blow directly onto the bed. Big problems in Tamil Nadu with the electricity supply so expect power cuts of at least 8 hours per day wherever you go. The hotel of course has generators but it can be a bit off putting when the lights go out even for a couple of minutes depending where you are!
Food and service were very good - management in the restaurant was very good and friendly - the waiters were generally very good but some of the 'new boys' needed help but nothing a bit of patience could not handle. If you don't want the buffet service - fairly pricey and as much as you can eat then you can dine a la carte for a very reasonable price.
However, there were some things that were definitely not 4 star - we were in the hotel and I gradually noticed the damp smell and feel around the place and it showed on the walls - don't know what that is about but it needs sorting. I think they may be trying to keep the hotel going on reduced staff - only one boy to look after all the rooms on our patch - sometimes did not get clean towels and made up beds until late afternoon. One pool guy who just basically put out towels for us - very polite and friendly and looked after the pool well but did not clear up around the pool or clean the pool bed mattresses or wash down the sides of the pool over the week we were there. No bar at the pool and no service at the pool from the garden bar. The pool area toilets/changing rooms need a thorough refurbishment. Then there was the mystery activities area - a huge area to the side of the hotel with one dilapidated tennis court (no lines and broken up surface) yet it had 2 new rackets and balls! An adventure playground for children and adults - volleyball court - paint ball area - thatched bar area and all totally unused! Reception did not mention it to us and it was not referred to in the room info at all. Very strange - we found it by accident (the track to it had a 'private' notice on it). The one old guy looking after it was very proud of it and loved running around the tennis court being a ball boy and score keeper for us. No one else appeared to use it the week we were there.
The wiring around the hotel grounds was a bit of a nightmare but nothing unusual in India - wires connected up with tape - one pool light hanging by its wire in the pool - junction boxes broken and open. I would still recommend this hotel though for all it's faults it was a real chill out hotel - enjoy.

Room Tip: You can upgrade to bungalows in the grounds - however they had very dim lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
2.3 km away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#1 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.9 km away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
15.2 km away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Esthell Village Resort
Esthell Village Resort
#10 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.2 km away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#12 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#6 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chariot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chariot Beach Resort

Property: Chariot Beach Resort
Address: Five Rathas Road | Behind Five Rathas Monument, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,372 - ₹ 18,241
Hotel Class:4 star — Chariot Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Chariot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chariot Beach Hotel Mahabalipuram
Fortune Chariot Beach Hotel
Fortune Chariot Beach Mahabalipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing