We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ringside View of Kanchenjunga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rabdentse Residency
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Pelling
Certificate of Excellence
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
898 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
“Ringside View of Kanchenjunga”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Pelling in western Sikkim is just about 40 kms (as the crow flies) from Kanchenjunga. For comparision Darjeeling is 80 kms (as the crow flies) from Kanchenjunga.
We were a family group of five(5) and had taken 2 Suites in Rabdentse Residency in Lower Pelling. Had a comfortable 2-nights stay. We had a super view of Kanchenjunga from our room. The food was Excellent. The staff were very nice & helpful.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for Kanchenjunga view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler-O-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    90
    28
    16
    12
See reviews for
115
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Well coming frm a place where one hardly gets the cool breeze and empty streets and a MOUNTAIN hill across!!! I would definitely say that this place is one of the superlative places I have ever been before. The rooms are all very beautifully decorated and amazingly spacious . It has rooms suited to each ones pockets ranging frm single rOoms to suites .. The food too is amazing and most importantly clean!!... The surrounding too is very pristine where u can see beautiful sikkimese villages across the hill. I mean wr else wud u b in the lap of luxury and nature all in the same place. And yes there is a slight steps of stairs leading u down to the hotel but I think it all aDds to the charm of rabdentse residency as it takes u away frm all the noise and commotion of the street so folks who are looking for a home stay wid great and I mean fantastic service go for this haven

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yangchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Rajesh Iyer, Mumbai

Pelling is a chilling place to visit especially in December...From the hotel, one can have a very nice view of Kanchenjunga. The ambience of the hotel is very good and the wall paintings / maps are all very informative. The food in the hotel is also good. An appeal to the hotel management - you may arrange for some campfire kind of activities on the hotel backyard for the tourists who want to have some fun and party ! Otherwise, the trip and stay in Pelling was an excellent and memorable one!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajesh_iyer_mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Pelling has changed a lot since the last time I visited there. Its a small quiet village with a breathtaking view of the Kanchendzonga. Tourist facilities like hotels, restaurants etc are not in plenty. Though there are a couple of good hotels, but you need to plan ahead and book one before you reach this town. Ideally your journey will start from New Jalpaiguri(NJP) or Siliguri (both in West Bengal). Over here itself you can book your hotel. Options are few but ideally you can choose from luxury to lower ends. We stayed at Rabdentse Residency. The cost is very much season dependent. During Sep-Oct, the costs are high. At the onset of winter prices fall as few tourist visit the place. But this doesn't mean you dont get the cream. Infact, I would suggest to tour Pelling somewhere in early November. Your mode of transport will be Tata Sumo or Mahindra Max. If you are travelling in a group of aout 5-6, it comes cheaper (cost per person) as you may like to book the entire cab. It takes about 5-6 hrs from Siliguri/NJP. The roads are not so good for the major part of the journey. Nearby, there are a couple of good places to visit. Like Khechupalri Holy lake, Rock Garden, Pemayangtse Monastery, Rabdantse Ruins, and couple other falls. All these can be covered in a local trip. Overall, it was great being there. It was refreshing and I enjoyed every moment of my stay in this peaceful town.

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms on reaching the hotel. The service is very good and the people are very friendly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rangan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Me, my wife and 2 sons stayed at this hotel from 23-25 December 2011. Very clean and spotless. The view magnificent. The staff are very responsive. My 13 years old son had a terrible stomach pain at almost midnight. All chemist shops/pharmacies were closed. Without any request, Mr. Nayak, the hotel manager, accompanied me to one of his friend's house...and he managed to get me (am a medical professional) some herbal stuff that worked magic. I shall never forget this consideration. I thank him very much for this spontaneous consideration. We shall come back.
Jhoomuck from Mauritius.

Room Tip: That give views to the majestic Kanchennga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrpAdvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pelling hotels
1.9 km away
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
#15 of 19 in Pelling
97 reviews
0.1 km away
Summit Newa Regency
Summit Newa Regency
#7 of 19 in Pelling
237 reviews
0.3 km away
Norbu Ghang Resort
Norbu Ghang Resort
#2 of 19 in Pelling
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
1.9 km away
Delight Hotels The Touristo
1.1 km away
The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabdentse Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabdentse Residency

Property: Rabdentse Residency
Address: Palden Estate, Lower Khechopalri Road | West Sikkim, Pelling 737113, India
Region: India > Sikkim > West Sikkim > Pelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Pelling
Price range (per night): ₹ 969 - ₹ 2,648
Hotel Class:2 star — Rabdentse Residency 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
 Spacious rooms, well constructed and airy. Wall to wall carpeting, private balcony, encircled by hotel’s own beautifully landscaped lawns and garden, where guest can walk and enjoy the panoramic views of mountain ranges. Original paintings by master artist. Attached bathroom with geyser. Complementary guest stationary and toiletries. Multi channel color television in all rooms. Intercom and telephone system. Laundry and dry cleaning facilities. In house generator. Room heater available at a nominal cost. Hot water bag and hard be on request. Doctor on call. Delicious Continental, Italian, Oriental, Mexican, Chinese, Sikkimiese and Indian cuisine. In room dinning. Garden coffee bar, Bar-B-Q and Chung parlor.  Travel & Trekking counter with full equipments and guide. Indoor and outdoor games. Member of PTDA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Rabdentse Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabdentse Residency Pelling, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing