We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Tashi Gang, Yangtey, Pelling”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tashigang Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tashigang Resort
Ranked #8 of 51 Pelling B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotel Tashi Gang, Yangtey, Pelling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

We have just returned from a trip to Yangtey, 10 km from Pelling. The hotel is good and has excellent views of the snow peaks. The bathrooms though need to be fixed . The sinks are dirty and the hot and cold channels don't work in the shower.But the rooms were good with wood floors and clean beds. Breakfast was buffet style and there was enough to eat. good garden area for kids to play around. No restaurants close by so have to eat at the hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank travelCrazy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
51
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

One of the best hotel near Pelling. It is located at Gayzling near Yangtey about 8 kms from pelling. We also saw Narbugang resort at Pelling, but as far as location is concerned tashigang resort has the best location. This hotel is on top of the mountain having all the sides open and you get an excellent view of the snow mountains. One of the best property but under rated, very open from all the sides.

They have rooms in the main building and cotages. All kind of accomodations has excellent view. The situation of the hotel is so nice that you feel like staying there for the full one day doing nothing. They have one more hotel in Yuksom. So there are two different Tashigang. The one near Pelling where we stayed is Tashigang resort and one in Yuksom is Tashigang hotel. The food they serve is very nice and the staff is very helpful.

  • Liked — Excellent location with superb view.
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank always_helpfulMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

yuksom is a charming village and the hub to all the fantastic treks to upper sikkim. While most of the accomadation is basic and geared to the back packer, the tashi gang hotel is geared towards those who want to chill and relax in an wonderful setting.

The rooms are absolutely tasteful, with wooden floors and ceilings, tibetan tankas and local tapestries. Its worth paying slightly higher for the mountain facing rooms and the balcony is where u will find yourself, contemplating life going by.

The views may not be stunning like Pelling, but on a clear day, look out between the green hills and gasp at the sight of mt kubra at a distance.

Service, food are exemplary and while at 1500 a night, it does sound very pricey compared to the sub 500 rooms you get elsewhere, its definely a place to live in to relax and enjoy the climes around.

I just wish we had more time here, also would be nice if the chair in the balcony are more full size, it does get a wee bit tiring sitting on those super low cane seaters.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijaykrishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

Well the hotel is owned by danny denjongappa( film star).. The hotel has an excellent and mesmerisingview of the mountain range. specially mount kanchunganga..Sunrise was breath taking and it seemed as if i can just touch the peak of teh mountain.
Awesome. Awesome Awesome.!!!

  • Liked — location an dview from resort
  • Disliked — far from main town
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunny1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

My husband and I landed in Pelling and went straight to Tashi Gang resort just a little away from the main town of Pelling. The first sight that greeted us was the Kanchanjunga. As we went up the winding path towards the resort, the mountain just loomed upon us and we kept wishing that we'd be able to see it from our room. Well, we didn't have to wish too hard, because all rooms in Tashi Gang open up to the Himalayan ranges and especially to a magnificent view of the Kanchanjunga.

The room was really nice, of course, do not expect 5 star luxury at any place in Sikkim, but we had absolutely no complaints. The bedsheets were clean, the bathroom spacious with a 24 hours supply of hot water. (very much required in Sikkim). The best part of the room was huge french windows that gave you a view of the mountains right from your bed.

The service was excellent. Everyone on the staff spoke English, so communicating wasn't a problem. The food was also very good, they served us a variety of dishes. We were especially impressed with the service because one night we requested them for a traditional Sikkimese dish, a curry with Bamboo shoots, and they not only served us that, but the entire meal was a specially created Sikkimese affair. At no extra cost! We had Bamboo shoot curry, soup, Thupka, and Momos.

A couple of things that could have been better - the breakfast spread, and the bar options. But overall, a wonderful place to stay, literally away from civilization. We had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inditrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelling
2.2 km away
Norbu Ghang Resort
Norbu Ghang Resort
#2 of 19 in Pelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.8 km away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
2.1 km away
Summit Newa Regency
Summit Newa Regency
#6 of 19 in Pelling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Chumbi Mountain Retreat & Spa
36.5 km away
The Royal Oaks
The Royal Oaks
#56 of 113 in Gangtok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.0 km away
Rabdentse Residency
Rabdentse Residency
#5 of 19 in Pelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashigang Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashigang Resort

Property: Tashigang Resort
Address: Yangtey (Pelling ) | West Sikkim, Pelling 737111, India
Region: India > Sikkim > Pelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pelling
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,100 - ₹ 5,100
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Tashigang Resort Pelling, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing