We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was there for lunch only.”
Review of Samode Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samode Palace
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Was there for lunch only.”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were staying at Jaipur and happened to find a day off. Decided to visit Samode palace for lunch on the advise of our hotel manager, and guys we were not disappointed. Lunch for two will be approximately Rs 3000/-. But the fun part is you get to see the palace if you have lunch there. They also provide you a guide, in our case it was Pandit-ji. He was a very charming fellow, and took us around the palace and also took photos of us. Team Samode palace, just a request, keep up your good work..!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bhageera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    146
    25
    16
    9
See reviews for
180
344
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arpora, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Where does one start when it comes to Samode Palace..... at the beginning I suppose! We immediately felt special when we found we had been upgraded to a delux room on the top floor of the palace with fabulous views of the surrounding hills. A lovely, breezy room with a sit out, nicely appointed but not too large or intimidating and a beautiful bathroom with a fabulous view.

We had been warned of noisy Delhiites taking over the palace on weekends so were very relieved to be the only guests the night we were there. After lunch in the courtyard we were taken around the palace by one of the staff and enjoyed walking through the stunning reception rooms that are used for parties and weddings these days.

What was immediately evident was the fact that the staff (most of them from local people from the surrounding village whose families had been attached to the palace for generations) were so proud of the palace and felt a deep personal connection with the place and it's current owners. You never get that feeling from staff working at some soul-less, impersonal five star hotel. The service was excellent. Professional and discrete but with a human touch. We felt like honoured guests of the owners, not like paying customers.

What we loved about Samode Palace is the quiet elegance of the buildings -- and every now and then we would come across a stunningly decorated area with exquisitely painted walls and ceilings made all the more lovely because of the surprise. The subtle, sophistication takes Samode Palace to a completely different level when compared with many other palaces and havelis in Rajasthan.

We had lunch in the courtyard, a fantastic dinner by the rooftop pool and breakfast in the exquisitely painted dining hall. Great food and a fabulous wine list -- completely unexpected in a place so far off the beaten track.

One small tip for whoever is doing such a great job here -- every good hotel in the world today gives guests the option of indicating when they want their bed and bath linen changed. Most guests are aware that the mountains of laundry generated by hotels is a huge strain on the environment especially in a state like Rajasthan where water is scarce. A simple card in the room / bathroom for guests with a small eco-friendly message would be a nice touch.

All in all a fantastic conclusion to our magical holiday in Rajasthan. Wish we could have stayed forever!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoanBananas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Palace, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Samode Palace and taking out time to share your experience. I am very pleased to hear about your observations of my colleagues at Samode and the management is indeed very proud of the entire team.

I am also happy to know that the services and stay was to your satisfaction and we appreciate your valuable feedback.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Samode in the near future.

with regards

K P Singh
Vice President - Sales & Marketing
Samode Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We visited the Samode Palace during the Eid weekend ... We drove down from Gurgaon and the drive upto Dharuhera was a nightmare! The road beyond that was fine and actually very pretty. The Palace is located on top of a hillock and is very pretty and affords nice views.
As expected, the place was fully booked! The hotel itself was very pretty and has been well restored from a 300 year old palace to a modern day hotel. The staff are still dressed in traditional costumes and welcome you nicely. The room we chose was a deluxe suite since we were traveling with kids and wanted the extra space. There was a nice flor level seating/ bed arrangement ... Useful for lounging around and kids to sleep in. The room (207) was a bit dark though and the purple furnishings gave it a gloomy look at first glance. However, it came with a nice pool view balcony. We spent a fair bit of time in the room as our son is at the age where he runs around and the place with low railings was a bit of a scare for us ... The hotel offers a nice selection of DVDs ... They could upgrade to flat screen TVs though! The food was nice and the breakfast spread really good! Lunch was a fairly limited spread but it was well made. We had dinner in our room both nights and the room service menu was good and the food came on time. Our holiday experience was spoiled by my falling ill on the second day ... We asked the hotel for some medicine which they provided and also had breakfast sent to the room the next day. Overall, a nice place for a weekend break and would like to come back again sometime.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Meenu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and taking out time to write a review of your recent stay at Samode Palace.

I do hope you have recovered fully and look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Samode Palce.

With regards

K P Singh
Vice President - Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This place is away from any possible hustle bustle.... in the middle of a village..... you really need to find your way through unpaved roads and narrow lanes.
Once you are there, you can relax in the comfort worthy of kings !!
The rooms are big and in some cases luxurious.... the bathrooms are luxurious too !!
You are treated like a king by the humble and very friendly staff, who give you the authentic feeling of "Rajasthani service"....
the restaurant serves delicious food.....
There are huge terraces all around the property.... and a lot of steps to climb wherever you go around the property.......

It is worth a visit if you are looking for someplace to sit back and relax and do nothing else.....
Overall, it is a great place, though I would have preferred the room rate and food prices to be more economical and "value for money".

Room Tip: there are a lot of steps everywhere, in case you are travelling with older people or have health iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your observations and taking out time to write a review of your recent stay at Samode Palace.

I am glad that you had a wonderful experience and we look forward to your stay once again in the near future.

With regards

K P Singh
Vice President - Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A great place to visit for a short trip if you are visiting Rajasthan or even for a weekend trip from Delhi. The place is about 220 kms (4 to 5 hours drive) from Delhi. And once you are off the highway the drive through the villages is very scenic. The palace itself is very nicely maintained and has restored some of the areas brilliantly. Sheesh Mahal (literally means palace of mirrors) and darbar mahal - which has Rajasthani style frescos make the place worth time and money.

The rooms are big and spacious done up in the traditional way with all modern amenities. You should ask for a mountain view room. They have two restaurants; one is the fusion food place, while i am not the fusion food type but the restaurant itself is very nicely done and surely is one of the prettiest resturant you will see in this part of the world. Second is the multi-cuisine place, here they have the buffet (not reccommended - over priced/less variety) however, you got to try the samode special chicken which is delicious!

From activity point of view you can go for small treks around the property and there is a ancient temple nearby (3/4 km hike). The palace has two swimming pools as well. An infinity pool nestled between hills - is very scenic but can be crowded and is not kids friendly. The other one is the regular pool with separate splash pool for kids.

Overall a great place to stay. Only word of caution is for people who find climbing stairs difficult, you should avoid this place as there are lot of stairs to access the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regulus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving a detailed description of Samode Palace and I am grateful to you for taking out time to write a review.

We have made a note of your feedback on the variety of food on display for the buffet and assure you that we will look into it.

I look forward to your visit again soon at Samode Palace and we also have another property, Samode Bagh, only 4 kms from the Palace, which you could visit during your next visit to Samode.

With regards

K P Singh
Vice President - Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samode
30.5 km away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#13 of 380 in Jaipur
1,184 reviews
32.6 km away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#7 of 380 in Jaipur
2,008 reviews
34.2 km away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 380 in Jaipur
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Chomu Palace Hotel
Chomu Palace Hotel
#77 of 380 in Jaipur
237 reviews
37.4 km away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 380 in Jaipur
1,356 reviews
31.7 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 380 in Jaipur
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Palace

Property: Samode Palace
Address: Samode 302002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Samode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,743 - ₹ 24,261
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samode Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Samode Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Palace Hotel Samode
Samode Palace Hotel Jaipur
Samode Palace Jaipur
Samode Palace Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing