We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalahari Experience”
Review of Gamagara Lodge

Gamagara Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gamagara Lodge
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We visited Kathu when my husband participated in the Kalahari Golf Challenge. We stayed at Gamagara for 4 nights.
The room we stayed in was small but adequate. The bedding and the amenities was of high quality. The room provided most creature comforts (Cable TV, Aircon, Coffee & Tea facilities, fridge).The room was cleaned daily and the bedding was changed once while we were there.
I was not too impressed with the breakfast but I am hard to please when it comes to food. The others in our group were satisfied with the meals.
The service is good and the people are friendly. Safe parking.
We will definitely return. The rates are affordable considering the high quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

Gamagara has recently renovated its rooms and they are now very modern and in line with the most comfortable modern hotels one would visit on business travel. The restaurant offers good food at a very affordable price, and the service is efficient and relatively friendly.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Poranic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for a work trip. Sadly lacking in internet access but staff friendly, food quite good. Rooms rather basic (I missed a hairdryer and a safe!) but beds (my room had one double and one single) were very comfortable with very high quality sheets and duvets. Equally, a basic bathroom had nice toiletries and good towels. Didn't use the pool but looked fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Do you like cramped rooms with small single beds? Do you like to shower in a bath with a curtain? Do you like noisy contractors as neighbours? Then this is the place for you.

I spent an unfortunate week here. It looked like a decent place with the fancy entrance and promising restaurant. But it wasn't. With each shower, the torrent of water flooded the room. The small CRT TV (dating back to the 80ties) had broken buttons and no remote. The room was small and so was the bed. Bedding and matress quality was that of cheap a road side motel.

One night I did not get much sleep because drunk contractors who stayed at the hotel, were drinking outside their rooms on the curb inside the lodge's grounds. A dangerous situation. Next morning the place was full of broken bottles.

Then there is the restaurant. Worst service you can imagine and food is mediocre and expensive. They forgot my order of steak and when it did come, it was over done. I ALWAYS tip but that night I did not.

Then there is the deceiving star rating against the wall. Deceiving because it is expired by a few years. This place is in my opinion preying on the desperate shortage of accommodation in Kathu. There standards are terrible because they are always fully booked.

Avoid at all cost if you are a tourist or business person.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louis1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathu
0 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
680 reviews
0 km away
Garden Court South Beach
0 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#17 of 44 in Durban
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#3 of 4 in Vereeniging
279 reviews
0 km away
Urban Hotel Kathu
Urban Hotel Kathu
#2 of 3 in Kathu
38 reviews
0 km away
Aberdeen House
Aberdeen House
#3 of 31 in Newcastle
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamagara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamagara Lodge

Address: Map Ref no 18. | PO Box 902, Kathu, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kathu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kathu
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Gamagara Hotel Kathu
Gamagara Lodge Kathu, Northern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing