We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveller rating
253
416
155
53
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
416
155
53
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour posterswimming poolhuge bathroomsitting areabuffet dinnerfairy taleold worldstayed one nightdining hallsmall townreception areashekhawati regionturrettourindiacourtyardcolumns
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 897 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2007

If you know what your going to then fine. But be warned if your used to 'usual standard hotels in India'. We went as part of a tour and were told it was a 'heritage' hotel. What a shock. We stayed in one of the tower rooms but it was nothing like previous reviews. Ours was dingy sparsely furnished with the noisiest air conditioning unit we've ever heard. The food was awful and not very appetising.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Yammy1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

I just wanted to write that if you are in Mandawa then you can stay in the best hotel unlike other places where the best will cost a bomb.

We were a group of friends, in early thirties, one kid to most of us annd we were planing to stay at 'Piramal Haveli' at Bagad which we didn;t like too much so we reached Mandawa.

Imagine that anyone who visits Mandawa, whether its President or a big hollywood actor, the best which is available is Castle.

for more details on what we did , you can refer to my detailed blog on various Indian Places at

http://journeytor.blogspot.com/

Enjoy !!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Journeytor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2007

This hotel was a real surprise as it was the lowest grade hotel on our tour around Rajasthan and we approached with trepidation.

However we had a great room - a complete tower with private entrance onto the ramparts. The bathroom was cold and more water pressure would have been good but other than that this hotel has great character and staff who genuinely care.

They did make us eat outside which, bearing in mind temperatures of around 4C, seemed a little odd when they have a beautiful dining room. However the buffet food was excellent and ranked No. 1 buffet on the whole of the trip. The entertainment was unecessary but I am sure we would have had a different opinion if the weather had been better.

All in all well worth a visit and the town was refreshing after Jaipur. It was a real town and people had a purpose here not just trying to rip of tourists.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackiemUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2006

We stayed in a tower room -- literally, in one of the castle towers. The walls were 4 feet thick. The lights in the room were bare bulbs hanging from the high ceiling, but the four-poster bed was adequately comfortable. The bathroom was very large and had a shower stall large enough for a family. ;>) The public spaces, dining room, lounge, garden, and pool area, were palatial. The staff was good, and attractively turned out in turbans and semi-military costumes, but not great. Mandawa is probably the poorest town we stayed in during our tour of Rajastan. The vehicle courtyard is a dustbowl. Textiles are the specialty craft of the area. Frescoed havelis (merchants' town homes) are the characteristic architectural feature of the town.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Oldrotorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2006

I wasn't initially staying in Mandawa but after gaining an extra day, I'm so glad I did. This hotel was great. Situated in the heart of the town, you drive up into the "castle" and it felt like a cross between a medieval castle and a moroccan souk! The room I had was spacious and clean. The only complaint was that the bathroom could be updated as it was fairly basic and the shower was poor.
There is a recent addition of a swimming pool which was fantastic after a long hot drive, although part of the changing room building was still being fitted out, it didn't detract from the great pool.
The breakfast was fine and the staff very attentive. There aren't many places to eat in Mandawa so we ate dinner outside in the hotel gardens which was a buffet. The hotel provides some local entertainment in the form of dancing.
Ensure you get out of the castle and wander around the town, the havellis are impressive and the locals friendly, the prices for handicarafts are relatively cheap too compared with Delhi or Mumbai.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews