We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it except for the shower!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Mandawa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Mandawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2007

I thought this was a lovely heritage hotel, great character, beautiful frescoes, and a marvellous escape from the anonymity and uniformity of many hotels in India. I loved the roof-top restaurant, coal fires and wicker chairs. My only problem was with the shower. The water was freezing (it was December) and the boiler should have been turned ON when the room was reserved (that's what thermostats are for). There was neither a parapet around the shower area, nor any shower curtains, so basically the entire bathroom got drenched each time one needed cleansing. This is not pleasant even if one is solo, and even less if there are more than one person to a room.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank widesargassosea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 377 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2007

If you know what your going to then fine. But be warned if your used to 'usual standard hotels in India'. We went as part of a tour and were told it was a 'heritage' hotel. What a shock. We stayed in one of the tower rooms but it was nothing like previous reviews. Ours was dingy sparsely furnished with the noisiest air conditioning unit we've ever heard. The food was awful and not very appetising.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Yammy1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

I just wanted to write that if you are in Mandawa then you can stay in the best hotel unlike other places where the best will cost a bomb.

We were a group of friends, in early thirties, one kid to most of us annd we were planing to stay at 'Piramal Haveli' at Bagad which we didn;t like too much so we reached Mandawa.

Imagine that anyone who visits Mandawa, whether its President or a big hollywood actor, the best which is available is Castle.

for more details on what we did , you can refer to my detailed blog on various Indian Places at

http://journeytor.blogspot.com/

Enjoy !!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Journeytor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2007

This hotel was a real surprise as it was the lowest grade hotel on our tour around Rajasthan and we approached with trepidation.

However we had a great room - a complete tower with private entrance onto the ramparts. The bathroom was cold and more water pressure would have been good but other than that this hotel has great character and staff who genuinely care.

They did make us eat outside which, bearing in mind temperatures of around 4C, seemed a little odd when they have a beautiful dining room. However the buffet food was excellent and ranked No. 1 buffet on the whole of the trip. The entertainment was unecessary but I am sure we would have had a different opinion if the weather had been better.

All in all well worth a visit and the town was refreshing after Jaipur. It was a real town and people had a purpose here not just trying to rip of tourists.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackiemUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2006

We stayed in a tower room -- literally, in one of the castle towers. The walls were 4 feet thick. The lights in the room were bare bulbs hanging from the high ceiling, but the four-poster bed was adequately comfortable. The bathroom was very large and had a shower stall large enough for a family. ;>) The public spaces, dining room, lounge, garden, and pool area, were palatial. The staff was good, and attractively turned out in turbans and semi-military costumes, but not great. Mandawa is probably the poorest town we stayed in during our tour of Rajastan. The vehicle courtyard is a dustbowl. Textiles are the specialty craft of the area. Frescoed havelis (merchants' town homes) are the characteristic architectural feature of the town.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Oldrotorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandawa
9.5 km away
Vivaana
Vivaana
#1 of 15 in Mandawa
843 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mandawa Haveli
Hotel Mandawa Haveli
#3 of 15 in Mandawa
267 reviews
3.5 km away
Sara Vilas Hotel
Sara Vilas Hotel
#7 of 15 in Mandawa
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Desert N Dunes Mandawa
0.3 km away
Hotel Shekhawati
Hotel Shekhawati
#4 of 15 in Mandawa
358 reviews
30.8 km away
Alsisar Mahal
Alsisar Mahal
#1 of 2 in Alsisar
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Mandawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mandawa Hotel

Address: District Jhunjhunu, Mandawa 333704, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jhunjhunu District > Mandawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Mandawa
Price Range: ₹ 7,084 - ₹ 13,146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mandawa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like many historic homes, Castle Mandawa is a curious mixture of the old and the new. Medieval turreted towers, palanquin-roofed balconies, blend with modern comforts in old-world rooms. Family portraits, antique cannons and arms add to the charm of this family-run resort where tradition still runs strong. Today, the world comes to this storybook town to see its colourful frescoes on every subject under the sun, that is, ranging from the religious to the erotic; from copies of popular English prints to witty social satire, rendered in the inimitable style of the local artist. And perhaps the best place to discover the legacy of Shekhawati is from the comfort of Castle Mandawa, a fortress, now converted into a luxurious heritage hotel. Explore Castle Mandawa at your own pace. Spend a leisurely hour over a drink in the colonial verandah that accommodates the bar, or relax in the cosy comfort of the Diwankhana, the formal drawing room decorated with family portraits and an array of antique armour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Castle Mandawa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Mandawa
Mandawa Castle Hotel
Castle Mandawa Hotel Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing