We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Udai Vilas Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Udai Vilas Palace
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Mandawa
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Lovely hotel, clean and spacious. Hotel is quite far out of city but nice and quiet. Delicious meals and great entertainment. Dances and puppet show quite entertaining. Drive from Delhi to Mandawa is terrible, got car sick a few times. But all in all, good sight seeing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    39
    42
    1
    7
See reviews for
21
41
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night as part of our tour of India.

The drive from Jaipur to Mandawa was not good.
Mandawa is an ok place, I wouldnt advise going to Manadawa unless you planned to stay more than one night.
The hotel was isolated which is not a bad thing if you want peace and quiet.

When we arrived we were greeted with a cold drink.
There were only 4 other guest at this hotel.
The reception staff was hit and miss. They require your passport on arrival. But my mate left his in his case. We were told its ok, we can bring the passport when we unpacked.
But as were about to leave another receptionist appeared and barked ''Passports''. He could do with a course on how to speak to people politely. I tried to explain but guess what his english was poor, luckily for us the other receptionist arrived and told him its ok.

We took the passports to reception they took a copy and gave it back to us.

3 hrs later we were about to go out with our guide and another receptionist appeared and barked again ''PASSPORTS''
These guys didnt have a clue what they were doing. Glad we were only staying one night.

The hotel was clean but bcz of the desert it was dusty.
The room was large with comfortable beds.
The toilet/bath was good with powerful showers and the AC worked.
There was tea/coffee and also also soap/shampoo etc.

When we arrived at 1pm there was nothing to do.
No wifi. So we thought that we would watch some tv. But the TV wasnt working. Then we thought that we would take a dip in the pool but the pool was dirty.
We asked at reception about the TV and the pool.
We were told that the pool will be cleaned in 30mins and someone with check on the TV.
After 2hrs no one came and the pool and the tv was the same, we went to reception again and was told dont worry it will be sorted.

We had lunch at the restaurant and we ordered someting oriental, the food I guess was made fresh and it was quite good. The glasses on the table was dirty so we drank out of the cans. All the glasses were dirty. We wondered if anyone came to this hotel. The dinning area was quite grand, however.
We went back to the room to have a coffee and guess what..... the cups and the glasses were dirty, old stains of either coffee or cola. Not the usual coffee stains but literally stale coffee residue at the bottom.

Lucky out guide decided to give us a tour of Mandawa early as there was nothing to do.
Mandawa was ''painted houses' thats all really.
But we enjoyed the tour.

When we arrived back at the hotel still the pool was dirty and the TV not sorted.
We felt let down expecially when the manager gave us his word.
THe hotel was empty and we couldnt understand why they couldnt send someone.
We went back to reception and complained and they sent someone to the room.
They came and started to giggle the wires behind the tv, sparks could be heard and the lights in the room started to flicker.
They did this for 10minutes. I asked if the tv in the other rooms were working. He said yes. So I said to him ''would it not be easier to change room than to electrocute yourself''. We changed rooms and the tv was ok. The solution was so simple but it took 4 complaints and 4 hrs later.
The pool still wasnt cleaned and we thought lets cut out losses and forget about the pool.

We had dinner and it was good. One for the servers was really friendly, chatted with us etc.
Made us laugh and was really knowlegable about Mandawa etc.
If it wasnt for him we would have thought that this hotel didnt know about customer service.

Checkout was easy. ONLY CASH no cards excepted.

I wondered if this hotel was a bit busy, if the pool would have been cleaned?
We had a good sleep.
Reception wasnt the friendliest.

I wouldnt stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matrix1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We decided to visit Mandawa after finding about it online and zeroed in on Udai Vilas Palace. The route from Delhi - Mandawa is pathetic and does not have good roads but is the only way to reach this place. Finally, we managed to find the place and were greeted by a traditional teeka welcome. We were shown to our room which was large and luxurious but was quite worn out(cheap repairs).

The staff was kind to arrange a traditional dance/puppet show for us. And we ate some of the best rajasthani food we ever tasted.

The only drawback of the place is its location which makes it unsuitable if you are visiting it during off season with your family. You might end up being the only people in the resort at night. And with the desert in the 10 KM radius, you might not get the best sleep.

Oh, and the resort does not accept credit cards. They have been accepting cash only for the last two years.

Room Tip: Nice Food. Avoid during off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Discoverer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stumbled across Mandawa while searching something “different” to usher in the new decade. Quick search showed several options and we settled on Udai Vilas Palace after considering everything tripadvisor and the others had to offer.
Proved to be a good choice all considered. Nice clean rooms though the food was nothing to write home about. Did not start off so well with the promised tea / coffee arrangements missing from the room, but was restored quickly after some effort. New year eve “gala” dinner & “snacks” left much to be desired but was adequately made up with the atmosphere that was created by Madan Singh – the Puppet man, singer, historian, cultural guide, shopkeeper & translator all rolled into one.
Next morning however made up for all the worldly needs for food, adventure and entertainment, touch of rustic Rajasthan and lots of sand, thanks to Ashok Dhabhai who arranged the camel ride from Chaukhani Haveli to the village and the sumptuous traditional lunch he organized at the village. Look for Ashok’s office as you leave the Mandawa castle on your left.
Havelis to my undiscerning eye were the same though others claimed them to be different by way of painting, design and well, whatever.
Coming back to to Uday Vilas, the staff is good. Rooms and décor is wonderful. Location is great for people like us who prefer the settings far from the crowd. Overall superb tour & we had great fun.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Pretty average accommodation, little atmosphere, tacky decor and totally unremarkable food. Staff were largely indifferent. One of them recommended not to have drinks with ice as the water they use to make it is unsafe!
Mandawa is a very interesting place to wander around and this hotel is too far out of town for that.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AusInNepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandawa hotels
5.5 km away
Vivaana
Vivaana
#1 of 14 in Mandawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
15.0 km away
Castle Mandawa Hotel
Castle Mandawa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Mandawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
11.6 km away
Sara Vilas Hotel
Sara Vilas Hotel
#6 of 14 in Mandawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Hotel Shekhawati
Hotel Shekhawati
#5 of 14 in Mandawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
15.0 km away
Hotel Radhika Haveli Mandawa
15.1 km away
Hotel Desert N Dunes Mandawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Udai Vilas Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udai Vilas Palace

Property: Udai Vilas Palace
Address: Mukundgarh Road | District Jhunjhunu, Mandawa 333704, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Mandawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Mandawa
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,901 - ₹ 7,147
Hotel Class:2 star — Udai Vilas Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Stayzilla so you can book your Udai Vilas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Vilas Palace Mandawa, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing