We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”
Review of Ramathra Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramathra Fort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Exquisitely comfortable with impeccable taste. A wonderful example of a historic building restored perfectly. The best hotel room in the world with views stretching miles and miles and complete peace apart from jackals calling at night and birdsong. Complete treat and so glad to have three nights there. Food was delicious and generous. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnnieInDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ramathra Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Annie,

Thanks for staying with us and writing a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear of your excellent overall stay experience. Thanks for praising our rooms and food. It's been a pleasure serving you. We would love to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Ramathra Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

I cannot even begin to sing the praise of this hotel. The service, our room and the safari were beyond our expectations. We were even upgraded to the luxury suite! If you are comfortable with a remote experience then this is a must! It came highly recommended from our travel agent, Hidden India Tours, and couldn't have been more spot on. The only negative would be that the hotel loses electricity if the generators are affected by wind. We weren't bothered because we were committed to being off the grid. (It only goes out for a couple of minutes, never without for more than 10 min)

BTW: the food was AMAZING! Really Indian cooking with fresh roti brought to the table on demand!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ramathra Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Emily,

Thanks for staying at Ramathra Fort. Thanks for lovely review highlighting our location, views, amenities, rooms, food, and accommodation. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and found the place worth high recommendation. It's been a pleasure serving you. We would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Beautiful property in a very remote area of Rajasthan. Nice decorated rooms (also the tent options looked nice) with views over the valley (incl. jacuzzi on the fort wall). Warm water supply was no issue at all compared to other locations in India. Boat ride on the lake was very relaxing and for sure for birdwatchers worth going.
Food (lunch, dinner) tasted well - however it seems they do not have dedicated service staff -> staff used the identical clothes all day long (for guiding tours as well as for serving dinner) what seems to be unusual for gastronomy. On breakfast the food was often touched by hand (e.g. the toast) as well as the coffee powder was re-used for multiple brews from the service staff. Overall handling of food as well as presentation was not on an acceptable level and needs significant improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IngCa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ramathra Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at Ramathra Fort. Thanks for praising our location, food, views and rooms. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we noted your concerns and reviewing the same from our end assure you the best hospitality ever during your next visit meanwhile we are thankful for providing the opportunity to serve at Ramathra Fort. We will be waiting for you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We were recommended the fort by our tour agents, Imagine India, London. They said we would be rewarded after a bumpy ride through the countryside and we certainly were rewarded with a peaceful retreat for three days. If you book here you'll need three days at least to appreciate the fort. The views were stunning, the staff extremely friendly and the food was authentic Indian cooking sourced locally. I must mention Hedran who was always around to help, make coffee etc. The highlight was the village trip and wilderness safari where we met the most friendly people in the world! Thank you Imagine India and Ellis Valentine for making our holiday special with this secret gem in India.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the countryside.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11MARTY52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ramathra Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your excellent review highlighting our hospitality. We are very pleased to hear of your great overall stay experience. Thanks for praising our location, views, services, and food. It's been a pleasure serving you. We would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

As we approached the fort along the rather bumpy road, we were excited by the tantalising distant views of it sitting proudly on the hilltop. The towering dry stone walls gave the fort a rather austere look, however, inside we were given an extraordinarily friendly welcome by the immaculately trained staff. A delicious lunch had been kept for us despite the fact that we only arrived at 3.00pm. Our spacious suite, with an double bath on the balcony, had glorious views for miles and miles. Over the next couple of days we walked down through the charming local rural village and were given a spectacular lake side picnic. After the picnic lunch there was time for a snooze on the mattresses that had been laid on the grass.

This hotel is a dream; luxurious (despite somewhat unreliable internet connection), excellent food, and delightful well trained staff.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hungygran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ramathra Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at Ramathra Fort. We are very happy to hear of your overall satisfaction with our location, food and service. Your touching remarks are highly inspiring and motivating for all of us. It's been a pleasure serving you. We would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karauli
35.3 km away
Bhanwar Vilas Palace
Bhanwar Vilas Palace
#1 of 2 in Karauli
178 reviews
39.9 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
282 reviews
37.6 km away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 km away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#10 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
59 reviews
38.7 km away
The Kipling Lodge
The Kipling Lodge
#1 of 20 in Ranthambore National Park
104 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Prakash
Hotel Prakash
#4 of 7 in Karauli
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramathra Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramathra Fort

Address: P.O. Sapotra, Karauli 322218, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Karauli District > Karauli
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Karauli
Price Range: ₹ 15,424 - ₹ 42,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramathra Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Ramathra Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramathra Fort Karauli, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing