We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary place…. 'Diamond hidden away in a corner'”
Review of Ramathra Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramathra Fort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2017

This hidden treasure in the middle of 'nowhere' in Rajasthan is pure unspoiled delight. We were not sure what to expect while driving through the nearby town and dusty roads full of bumps, but a very pleasant surprise was waiting for us around the corner, after a tortuous drive this destination is worth every pain.

On our arrival we got a hearty welcome with warm towels and welcome drink. We were so overwhelmed by the sheer beauty of the place that we forgot the tiredness of our long journey. We couldn't resist exploring the fort as soon as we were placed in our room. This is an imposing old fort giving 360 degree panoramic views of the surrounded countryside, lush green farms and the lake around. Ramathra is vey well restored and blended nice with modern day luxury, a very rare combination of history and comfort. Our suite was quite large with a separate living room, large balcony deck with a stunning view of the valley, a large bathroom and an open fire in the room which was lit and tended for us through the evening. We wanted to try the open Jacuzzi located at one of the Fort turret but unfortunately the weather didn’t permit us to use it as it was too cold and windy on the new years eve.

The fort and the village stand frozen in time as the world speeds by on it’s own merry way. This 12 room fort is a relief to overused senses, and offers you a complete disconnect from the world not easily available. If you are looking for an out of the beaten track place to spend few days in a peace with nothing else to do, this place gives you the opportunity to pay full attention to your loved ones whilst you are here, it all looks so different from any other places you could go to.

The most noticeable thing about staying at the Fort was the silence, the food is fresh, organic and very palatable coming straight from their own organic farm. They also organized an amazing sunset rowing boat excursion on the nearby lake. Hotel offers free Wifi dongle and warm water bottle in bed when its freezing outside.

Will surely come here again soon…..

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VishvVijaeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ramathra Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for a lovely review highlighting our hospitality and service. We enjoy serving our Guests and are happy to hear of your overall satisfaction. We are humbled by your detailed observations. Our team much appreciates your encouraging remarks. This provide our team a positive strength to provide more better. We are looking most positive to welcome you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Ramathra Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2017

So, I dont do 5 stars much, but what a wonderful place this is. Yes, it's off the beaten path (in terms of going from Agra to Jaipur it'll add 4-5 hours maybe) and yes the road gets smaller and smaller and bumpier and bumpier (even our driver was almost at his wits end by the time we made it here - the hotel had to send a motorbike down to guide us for the last section) and the villages are often disgustingly drowning in garbage (don't be put off, it's how things are and also worth seeing). But this place is set above it all and a peaceful haven.

The old fort is set above the plain with wonderful views from the rooms, ramparts (outdoor hottub on one section) as well as plenty of seating areas to relax in. It's all very tastefully done. What elevates the fort to more than just a nice hotel, are the available activities (many of which are free - our walk was). We only spent two nights here to have a day to relax between the crazy bustle of big Indian cities. Our "guide" (an older gentleman smartly dressed in a safari type uniform with some teeth missing) was just excellent and he walked us down from the fort past an old small temple and to their garden/farm where they grow the food they served us. We saw local greens as well as some livestock. The walk proceeded along a canal with kids swimming and on to a dam on a big lake (where you can take a boat for fun or food). They have other activities and had we known how much we'd enjoy this place we'd have stayed another night.

One of our rooms was a "big" one (forget the name, but they only have big/regular/tent to choose from. I would go for the big ones. They have a balcony with wonderful views as well as a tub/shower outdoors (and indoors). The tents sound kind of romantic from your living room, and they do have plumbing (your own bathroom) but depending on your sleeping habits they face the same courtyard as where everyone eats. As for eating, you obviously have no choice whatsoever in terms of where. We enjoyed all our meals here (in particular knowing most of it is grown on the property) and our gluten free daughter was taken care of.

Service is attentive, friendly and always willing. Paying in US dollars was no problem and the exchange rate was the official one.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jannep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ramathra Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your valuable feedback and we are happy to get to know that you had good time here at Ramathra Fort. and hope you enjoyed your all stays here. Being our special guest we appreciate for choosing our Hotel for your stay purpose and love to serve you always. We are again looking positive to welcome you always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Leaving Agra in the morning, the trip to Ramathra fort didn't look too far: perhaps 3-4 hours. We didn't count on the last 60 odd km which was incredibly slow along very bumpy roads and tracks. After 5-6 hours, we made one last dramatic climb to the entrance of Ramathra Fort. Immediately, we realised we were in a very very special place and the memory of the arduous drive melted away in a flash. You are met by the discreet but available staff and shown straight away to your room. No complicated check in. The rooms were of simple, authentic luxury. Our room looked out over a stunning valley spotted with the beginnings of the evening mist. The peace enveloped us as we unpacked our bags and visited the 350 renovated fort. The ramparts have two round turrets on each corner affording a truly mystical view over their own kitchen gardens to a vast lake with eagles / storks flying in to settle down for the evening. For dinner, we sat around a fire in the garden before being treated to a sumptuous dinner serving 4 or 5 types of food for each course with delicious home made pickles. We also discovered their unbelievable home made halwa. This was repeated for every meal for the next two days. Oh my goodness! After the night, they took us for a walk into the village where (as the ONLY tourists), we strolled meeting the inhabitants, drinking tea with them and having a ton of fun taking photos of the children who happily chased us around asking "one photo" at every occasion. We also took a boat ride on the lake, visited their kitchen garden and went on a camel ride. They also kindly offered to extend our stay until after lunch on day 3 offering us graciously another sumptuous lunch at no extra cost. We also had our clothes washed very cheaply (nothing like normal hotel prices) and placed neatly back in our room.
In short, we were all mesmerised ad enchanted by the place, the people and the peace (after the bustling cities of Delhi and Agra, it was a welcome break). This is a truly fantastic place operated by an owner and staff that truly love their job. If you visit Rajasthan, do not miss this. As close as you can get to perfection.

Room Tip: Every room is exquisite. There are only 6! We didn't test the 6 tents but they looked incredible...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrowsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ramathra Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are glad to have guest like you and we just loved your review and get to know that our team had made your stay comfortable. We are also very happy that you liked our overall services and reviewed about it. This provide our team a positive strength to provide more better. We are looking most positive to welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Absolutely lovely. Food excellent. Don't rush off from this unspoiled delightful place in the hills. I'd go back in a heart beat. Its worth thinking of it as rest after the hustle and bustle of Delhi and Jaipur. Take a walk and the evening boat ride on the lake.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trudie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ramathra Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your very warm and glowing feedback. This provide our team a positive strength to provide more better. We are looking most positive to welcome you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed in one of the suites with the most incredible views. Waking up to the sun rising above the plains below was just breathtaking. The fort itself is an impressive building, dramatically perched on the hillside. Inside great care has been taken to provide comfort and style. The food was superb, the flowers glorious and the staff informative and attentive. Our one regret was that we were only there for one night - don't make that mistake !

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Yaworsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketMyHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ramathra Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your very warm and glowing feedback. Your touching remarks are highly inspiring and motivating for all of us. We would love to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karauli
35.3 km away
Bhanwar Vilas Palace
Bhanwar Vilas Palace
#1 of 2 in Karauli
178 reviews
39.9 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
282 reviews
37.6 km away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 km away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#10 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
59 reviews
38.7 km away
The Kipling Lodge
The Kipling Lodge
#1 of 20 in Ranthambore National Park
104 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Prakash
Hotel Prakash
#4 of 7 in Karauli
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramathra Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramathra Fort

Address: P.O. Sapotra, Karauli 322218, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Karauli District > Karauli
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Karauli
Price Range: ₹ 15,424 - ₹ 42,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramathra Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Ramathra Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramathra Fort Karauli, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing