We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Ramathra Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramathra Fort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a very unusual, and equally beautiful, property with interesting surroundings. A couple of nights doesn't really do justice. Coupled with extremely gracious hosts, it's definitely a unique experience, India at it's very best.

Room Tip: This is very subjective; I had what I guess is a suite, with a separate living room, and it was supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 144 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were so lucky to start our 3 week trip in Rajasthan by choosing to stay at Ramatha Fort first. We took a train from Delhi to Gangapur City (approx 4.5 hrs) and were met at the train station by a local taxi guy waiting for us with a sign for the fort (I had pre booked that with Gitanjali before we left Spain) We drove through wonderful little villages on the way to the fort for about an hour or so before reaching this wonderful, amazing location with incredible views out over the valleys of fields and the lake which is teaming with bird life - this fort is truely wonderful - you feel like you are on top of the world, whilst sipping a G&T at sunset from the walls of the fort. The boat trip at sunset and the village tour were both incredible and should not be missed (the walk around the village, which should have taken us approx 3 hours but ended up being 6 hrs owing to being sidetracked dancing in the village with the children!) A special thanks to Ravi & Gitanjali (the wonderful hosts of this fort which has been in Ravi´s family for 11 generations) as well as to all their staff who made our stay so memorable - to Burra (our wonderful waiter), Tomsingh (the local historian/guide), a huge thanks to the chef for the most amazing food (everything is produced using their local organice vegetables grown in the farm down the road from the fort (also worth a visit). Everyone spoilt us rotten and we really didnt want to leave on the 4th day. We stayed in the luxury tents and these were great - you could hear the hyenas and jackals off in the distance as well as the crickets at night so a wonderful outdoor experience. The suites are meant to be incredible but we were more than happy with the tents. Keep up the good work guys, you really do it so well. We would love to visit again. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a get away from it all experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeandjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Ramathra Fort was a welcome stop on our journey of Ragisthan. The rooms were warm, clean, colourful and luxurious. We had a beautiful view over the valley facing west and saw some wonderful sun sets, from the east we saw the lake. The cuisine was exceptional Indian fare accompanied by local entertainment outside by the fire. Ramathra Fort is situated high on a mountain rural Ragisthan. It was very peaceful and quiet, but not far was the village of Ramathra. We spent a great day walking across a valley and along a ridge, meeting locals on the way to this village. The people were very welcoming and encouraged us to join in their daily chores. The local school children put on a coral number for us and one little girl was chosen by her teacher to dance. It was inspiring to see the look of pride on their faces. This village experience was one of the highlights of our trip. Thankyou Ravi and Gitanjali for treating us like royalty.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room on the ground floor leading out into the garden behind the comunal block . We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 180Anne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I happened to come to Ramathra Fort on a family holiday and was blown away by its uniqueness. This doesn't feel like a 'packaged' holiday. There is something magical and peaceful about the place that makes you feel that you are actually taking a break. Many different elements combine to make it the experience that it is. What strikes one at first is its location atop a hill, tucked away in the forest. As you settle into your room everything feels just right, luxury without opulence, the tasteful design (little details - even the linen evoke the migrating birds that pass over you in the day!). Nothing in Ramathara feels imposed. The vegetables come from a field, which you can see from the gorgeous hilltop view in the fort while soaking in the sun. The head cook can tell you stories of yore, everyone who works there is from nearby villages, and the hosts are charming and gracious, with a deep knowledge and sensitivity for the area. Gradually you begin to venture out, after an afternoon of soaking in the sun, and getting rid of the tensions and hustle-bustle of other places you may have been, even if you were on a holiday before this. My favorite outing by far was bird-watching on the lake, although others more partial to walks and hikes blazed their own trails with just the right amount of help from our hosts and the staff. As the sun sets you settle in for a quiet drink to feel a different kind of nocturnal tranquility. The fort is owned and run by the descendants of the former rulers, so there is much to learn and absorb for those who have an interest in history and culture, or just in memorable epic stories, which one can still sense in feel of the place. And oh...did I mention the food! The food is a treat, particularly if you have a fondness for Rajput cuisine. I can't remember the last time I looked forward to meals so much. I still think about those meals sometimes, many weeks later. The chef Laturji is particularly good with fish, although my favorite by far is the famous Rajput 'Lal maas'. After a sumptuous meal you can look forward to a restful night of sleep in the tranquil atmosphere of Ramathara (aided by the hot water bottle that is tucked into your bed in the winter). An absolute must visit for those who actually want a break.

Room Tip: A few rooms have an open air bathtub with a hilltop view which is just stunning, specially if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfessorChallenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Ramathra is amazing in so many ways.
I have visited many heritage forts in Rajasthan but Ramathra is unique in terms of its combination of old world charm, natural beauty, gracious and knowledgable hosts who look out for your every need and utterly divine organic, local cuisine.
The fort itself is infused with character and an exemplar of traditional Rajput architecture, yet equipped with every modern amenity. It is an oasis of calm with breathtaking views of the countryside and the lake. You could spend all day just basking in the sun on the immaculate lawns or on the day beds with 360 scenic views on your own private balcony or the ramparts of the fort. Or you could embark on one of the many adventures on offer - a very fun tour of the village, a spectacular boat ride on the lake (we went at sun set and saw migratory birds from Tibet and Mongolia!!), a jungle safari (we spotted a variety of deer, a nilgai (blue cow) and hyenas) or the night safari in an open jeep (very exciting but also comfortable - you are given your own hot water bottle and blanket!). On many of these excursions, you could be accompanied by the host himself, Ravi, who is a wise and wonderful guide. One of the many things that makes Ramathra special is that even though it is a hotel, in many ways you also feel like you are a personal guest in Ravi and Gitanajali's ancestral home. This makes for a very unique experience - very different from anything else that you are likely to experience in India or quite frankly, any other part of the world.
Evenings in Ramathra are magical. Drinks around bonfires (we visited in January) followed by some of the most divine food that I have ever eaten. Seriously. And I am a serious foodie. All the vegetables are grown on the farm and are organic and fresh - on our walks we saw the cook bicycling up the hill with the vegetables for the night's dinner. The dishes are cooked according to traditional recipes, some of which have apparently been in the family for generations and are *to die for*! As an aside, as a serious breakfast person, I really appreciated the fresh fruit, home made yogurt, museli...just thinking about it is making me crave my fresh pomegrenate seeds + fresh yogurt + muesli combo!
Bottom line: Ramathra is a really special place - whether you are visiting India for the first time or are a frequent visitor or even if you live there, Ramathra will take your breath away and leave you relaxed and rejuventated. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagamuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karauli
35.3 km away
Bhanwar Vilas Palace
Bhanwar Vilas Palace
#1 of 2 in Karauli
187 reviews
39.9 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#5 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
293 reviews
39.6 km away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#12 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 km away
Abhyaran Ranthambore by 1589 Hotels
Abhyaran Ranthambore by 1589 Hot...
#7 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
59 reviews
37.6 km away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#8 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
207 reviews
38.4 km away
Tigress Spa & Resort
Tigress Spa & Resort
#2 of 6 in Ranthambore National Park
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramathra Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramathra Fort

Address: P.O. Sapotra, Karauli 322218, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Karauli District > Karauli
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Karauli
Price Range: ₹ 19,911 - ₹ 27,250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramathra Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, Yatra, ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramathra Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramathra Fort Karauli, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing