We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saguna Baug Resort”
Review of Saguna Baug

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Neral
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saguna Baug
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Saguna Baug Resort”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I and my wife thought of visiting this place for weekend (june 24 to June 25 2012). The price quoted was Rs. 1200 pp inclusive of stay and food which seemed to be a very good deal. After reaching there, abt 90 kms from Bandra, we were guided to our rooms by guys who were in their early 20s. The Manager Nitesh also seemed to be of the same age. Once in our room, our nightmare started. The water provided in the washrooms was all muddy with lot of dirt and pebbles in it. Once complained, we were told that it was from pipes as it was not used. The problem persisted again and after complaining, we were informed that the water in the washrooms was from river water and would be muddy as it had rained last night. We were assured that the water would improve after some time. As we had not carried soaps and wanted to freshen up, we went to buy soaps at the store maintained there. We were informed that soaps were not available and wud be available next morning. Not to spoil my weekend, I decided to hang on and visited the river enjoying the swim and the buffalo ride in Ulhas river. I needed to freshen up after my swim but the water was still muddy in the cottage. I thought that this problem could be managed as they claim to be AGRO TOURISM. After having gone for food, we got the last shock which as the rotis were all burnt, the ladys finger bhaji all raw and rice uncooked. The chicken that we had ordered was like having boiled chicken with few spices in it. I decided that we could take no more and packed the bags. I thought that they would charge Rs. 450 pp (normal for one day picnic) as we had already complained abt the problems. They charged 700 pp and additional 100 Rs for chicken. Over all this was the worst experience that me and my wife had of all the resorts that we have visited so far. As this resort is managed by Kids and not professionals My take is this you should visit this place only if you manage with dirty water and stay with uncooked food.

Room Tip: Saguna Baug lies in a corner of Neral. There are better resorts on the way and easily accessible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Mukeshkamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    81
    16
    9
    14
See reviews for
111
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,121 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Saguna Baug promotes natural tourism which is eco friendly with agro rural based set up. We reached by vehicle via Pune Express Highway to Karjat to Neral and enjoyed very much. The booking was made in advance. It was a part of farming activities with great variety of flora and fauna. Blessed with natural beauty and projects like horticulture, agro forestry, dairy and aquaculture we really felt the difference from the busy and noisy city life.The murmering sound of enchanting birds, the sight of the beautiful varieties of butterflies was a real feeling. The guide exlpained the farming activities and the rare species seen that area.There was a rest less fresh water river with supervised swimming within and bullock ride nearby.We had the visit for the full day package..Food was tasty and economical. Non veg was available on request for extra cost..There were differnt typs of accomodation with pond house tent house and cottages.Day Picnics were also arranged with discount for students. Ours was a Day Camping from 9 am to 5pm with 2 meals package.The owner was staying there and mingling with the guests.There were resting places and outdoor activities for which the management took proper care.Hospitality was there so that we felt comfortable.Tiolets were properly arranged for open activities area.Fishing was a wonderful experience. We sat on the open place with fresh air and enjoyed the million star camping.The farming was very fertile and lively with enchanting trees and bushes with all vegetations.Paddle boats were another attraction. The property is a natural asset with all charms, beauty and freshness and the environment not polluted. After tea there were programes and explained about different types of snakes, their nature dealings with man and nature which so many guest were very anxiously listening.
It was real change.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank jojo5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just gone for one day picnic with my friends nice place and good atmosphere most good thing is they provide free pick and drop and frm neral station rates are cheaps with includies foods and if room needed less charge for dat so i can recommend to go for a day picnic

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vigneshkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

If you are living in a city like Mumbai you got see this place. This place is filled with full of nature. To reach this place take any slow local train to karjat or khopoli and get down at Neral railway station, By Neral take any rikshaw or call owner of the property and they will arrange one for you. They have accomodatio in pond house,floating tent,tent and cottage. The activities includes : A walkthrough to the farm, Swimming in Ulhas river which is really pollution free and boating and fishing. This place can be explored in a single day however you can stay for max 36 hours. They have one the craziest activity that i have never seen anywhere and that is buffalow ride in Ulhas river water. The most fun loving parts are swimming and fishing.

Room Tip: Carry mosquito reppellent ,medicines as it is a farm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank AwadheshYona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We, some 26 oldies from Poona landed on 18th Mar.'12 @Saguna Baug.We found it excellently well kept property.Aesthetically planned with all the modern amenities,it oozed with old rustic charm.Beautiful,man-made rain harvested ponds full of water,paddle boats thrown in,made an exclusive retreat, in scorching hot sun! It boasts of A fresh water river Ulhas on its fringe,approachable with unpolluted built steps to bathe & swim with provision of adequte security of life. 55 acres of land thriving with useful man friendly vegetation of variety of sorts;it was breathing with life extra-ordinarily. It's an exercise,worth emulating all over the world.Blending the nature's bounty with ingenuity of a creative spirit of man,using all the local stuff & yet attaining a world class amenity is an exceptionally gratifying experience.Piping hot Food,freshly served is excellent in taste & choice. That too just in your backyard, hardly about midway between Pune & Mumbai,some 100 kms.from each city. I would recommend it to spend at least 3 to 4 days there, to regain your i) tranquility , ii) place under the sun , iii) your cutting edge in this harsh world full of competition. A recharged rejuvenated you to face the world squarely is the ultimate gift from this natural beauty spot. Chandrashekhar Bhadsavale,an amiable young man,bordering on sixties ,full of enthusiasm is the spirit behind
this verdant experience known as " SAGUNA BAUG RESORT ".

Room Tip: We were a group of 26 old ladies & gents on a day visit.Didn't opt for rooms.But from outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pappadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neral
22.7 km away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#229 of 454 in Mumbai
15 reviews
25.1 km away
UK's Resort Khopoli
UK's Resort Khopoli
#2 of 3 in Khopoli
94 reviews
19.3 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Hotel Panchratna
Hotel Panchratna
#4 of 4 in Panvel
8 reviews
19.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
29.4 km away
United 21 Panoramic Resort, Karnala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguna Baug? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguna Baug

Property: Saguna Baug
Address: Village Malegaon, Neral 410101, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Neral
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Neral
Price range (per night): ₹ 450 - ₹ 1,200
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Saguna Baug Hotel Neral
Saguna Baug Neral, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing