We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place in the nature...”
Review of Saguna Baug

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Neral
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saguna Baug
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We visited Saguna Baug late May 2011 with our family and relatives. This place is around 120 km from Pune near Karjat/Matheran.

It's a huge farmland. Ulhas River flows beside the property. It had plenty of flowing water even in the summer. We could actually swim in the river. Water is not too bad. There are couple of big ponds in the property as well, I guess artificially created for irrigation and fish farming.

They arrange farm trip. It was a nice experience. Kids enjoyed it a lot. We saw crops in the fields, banana plantation, gobar gas plant, nursery and fishing. Looks like owner has taken immense efforts to develop the property over a period of time.

We visited the place on a Sunday during summer holidays hence it was pretty crowded, but property is so big it wasn't a major problem.

We were around 25 including adults and kids. Food was ok. Staffs were very friendly. Place wasn't as clean as I would expect, but I believe it was due to the weekend crowd. Overall it's a nice place and I can recommend for a one-day trip with family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Prastam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed here over a weekend. They have lovely cottages. We stayed at the Pond House which is surely the best room. Saguna Baug seeks to introduce you to the concept of a farmhouse and is not per se a hotel. Food is on a fixed menu system. Non veg can be bought by the kilo and is cooked on request. We were lucky to get prawns which were freshly caught from the pond. All in all great experience. However, alcohol is not allowed so that may be a consideration for some.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank shomamaitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Saguna Baug was a place I chose for a weekend getaway from this busy city of Mumbai! It takes like 60 minutes by train to reach Neral Station and 10 minutes from there by a rickshaw to reach this wonderful property built.

I stayed in the mud cottages with traditional folk paintings all over this place. I loved my room and it was so cheap at just Rs. 1000 or USD 20 per night with Lunch & Breakfast!
For people who want to relax, feel close to the nature, experience how organic farming is done and how life could be so simple without gadgets and technology and crowded places, then this is your destination!

You will unwind yourself and feel relaxed the moment you enter this place.

I am crazy about eating all types of food and if its good eating more of it! And the Buffet lunch they served at this place was so so so amazing! Trust me you will never get such a nice meal anywhere. That superb lunch motivated me to write this review also :D

I really recommend this place for people who want to relax over a weekend and runaway from the hectic schedules! Go for it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank vinitmehta1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This was our second visit to Saguna Baug, and it was as good as the 1st one. The Farm house is located very near to Thane (at Nerla) which can be reached by local (central) railway or by road. The Neral station shares itself with Matheran toy train station. From Neral we reached Saguna baug by rickshaw (charge 50/-), it took us around 15 mins. Saguna is ful most of the times especially in vacations hence we had had done advance booking of pond house one month ahead. We had booked 2 rooms of pond house, the service provided by Saguna employs is very friendly and humble. We spend most of our time fishing and kids mostly did boating. The food offered is of excellnet quality. The price (1400/- for 36hrs per head with veg food) is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mannankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

we visited saguna baug on a weekday, and booked into the pond house, its the best thing in SB. the owners were rather busy and so inspite of asking the agro tour didnot materialise. swimming, boldly advertised in the website is best avoided as ulhas river is rather polluted and not recommended for swimming. all the info boards about varioustrees are in marathi so non marathis if interested can feel left out. One must plan to go for a nights stay and that too in the pond house only.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank rajshru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neral
1.0 km away
Discover Resorts
Discover Resorts
#1 of 1 in Dhamote
105 reviews
8.1 km away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
141 reviews
8.5 km away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
19.3 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
25.1 km away
UK's Resort Khopoli
UK's Resort Khopoli
#2 of 3 in Khopoli
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguna Baug? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguna Baug

Address: Village Malegaon, Neral 410101, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Neral
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Neral
Price Range: ₹ 450 - ₹ 1,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saguna Baug is an eco-friendly rural farm located at the foothills of Matheran. The river flows passes through it and the farm is surrounded by nature. Guests and students get to experience farm life, and learn about our innovative farming methods that have provided rural employment and opportunities for the youth of our villages. We also provide fun activities and stay facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saguna Baug Hotel Neral
Saguna Baug Neral, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing