We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm welcome to a lovely,comfortable cottage,with...”
other travellers have booked this property
Private courtyard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private courtyard garden
Platts House Holiday Cottage Pretty courtyard garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Private courtyard garden
Platts House Holiday Cottage
Pretty courtyard garden
Bedroom with king size bed
Dining area
Living Room
Flat screen T.V
Living Room
Woodburner for cosy winter stays!
Cosy evenings in!
Kitchen
Full size cooker - 4 ring hob, oven and separate grill
Large shower cubicle
A 40 minute walk from the cottage will take you to the tranquil Clanna Ponds.
Clanna Ponds. You will often see people fly-fishing!
Clanna Ponds. Feed the ducks!
The Rising Sun, Woolaston Common
Fishing Lakes at Woolaston Court
Nearby walk
View of Tintern from Devils Pulpit. Keen walkers? Its possible to walk to Tintern from the cottage!
The Cottage in winter
Clanna Ponds in Winter
cute and cosy at Christmastime!
Christmas bookings include a seasonal welcome tray including a homemade Christmas cake.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
moira k
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome to a lovely,comfortable cottage,with easy access to the forest”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Visited area to view Severn Bore.Lucky to find such a lovely cottage with very friendly host.
Super home made treat on arrival.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review Moira, glad you both enjoyed your stay and got to see the Severn Bore!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elayne y
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Surpassed our expectations in every way.””
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We seriously enjoyed our stay at Platts House holiday cottage. Elaine was the perfect hostess providing us with essential cottage and area information. The welcome pack was unexpected but very much appreciated. Tea, coffee, freshly baked bread with a selection of locally sourced butter and jam produce.This was just the perfect touch in hospitality etiquette..........thank you!
The cottage was perfect in every way and boy have we slept well . Incidentally, watching the wildlife at play in your well manicured gardens each morning has been a real treat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirkiness of the property and hospitality of the owner.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Thank you for a lovely review, pleased you enjoyed staying in the cottage. Gareth loved the bit about the 'manicured gardens' - he does his best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val and N...
Penarth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class stay at Platts House”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I have just returned home from our first stay at Platts House in Woolaston near Lydney. We were made to feel very welcome by owners Gareth and Elaine. The cottage is very clean, comfy and well furnished. We really enjoyed watching the birds feeding from our cottage garden patio. The surrounding area of the Forest of Dean is rich with wonderful picnic stops and woodland walks. The 20 minute walk from the cottage to Clanna Ponds is highly recommended. Take your binoculars to get a great view of the birdlife.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B
Dersingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a really lovely cottage. Big enough for two and lovely and cosy. The owners had put a Welcome tray, including warm bread, homemade jam etc, ready for our arrival. It was situated in a very good position to visit the Wye Valley and Wales. The weather could have been kinder, so we didn't get to use the garden, which was pretty. An altogether great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Used as base for visiting family.”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

After lengthy browsing of the internet for suitable accommodation for myself & partner for a week, I eventually came across this lovely cottage which "ticked all the boxes" (although we would have liked a bath!).
The owner, Elaine, met us at the cottage & showed us in. She had left us a lovely little "welcome package" which included milk & freshly-baked bread, which was much appreciated after our 4 hour journey.
The accommodation was as described, with a cute bedroom upstairs with views (in good weather) across to the Severn from the side window, although we kept the curtain shut at the front window due to a view of the main road!
Downstairs was a cosy lounge with log-burner (we felt a few logs/fire-lighters to use would have been nice), small but very well-equipped kitchen, and shower room. It was spotlessly clean everywhere, the only thing was the smell of dampness, which was why Elaine told us she constantly has a dehumidifier running. That aside, it was still a lovely, cosy cottage, especially after we had sourced logs etc & got the fire going!!
We found it a brilliant location for using as a base to visit family in the Forest-of-Dean, half hour drive away. We also visited nearby Tintern Abbey & Abbey Mills, Berkley Castle, and further afield, Weston's Cider Press (home of Stowford Press Cider) - this is a "must-do" for any cider enthusiast!
All-in-all, we really enjoyed our week and would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a peaceful week "away from it all"!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Many thanks for your comments and feedback.

Although you can see the road from one of the bedroom windows, it's a shame you missed the amazing sunsets over the hills towards Wales!

I note you stayed with us in October, and can confirm that we always supply a basket of logs and kindling for every guest during the winter months, however logs and kindling are readily available at the local garage year round should you wish to use the woodburner at other times during the year.

Unfortunately, one of the quirks of owning a 17th Century stone cottage is having to deal with occasional damp issues! However, we manage this very effectively with the use of a de-humidifier which runs 24/7, and should alleviate any problem.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to explore The Forest of Dean and wider area. We haven't actually visited Weston's Cider Press ourselves but feel a visit may be in order!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing