We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you are looking for wildlife...look no further!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Colne Brook Barn

The front of the Barn, taken from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the Barn, taken from the garden.
Open plan living room with 32' wide screen TV on wall and electric 'glow' fire for cosy evenings in Main Bedroom, double aspect, overlooking the Brook and the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The front of the Barn, taken from the garden.
Open plan living room with 32' wide screen TV on wall and electric 'glow' fire for cosy evenings in
Main Bedroom, double aspect, overlooking the Brook and the garden
Kitchen with dining table, 4 chairs, tall fridge/freezer, washing machine and Neff halogen hob.
The driveway into the Barn through the secure, keypad operated electric gate
Garden from the French doors
Bridge over the river and steps up to the Barn
The Garden viewed from the main bedroom
Rear patio
The Garden in the snow
Second (twin) bedroom, with double aspect Velux windows to the front and back
Bridge over Colne Brook
Side of the Barn viewed from adjacent fields
An aerial view of the Barn and garden (edged in blue)
Buzz, a frequent visitor around the Barn
Great for amateur wildlife spotters and twitchers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jaineah
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you are looking for wildlife...look no further!”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The barn was exactly as we had imagined it to be. Shirley was lovely and could'nt do enough to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
The garden was lovely and had plenty of room for our three dogs to run around without worry.
The barn was extremely well equipped and we were so glad for the doggy towels as we had completely forgotten to take any.
The main road running alongside the property can be very noisy at ceretain times of the day even though it is completely blocked from view by the trees and bushes. However; the wildlife, peace and relaxation and general feel more than made up for this.
Thanks Shirley for a lovely time; hopefully we will be back soon!
Jaineah & Ceri.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden which had been kept wildlife friendly.
Liked least: Noise from main road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thanks Janeiah & Ceri, we look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacky j
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our first visit but I am quite sure it wont be our last
The barn is very comfortable , clean and well equipped - so welcoming we were able to relax and enjoy our holiday right from the moment we arrived,
we had our dog with us who enjoyed the large garden and paddock
Absolutely faultless week in a lovely location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean and so well equipped and very well maintained property
Liked least: nothing all positives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to your return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place to unwind”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind...look no further than Colne Brook Barn. This place is perfect! It's very well equipped, with a couple of special touches. The owners are very accommodating and friendly. We have just returned from our second visit and will definitely go back in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Shirley & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anniecb20...
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfully comfortable, relaxing and refreshing break”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Colne Brook Barn offers a simple, very well equipped home away from home. The furnishings and facilities are high quality but homely. We were extended a friendly but understated welcome by Shirley, Bailey and Kizzi (and the pastries were welcome too). The barn was comfortable, well appointed and warm. Our dog, Snoopy, loved the garden, brook and paddocks to play in. The simple touches such as a basket of towels for Snoopy went the extra mile and made for a very easy holiday.

We had a great week walking in the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley. Saw and photographed fallow deer and wild boar families as well as many birds and small mammals.

We would definitely recommend Colne Brook Barn and intend to return as soon as we can

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - peace, quiet and natural beauty
Liked least: Stubbed my toe on the iron dining chair.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne2001
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and quiet in spades in a beautiful, well kept and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I arrived slightly early at the Barn as Shirley and Mike very kindly texted me that the Barn was ready early as they knew I was already in the area and that was a lovely start to an excellent week. Shirley and Mike called in not long after I got there to say a friendly "Hi "and let me know how to contact them should I need to. What lovely people they are, most welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage itself was immaculate throughout and very well set up with everything you could need, just bring your toothbrush! I enjoyed an extremely pleasant, calm amd peaceful week at the Barn, shared with the local wildlife which was plentiful from Badgers, rabbits, foxes, Buzzards and birds of all varieties. I can heartily recommend a stay at Colne Brook Barn and if at all possible I will be back again myself. Thanks for a great stay to Shirley and Mike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to the forest and other attractions in the area, shops not too far.
Liked least: Cant really say I disliked anything.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing