We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully comfortable, relaxing and refreshing...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Colne Brook Barn

The front of the Barn, taken from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the Barn, taken from the garden.
Open plan living room with 32' wide screen TV on wall and electric 'glow' fire for cosy evenings in Main Bedroom, double aspect, overlooking the Brook and the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The front of the Barn, taken from the garden.
Open plan living room with 32' wide screen TV on wall and electric 'glow' fire for cosy evenings in
Main Bedroom, double aspect, overlooking the Brook and the garden
Kitchen with dining table, 4 chairs, tall fridge/freezer, washing machine and Neff halogen hob.
The driveway into the Barn through the secure, keypad operated electric gate
Garden from the French doors
Bridge over the river and steps up to the Barn
The Garden viewed from the main bedroom
Rear patio
The Garden in the snow
Second (twin) bedroom, with double aspect Velux windows to the front and back
Bridge over Colne Brook
Side of the Barn viewed from adjacent fields
An aerial view of the Barn and garden (edged in blue)
Buzz, a frequent visitor around the Barn
Great for amateur wildlife spotters and twitchers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anniecb20...
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfully comfortable, relaxing and refreshing break”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Colne Brook Barn offers a simple, very well equipped home away from home. The furnishings and facilities are high quality but homely. We were extended a friendly but understated welcome by Shirley, Bailey and Kizzi (and the pastries were welcome too). The barn was comfortable, well appointed and warm. Our dog, Snoopy, loved the garden, brook and paddocks to play in. The simple touches such as a basket of towels for Snoopy went the extra mile and made for a very easy holiday.

We had a great week walking in the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley. Saw and photographed fallow deer and wild boar families as well as many birds and small mammals.

We would definitely recommend Colne Brook Barn and intend to return as soon as we can

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - peace, quiet and natural beauty
Liked least: Stubbed my toe on the iron dining chair.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne2001
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and quiet in spades in a beautiful, well kept and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I arrived slightly early at the Barn as Shirley and Mike very kindly texted me that the Barn was ready early as they knew I was already in the area and that was a lovely start to an excellent week. Shirley and Mike called in not long after I got there to say a friendly "Hi "and let me know how to contact them should I need to. What lovely people they are, most welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage itself was immaculate throughout and very well set up with everything you could need, just bring your toothbrush! I enjoyed an extremely pleasant, calm amd peaceful week at the Barn, shared with the local wildlife which was plentiful from Badgers, rabbits, foxes, Buzzards and birds of all varieties. I can heartily recommend a stay at Colne Brook Barn and if at all possible I will be back again myself. Thanks for a great stay to Shirley and Mike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to the forest and other attractions in the area, shops not too far.
Liked least: Cant really say I disliked anything.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourmetgi...
Perigord Noir
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and take your dog”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The hosts are friendly and welcoming and invite guests to share their grounds for walking and exercising dogs. Our dog enjoyed some playtime with the resident dogs too.
The grounds are well fenced and secure including the private drive to Colne Brook Barn.
My husband and I stayed there with my elderly parents who also enjoyed short walks and sitting on the bench by the stream when the sun came out.
The cottage is sufficiently equipped for 4 people, the beds are especially comfortable and the heating system can be regulated to suit individual requirements in the rooms. Bathroom is on the ground floor so not ideal for elderly people who may need to go up and downstairs during the night!
We were visiting relatives at nearby Chepstow so this was an ideal location for us and also for visiting the Forest of Dean for walking or cycling. We would love to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, comfortable bedrooms and outdoor areas.
Liked least: Had to walk up the drive to get mobile phone reception.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CML0208
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Many thanks to Shirley and Mike for such a lovely stay at their Colne Brook Barn. It's a perfectly presented two bedroom holiday home with everything you could need,very tidy,clean and bright with lovely french doors which lead out onto the garden. We we're looking for a quiet break away from work and this was ideal, spending a lot of time relaxing making use of the Sky Movies and Sport which was lovely!! We were also greeted with really nice little added extras which you don't often get in holiday cottages, like towel animals and muffins! These little touches really do make your stay that little bit more perfect, thank you!!

We popped out a couple of times for walks which were nice, the forest of dean isn't far away and it's lovely for walks and to stop for a picnic.

We will definitely be returning for another relaxing break away, thank you both very much.

All the best x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely reviews! We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kealie44
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had an absolutely relaxing stay at the barn. So cosy, warm and clean. The grounds around the barn were very well kept too and perfect for our dog to roam free and explore. Made to feel very welcome by Shirley and Mike and will definately be booking another stay !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2015
Thank your fabulous review! We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing